We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further if you want a great and central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maksymilian to your Saves list
Hotel Maksymilian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Look no further if you want a great and central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and we honestly could not fault it , lovely central hotel with great staff ,,we arrived early at around 12 but found our room was ready although check in was from 2pm onwards we were given the keys on arrival as our room was ready . we had a room on the 3rd floor nice and quiet the beds were comfy the room was warm and exceptionally clean , large bathroom with a shower and hair dryer and a balcony in the bedroom . Breakfast was served from 7am till 10.30am.. a selection of meats, cheeses, Pate , Boiled eggs a selection of breads , scrambled egg , polish sausages and onions , hot dogs along with cereals , toast , salad , yoghurt , fruit and Jams and tea , coffee and fruit juice . Its a 5 minute walk from the main square so location wise its perfect . We ate in the Hotel Restaurant on our first night which cost around £7 UK pounds each for a main course and a few drinks , the 2nd nite however we had noticed that just up the road there was a burger bar ( takeaway place ) which was popular with the locals so we tried that , we ordered 2 cheese burgers from the extensive burger menu ( expecting something small but it was huge ), and chips which cost us about £3 UK pounds and we were glad we did ..all in all if you are thinking of booking to stay at this hotel Id say go for it , Id most definitely stay there again if ever Im back in Krakow many thanks to the hotel for a pleasant stay .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian for your stay in Cracow. It is a pleasure to hear that you were so satisfied with our hotel and our service. Our team works very hard to ensure that each of our guests has a great stay and vacation at Hotel Maksymilian. Therefore, we have passed your comments to our employees as such positive feedback is an additional motivation for them to fulfill our high standards. Dear guest, we thank you again and hope that we can welcome you back at Hotel Maksymilian.
Kind regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    133
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
157
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have just come back from a fantastic stay at this hotel. The price alone made it so affordable that for the first time we booked our kids a separate room. They normally squeeze into a family room, and I fear I have now set a precedent in raising their expectations!
We had room 502 on the 5th Floor, kids had 503. Our room was massive, its a bit of a trek to get to, as the lift only goes to the 4th, then you walk a corridor, go down some steps then up a flight to get to the 5th. I wouldn't recommend it to those with a disability, but definitely try and get this room otherwise. Its effectively in the roof, so although there are windows they are so high up there is no view. If you wanted to climb on the desk then get a leg up, you will see you face out to the courtyard. Bathroom clean and looks new, shower powerful. There is tv but only news channels in English. Films are shown in English but dubbed in polish, so if you play with the control you can get rid of the polish and watch a film. (That tip is courtesy of my kids)

i had a massage, but be warned the therapist was a male. had I known this in advance I wouldn't have booked, but once I got over it, he did a great job. Would recommend.

There is free wi-fi, and a computer in reception if you want to use it. They also have a pushchair to borrow if you have little ones.

We didn't use any other facilities at the hotel, there are just to many eateries in the town to use hotel restaurants. Incidentally right out of the hotel and you come to a wooden hut which clearly sells the best kebabs in town. We didnt eat there, but it always had massive queues of locals.

We reached the hotel on the bus from the airport. Its a 5 minute walk from the bus stop. If you arrive by train its about 30 mins walk. Head into market square from the station, then this street runs from there.

We also went to Auschwitz on public transport as although tours weren't that expensive, it adds up when you are paying for 4.

Breakfast is already well described on here, and ample, although on the one day we had a cheeky lie in till 9, we found that there wasn't much left and they were loath to replenish it.

All in all an excellent choice although we found reception staff to be a bit dour :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback on which we strongly rely. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you would recommend our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great position. Really close to all amenities and tourism. Clean and staff absolutely fine. Might be a bit dated but how much time do you spend there anyway? Only complaint we were too warm lol! Had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Hotel Maksymilian was a great home base for our 4 day visit to Krakow.
Located just outside the City Centre area, the hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the Main Market Square. In fact, just about everything is an easy walk from the hotel.
The room felt a little dated but it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was more than adequate, although the translucent glass window on the bathroom door was a little different. Our room faced out onto Karmelicka Street, which is a fairly busy street, but we weren't bothered by any street noise at all. The only negative thing about the room was that the floor was extremely squeaky.
The breakfast was a fairly good sized buffet, featuring a selection of cheeses, meats, olives, breads, sausage, yogurt, fruits and juices. In the evening, the bar and restaurant offer a good menu with a variety of options. We enjoyed a pizza, a salad with chicken and an awesome enormous cheese platter. Beware that the cheese platter is much, much larger than the inexpensive price suggests. It was way too much food for the two of us, but it was all very good.
The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. They booked our tours to Auschwitz and Wieliczka Salt Mine for us. When the shower head in the bathroom was loose on our first night, the staff had it fixed without us even having to mention it.
We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Maksymilian and would recommend it to anyone visiting Krakow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Maksymilian. We sincerely appreciate your review and we are really happy that you had a nice stay. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again.
With best regards,

Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having booked the hotel through Expedia all the info supplied when booking was spot on! Not far from the Market Square in walking distance of the Jewish Quarter, Schindlers factory, the Ghetto & Wawel Castle. On arrival we were earlier than check-in states but the staff advised that our room was ready and we could check in - the room was a little dated but the bathroom seems to recently have been refurbished. Asked for a room on the 3rd floor ( due to reading other reviews about the noise from the courtyard) and we had a quiet room at the side ( result!!!!) it was clean and well presented even although as I have said a bit dated. The breakfast there was well presented and there was plenty of choice on offer, it was excellent to say the least it set you up for the day. The staff were on hand for any queries that we had about booking/taking excursions - they booked them on our behalf no problems at all. We didn't eat in their restaurant as there are many good places to eat in and around the square, we did however eat at a small Italian just down from the hotel Called Mamma Mia's the staff there were very attentative. We Also visited Pad Wawel which is styled as an old train carriage on the outside but was like the Tardis on the inside, the food there was top notch and the prices do not reflect this it was sooooo cheap.

Room Tip: As we noted from other reviews that rooms overlooking the courtyard were disturbed by the noise we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I decided to take my son to Poland for his 18th birthday and booked into the Hotel Maksymilian. It is a great location to base yourself within walking distance to Old Krakow Town and tourist information where we had a couple of trips booked through. Staff at the hotel (from front desk to cleaners) were very friendly and chatty. Our room was HUGE and absolutely spotless as was the whole hotel. Television, hairdryer, wardrobe with hangers and tea and coffee facilities all in the room. We were given a room looking onto the main road which got rather noisy with the passing trams early morning but we were up as we had excursions planned so this did not affect us at all. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Krakow. It is friendly, excellent value for money, central and as a single mum with her son we felt very safe walking back late at night.

Room Tip: If you don't plan getting up and out early you might want to think about a room at the rear of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is absolutely fantastic to receive such a great comment. I am really happy that you enjoyed the stay with us. I hope that now you will visit it again. All the Maksymilian Team is awaiting your future visits with us.

Best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel was very good with attentive and caring staff and free safe custody and bottled water.Ideally located for the centre of Krakow 10 mins walk away.Very claen and comfortable with an excellent breakfast.The restaurant didn t seem on the same wavelength as they didn t seem to show much interest even though the food was good.Service standards were lacking their compared to the hotel.However this would not put me off from returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you liked our hotel. Sorry for the impression about restaurant. I will share your impression with our team so for the next time it will be fixed surely.

Hoping to welcome you at the Maksymilian Hotel again I am sending you my best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: ul. Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maksymilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.