We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galaxy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galaxy to your Saves list
Hotel Galaxy
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
B'ham
Level Contributor
212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014



A lovely hotel in a good location.
Situated about 20 mins walk from the old town, 5 mins from the old Jewish quarter and 15 muns from Schindlers factory.
Although it seems a bit out from the old town it really is better as it is very quiet and the hop on hop off bus runs from outside the door.
Rooms are clean and modern though not all have a bath.
We had a view of the river from 6th floor which was nice but we did miss the bath!
Breakfast offers a massive choice of just about everything.
The restaurant is fine dining in quality but without the dress code or price. The waiters are lovely and very knowledgeable.
I can't fault this hotel other than the mixed changing rooms in the spa!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    219
    39
    9
    3
See reviews for
89
257
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

lovely hotel , room was not too big but nice and clean , great Surround system you can even listen to the tv or music in the bathroom , amazing view from floor 6 , very safe hotel you can only access the lift using your room key, air con and heating , staff very friendly , very big and tasty breakfast , lovely dinner not too big portions tho but it will explain because restaurant is in high standard and food nicely served 5*  swimming pool and sauna free to use , spa very cheap and easy to book , everyone speak English , they also organising tour round Krakow – one free ticket per room , spa and other things in the hotel have 10% discount as a hotel guest .hotel have their own taxi and if you need a transport to the airport is pln80 and it takes 30 minutes , town centre 15-20 minutes walk or 10 taxi for 12pln 

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a view at the river Wisla :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just wanted to say a massive thank you to all the staff at the Galaxy Hotel. When we arrived there was snow everywhere which created a lovely feel to the whole experience. We were checked in very promptly and given a very large room which looked over the vistula river which in itself was very pretty and frozen over!.
The hotel is very new and modern and spotless throughout. The breakfast had everything and more than you could ask for. Not only that it was all to such a high standard.
January 28th, and it was my birthday. We went to Schindlers factory only to return to our room for a quick warm up before setting off into the city. In our room was a huge platter of fruit, mixed nuts and chocolates with a note saying Happy Birthday. "what a lovely touch".
Behind the hotel is a massive shopping mall with every kind of shop you could ever imagine and all very new. We ate at Jeff's place which was superb in everyway. In addition to this the waitresses came over and sang Happy Birthday to me, with a cake and candle - again this also make the whole experience even more special for me.
Krakow is a wonderful city to explore. The people are so nice and helpful. What a lovely nation.
This was our second visit to this city and each time was equally enjoyable.
Once again a big thank you to all the staff at the Galaxy, we truly enjoyed.
Our room was on the third floor No: 314.
Nick and Shan Hogan . From Carmarthen, South Wales.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are the best as they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A relatively new modern hotel with lovely views of the river Vistula. Rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. Food was excellent with a huge choice for breakfast and delicious meal in the restaurant. Spa facilities were good with a mixed changing room. About 20 minute walk to Jewish quarter, 25 to Old town. 2 minutes to new shopping centre.

Room Tip: Ask for fifth floor with view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A great hotel. Our room on the sixth floor was smartly decorated and comfortable. It had everything we needed, and I'm sure that if we had needed anything the very friendly and attentive staff would have found it for us. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the centre of town, but about 5 minutes from a major shopping centre if you forget anything. It even had a C&A (for those old enough to remember them in the UK !!). Taxis can be ordered from the reception and turn up in 6-7 minutes, and cost about £3 to get to the centre or to Schindler's Factory. We used them a few times as it was minus 10 (or more) and snowing. We ate in the restaurant a few times and each time were very pleased with our meals, which were very well cooked and presented. My wife is a vegetarian and the waitress organised with the kitchen for her to be served a very tasty vegetable pasta dish. The breakfasts were extensive and equally well presented. All in all a great place to stay in Krakow

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This modern hotel is set by the river twenty minutes walk from the historic center of Krakow. Our room was on the sixth floor overlooking the river. It was simple but smart, and comfortable. Room facilities were modern and included wide screen TV (but there was only two English speaking news channels), tea/coffee making, a proper hair dryer and comfortable occasional chairs.
The hotel has a very nice modern (smallish) swimming pool with sauna and spa.
Breakfast was particularly good in terms of the range choice and quality.
Al a cart dining was also very good. The menu was limited but interesting and the prices very reasonable. The food was excellently prepared and presented.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the river was great for us. There is a regular rumble from the tram, as it cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear NTFB,
Thank you for choosing Galaxy**** Hotel and for this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our restaurant. i will pass on your compliment to our chef. We invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

First time in Poland, on a 3 day break......we loved the hotel, good food, v. Clean and friendly hotel. Our bedroom overlooked the river and was nicely furnished. The beds were so comfortable.
I loved the bird song in our bathroom and the fact that we always had lovely hot water all the time!
Security was great, a card system for rooms and even to use the lift to your floor.
The staff were always eager to please and helpful.
We will recommend this hotel.....trips out can be booked at the hotel.....would return anytime.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_GalaxyKRK, Manager at Hotel Galaxy, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Lynne F,
Thank you for taking time to write this kind review. Thank you for mentioning our security system, we are very serious when it comes to security of our Guests. We are glad that you think our staff are helpfull. we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Qubus Hotel Krakow
#39 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Novotel Krakow Centrum
#41 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#17 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Sheraton Krakow Hotel
#23 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxy

Address: ul. Gesia 22a, Krakow 31-535, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galaxy 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galaxy Hotel is located in the city centre near the river Vistula, the Old Town and Kazimierz Jewish District. The hotel offers a broad canvas of services and recreational facilities for tourists and business people alike ranging from standard and Business Class accommodation, conferences, events, and family reunions. The hotel also houses a SPA & Wellness centre.Our offer includes 205 rooms of various sizes and categories, a conference centre with area of 1550 sqm, a terrace for 300 people, Andromeda Restaurant for 270 guests, SPA & Wellness featuring an indoor swimming pool with counter-current, jacuzzi, dry & steam saunas, fitness room, medical cabinets, hairdresser's. We have made every effort to ensure that you will enjoy the comfort and safety of your stay. Apart from Standard and Business Class rooms or Suites, we offer specially designed rooms for families. Our amenities are available to the disabled. For those who come by car there are underground and outdoor car parks to accommodate up to 70 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Galaxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galaxy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.