We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa and wellness centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galaxy to your Saves list
Hotel Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Eccleshall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great spa and wellness centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel just to use the Pool facilities as we didn't want to use the pool at the water park and contend with alot of children.
Initially we were going to use the pool at the Stary hotel which had in the past been used by the England football team but on arrival thought the £12 per head entry fee a little too expensive.
So we paid our £8 each entry fee and were directed to the lift that would take us to the spa located the basement.
There we were greeted by an attendant who showed me all the facilities including the sauna and steam room which were obviously very new and all super clean.
We had the use of these for an hour and a half before others came in to share this little treasure with us.
Once we had finished we took a stroll around the hotel and quickly decided that here is a venue we could have stayed in that would have been equally as good as the Metropolitan Hotel in which we were at costing around £30 per night more.
All the staff were pleasant and well turned out.
A place I would be pleased to recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    219
    40
    9
    3
See reviews for
90
258
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Galaxy Hotel for me and my partner for 3 nights. On first impression I thought the Hotel looked very smart and classy.
We were given our room card key which operates the lift and access to most rooms which is good from a safety point of view. Hotel room was very spacious, clean and modern and was impressed by the whole design on the hotel. The hotel spa was very peaceful and of good size and had all the amenities you would require, pool, sauna, steam room etc.
Very impressed with the food at The Galaxy, especially the chicken tortilla which comes on its own but by god is it filling, I also recommend the steak purger and chips. Bloody lovely. Drinks are priced very reasonable and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Only downfall is the hotel is approx a 25 minute walk from the market square which we walked every day but are not good for people with walking problems. Apart from that i'd give this hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOHOR BAHRU
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The moment I stepped into this hotel, I knew I am going to like it. Yes, the staffs are friendly and helpful. The lobby was well decorated. The room we stayed was clean and comfortable and well equipped with hair dryer, safe and coffee mixer. The bathroom is spacious. The only thing that I would like to complain is that there's no free wifi in the room, only in the lobby area. However, you can get it if you are willing to pay for it.
Breakfast was so-so, not really sumptous. However the cafe is spacious and well decorated. It looks classy.
Nearby the hotel there is a shopping center with a supermarket inside. Other than that, there is not much activity you can do nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have certainly stayed in more luxurious hotels with greater amenities but very few that offered the value and level of service provided by this hotel. Our room was quite basic but had a safe, tea / coffee making facilities, bath and shower and simple toiletries. There were only three pillows for two beds and the room was very hot (I only discovered the radiator on the day I Ieft). However, it was possible to open the windows, we had a view of the river from the start of the - not exactly picturesque - and the beds were comfortable. I was disappointed that I needed to pay for wi-fi but it was very cheap. When this did not connect, the very tenacious, kind and marvellous Jakub, came to our room and spent over an hour trying to connect us, before providing an alternative solution. Such frustrations, which included non-working ice-machines on two floors were easily compensated by the can-do attitude of staff. This included a receptionist giving me his personal email address when my train ticket - for printing - had not arrived in the hotel's in-box. I was unable to dine in the restaurant as there was little or nothing for vegetarians. The breakfast was fine and was included in my excellent room rate. It was but a short walk to Oskar Schindler's factory which offered an amazing glimpse into one brief but momentous period in Krakow's history. The taxi fare into the old town was about £4. We swam in the pool each night. It's small but fun with its many bubbles and jets. Be aware of the unisex changing rooms. I would stay here again and I will definitely be returning to Krakow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We returned to this hotel because of the location by the river and its a comfortable walk into the Jewish quarter we were not disappointed the only thing we missed was a bath in the room just had a shower but otherwise it was great

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just come back from galaxy hotel Kracow and have to say it was fantastic.... The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels!the breakfast was varied and ok , it was 25 minutes walk from main square , £2 cab ;)
Food in the main square was excellent and very cheap . A meal for 2 with starters and a couple of drinks was approximately £25.
The people are so accommodating and friendly , they love the English !
Went to auschwitz and it was very harrowing but well worth it , also with an English guide .
Overall a very good trip with excellent service from the hardworking people of Poland!
Will definately go back !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Having already stayed in Krakow in the Summer at the highly rated Hotel Wentzl directly on the main sq, I thought we would try a budget option on our return visit.
Hotel Galaxy, is modern, immaculately clean & the staff are extremely helpful. The rooms & bathrooms are modern, spacious & have all the essentials plus the prefered optionals i.e bath products, coffee making, decent hair dryer etc.
Public areas such as Bar & restaurant were clean & well equipped & there was plenty of choice at breakfast.
The pool & Spa felt almost new, it was that clean. The pool has a great swim jet if you want to exercise, or the jacuzzi, sauna & steam room are good for chilling. My Husband had a sports massage (booked 10 minutes beforehand) & felt it was good quality as well as good value by UK standards at 200 Z for an hour (less 10% for hotel guests) which is about £36 at the moment.
There is a shopping center (not the biggest) & cinema world next door & the river is opposite. It is walkable from the main sq, but I wouldn't want to be walking it there & back every day. Taxis are easily available & cheap.
Would I stay here again - Yes - especially for the use of the pool & spa etc. It offered excellent value & quality. If I didnt want the pool, I would probably try & find somewhere closer to the main sq - especially in the summer, when there is so much exciting pavement life in the bars & restaurants on the main sq. In winter it made little difference being further out as there is little or no outdoor cafe culture - it all moves indoors for the warmth.

Room Tip: Both rooms I saw were very similar,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#40 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#39 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#17 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Sheraton Krakow Hotel
#24 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.