We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zielona Kuchnia

Zielona Kuchnia
ul. Grabowskiego 8/9, Krakow 31000, Poland
+ 48 12 634 55 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 889 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Polish, Central European, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: We care for your health and carefully choose the ingredients for the dishes we prepare for you. Here at ZIELONA KUCHNIA you will find only the green cuisine, just as our name suggests. We only serve the finest selection of vegetables, fruit, organic meat, grain products and so much more. Our location may be new but the building itself, right on the courtyard of the council house nr 8, is over 100 years old.We were simply charmed by the wonderful atmosphere, the beauty and the long history of this place.The building was erected around 1908 and was destined to hold a blacksmith and locksmith business. After the First World War a local print shop was open here for years, and all of Chopin’s works were printed here for the first time in history. Today it is a great place for having a cosy get-together and enjoying yourself in great company.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Zielona Kuchnia has everything that a good restaurant should have. Quiet music, attentive yet respectful staff and great and healthy food. This has been our first time ever that we have been given Polish pâté as a welcoming gift - and a very tasty one I must say.

We ordered mushroom soups (superb and creative) and tenderloin steaks as the main dish. Steaks were lovely presented and accompanied by a number of additions - salads, cherry tomatoes, mashed or grilled potatoes, butter and onion. The only issue I noticed - ordered a rare steak and got a medium one. This might have been a bigger problem for someone who pays attention to details, but I liked the steak anyway, so I let it go.

We will definitely go back again to taste some seasonal menu once spring comes!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    82
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a very nice meal and the ambiance is wonderful (expecially outside). The service was marginally disappointing and while a very good experience, the restaurant does not warrant rave reviews.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Having just returned fro Krakow i had to submit a review of this restaurant.

Exceptional just about says it all

Food superb, Service fantastic without being over attentive. The atmosphere is relaxed and allows for an enjoyable quiet meal with your partner.
Any negatives given in other reviews amaze me.......

If you are in Krakow do not miss out on this fabulous restaurant, you will not regret it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good but a little disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Not sure whether this really warrants the rave reviews it gets. Don't get me wrong it is very good - just not great - which is what I'd hoped for from the reviews I'd read before booking

We ate the day after New Year's Day so not the busiest time of the year and I think the atmosphere suffered as a result. The restaurant is split over two floors and with probably enough seating for twelve to sixteen downstairs. We (two of us) had this room to ourselves and there was a table of six upstairs so it was incredibly quiet

Food was very good and well executed - I had the cheese plate with honey to start which was truly excellent, simple but really well presented, interesting and delicious. My partner had mushroom broth (a clear rather than cream soup) which again was really very good. Mains we opted for steak (a bit boring on my part) and pork tenderloin. Both were again really well presented and very tasty. So no complaints on the quality front

I was just a bit disappointed that the choice was not quite what I'd anticipated (it had been billed as "new" Polish cuisine) but there wasn't really anything (cheese aside perhaps) that appeared uniqued to Poland or that couldn't have been served up in hundreds of decent european restaurants

Service was functional. One waiter on duty, order taken professionally and politely, food delivered and plates cleared when needed but little attempt to interact or check on how we'd enjoyed etc. I'm not someone who goes for over the top attentiveness during a meal but excellent restaurants get the balance right and make diners feel valued and pay some attention - this felt transactional and probably wasn't helped by the waiter grabbing his coat and heading out a couple of times during service and then holding a ten minute phone conversation with someone in the restaurant as we ate our dessert!

The food makes it worth a visit (it is very good quality although could be a bit more imaginative) the service doesn't

It isn't somewhere I'd rush back to - purely on the basis that it hasn't got that "something" special that would stop me from trying somehwere new instead

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

All I can say is The food was Amazing and so was the service highly recommend this restaurant go you will love it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zielona Kuchnia also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Zielona Kuchnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zielona Kuchnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.