We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour groups too big, disorganized” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discover Cracow - Day Tours

Discover Cracow - Day Tours
Rynek Glowny 30 | ul. Grodzka 28/30, Krakow 31-042, Poland
+48 (012) 346 38 99
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$41*
and up
Private Tour: Auschwitz-Birkenau Tour from Krakow
Ranked #86 of 202 Activities in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DiscoverCracow.eu is one of the biggest tour operators specialising in inbound tourism based in the royal city of Cracow. We provide our clients with over 150 services, all of which are carefully researched and organised, multi-languages and available throughout Poland. We can be contacted via telephone, fax, e-mail and chat. If you send us a message, we shall get in touch with you and answer any questions. We can be contacted 7 days a week, between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. Discover Cracow has been also customizing all-inclusive tours for groups, all individually designed, with understanding of the group profile and interest. We offer flexible group tours, and we can simply suit to needs and satisfy taste of the most demanding travellers. Our customer can choose from variety of hotels, tours and attractions.
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour groups too big, disorganized”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We are finishing a tour of Auschwitz Berkinau. The museum is a must see, and taking a tour is a good idea because there are 2 large sites. However we would not recommend this tour company. We had 60+ people in our tour. There was no time for questions, the tour was rushed. Our guide Eva didn't use her mic properly, and had a very quiet voice. She would become upset with questions, repeated herself, and hurriedly moved us through the museum, so we missed some important exhibits, like the men's barracks. We finished early. The organizers meeting the busses were disorganized. They missed meeting the busses at the 2nd stop, so some people missed the guide for the second part of tour.

We suggest finding a tour operator that limits group size to 20 or less and is more flexible. DO NOT plan to see the salt mine in same day, it is too much IMO. Instead get a break, then see Schindlers factory.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Travelingtrain3r,

Thanks for your comment. I know that sometimes in Auschwitz, when there is so many people, it's hard to keep pace of the visit. Auschwitz & Birkenau is very popular place for visitors from all over the world and sometimes it's very crowded. I would like to add that we always book the guides from Auschwitz Museum, because they are very good professionalist with huge knowledge. I belive that our tour leaders and local guides from museum were doing their best to make your visit as more comfortable as possible.

We would like to clear this situation and to prevent something like that in the future.

Best regards and see you soon back to Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    27
    7
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dunboyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

recently stayed for a week in Krakow tried
discover crakow day tours
went to auchwitch salt mines & tour of castles
found price very good &picked us up from hotel
guides were very friendly&spoke good English
thoroughly enjoyed the trips.
will highly recommend.
56patrick

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear 56Patrick,

Thank you for your kind review. We do our best to satisfy our clients' needs and it's nice to hear that we are able to do it in the right way.

See you soon in Krakow and feel invited!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well organised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We used Discover Cracow for our tours to Auschwitz/Birkenau and to the Salt mine. Both tours were extremely well organised. We met at the central pick up point for our first trip but asked to be picked up from the hotel for the second trip and this was arranged with no fuss and we were picked up on time. The guides were very knowledgeable and all spoke excellent English. It is impossible to say that we 'enjoyed' the trip to Auschwitz due to the dreadful history of the camp but it is certainly an experience that shouldn't be missed. The salt mine was incredible. Both touirs involve a lot of walking and the salt mine involves hundreds of steps down into the mine - there is a lift back up though!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear LesleyCann,

Thank you for this review. We apprecite it. Your opinion is for us very important, that's why we would like to improve our services. Your opinions are for us the best reward. Thank you.

Feel invited to Krakow next time,

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip to Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Pre booked the tour online before travelling to Krakow. Picked up on time at hotel and given information by guide and watched DVD on way. On arrival at Auschwitz were given clear instructions and handed over to English speaking guide who gave a very knowledgable and interesting tour lasting 2 hours. After a short break moved onto Birkenau camp for a further 1 hour tour. It was quite tiring especially as my partner was walking with a crutch and lasted about 6 hours including travel to and from the camps. We were taken back to our hotel afterwards. Overall I thought this was a very well organised trip and enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear CarolH,

Thank you very much for your opinion about our tour. I'm really glad when somebody who took part in one of our tours writes something so enthusiasthic about it and that proves that we're going in the right direction with our whole "quality management" and professionalism.

Best regards and see you soon back to Krakow !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Discover cracow tour were exellent. We had a bit of bother with our boat tour and they were so accommodating with to resolve the problem.we turned up im the morring and booked our Auschwitz tour a few hours later we were their. So helpfull will go back to them next time I go to Krakow.discounted taxi service great idea.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiscoverCracow-GL, Manager at Discover Cracow - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Petegwyn12,

Thank you for your warm review! I'm glad to hear such a nice things about our company. Do not hesitate to share your opinion within your friends ;)

See you soon back to Krakow and I hope you will join more of our tours :)

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Cracow - Day Tours also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Discover Cracow - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discover Cracow - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.