We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maksymilian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maksymilian to your Saves list
Hotel Maksymilian
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Madrid
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Three star hotel, so don't expect luxury. But it meets expectations, which is more than most of the hotels can say. It's just 10 minutes away walking from the Market Square, in a main street with some restaurants. The rooms are oriented to a backyard so it's very quiet (unless there are construction works, which unfortunately was what happened to me. Not hotel's fault).

Rooms have good space, acceptable quality in the mattress, linen, furniture, etc. Some rooms haven't got elevator. Most of it is quite good, but it's got a couple of things that could be improved: the restaurant is not easy to access (you have to take the only elevator to -1) and the safety box is in the lowest shelf of the closet, so you have to lay into the carpet to store values.

Staff is very kind and helpful. There is a wellness centre but there wasn't much info.

Room Tip: As if there are construction works in the next buildings. In that case, be sure to get a room far fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    157
    34
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
198
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gharb, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent five days in Krakow at the end of May on a pilgrimage to times past - but in the solitude,warmth and comfort of this lovely Hotel we found much more - a haven where we were able to reflect on the places and images we had seen and put our own lives into perspective against the backdrop of Krakow's history.
Hotel Maksymilian is a real jewel in the crown that is Krakow. Recently and sympathetically renovated to the highest standards the Hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Planty Park which surrounds the very centre of Krakow. The friendly, attentive and helpful staff were always willing to answer questions, provide assistance and advise on tours, places of interest and travel information - and in excellent English!
Our third floor room on the front of the Hotel was really comfortable and quiet with a lovely, modern en-suite bathroom. The buffet breakfast provided an excellent and more than adequate start to the day.One evening it rained so hard we took our dinner in the Hotel restaurant - it was beautifully presented and prepared and was excellent value.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone visiting Krakow and we plan to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely note about the stay with us. I hope that you did not discover everything in Krakow and you still feel like visiting it again and hopefully stay with us:)

Looking for your next visit I am sending you my best personal regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Four of us stayed at the maksymilian for a long weekend. The hotel is well situated, about 5-10 minutes from the town square. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable, though all seem to be with showers not baths. Staff were friendly and helpful. On-site restaurant was good quality and good value. Overall, very good value, would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you had such a good stay in Hotel Maksymilian. Your opinion has been passed to our employees as an additional motivation to keep up our high standards.
We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Cracow.
With best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Essentially we were very happy with the hotel. Maid service was good, breakfast was fine and the room was good. The hotel had a lovely courtyard where you could enjoy a drink. However the courtyard presented a major noise problem. We stayed 4 nights and each night we were disturbed to a lesser or greater extent. Our final night was the worse when we had a large number of younger people apparently a touring choir staying. Whilst this is not directly the hotel problem, the weak manner in which reception (who were close to the noise) dealt (or not) with it was poor. Only when I went down well after midnight to complain did they do anything about it. Even then we were disturbed until after 2am Other nights the noise was from guests enjoying the evening. No you can not stop people from enjoying the facilities, but 'late' enjoyment should be away from the courtyard where noise is amplified, to indoors. This is the only downside from what was an enjoyable stay. The location of the hotel is very good, easily walking distance to the old tow. Taxi from the station/bus station is required - about 20 Zslotty (£4)

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard view at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you liked our hotel. Sorry for the impression of "noisefrom the courtyard" . I will share your impression with our team so for the next time it will be fixed surely.

Hoping to welcome you at the Maksymilian Hotel again I am sending you my best regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Comfortable, clean hotel, with very helpful reception staff, breakfast with a fair variety of food, quiet rooms because of the courtyard nature of the building, and an excellent location.
Very short walk to the centre of Krakow, to the Wawel Hill, and if you enjoy walking the Ghetto and Schindler's factory are walkable. But if you don't like walking the trams and buses are frequent and inexpensive.
Best value was taking the 292 bus from the airport to within a couple of blocks from the hotel for only 4.80 zloty's! That's only around £1 in GBP! Fine if, like us, you were with Ryanair with just cabin baggage.
If returning to Krakow would certainly use the Maksymilian again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very grateful for your feedback following your stay.
Thank you for mentioning about our good location. It is really true, that the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from the centre. It is so nice to see, that you appreciate our staff. Professional service and hospitality are our priorities.
I am looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maksymilian Hotel.
Kind Regards,
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was pretty small but it was well kitted out and nicely cleaned each day. The receptionists were polite and very helpful. We were in the block without the lift, facing you as you come in to the courtyard from the street. They offered to help with our luggage but we thought there was a lift when we arrived so declined. The room was nice and clean except for the bathroom door which had sticky bits all over it. It looked like someone had opened a beer and it had splashed on the wall and run down the door too.

The air conditioning didn’t seem to be on and the room was too warm for sleeping in at night (despite the radiator not being on). We probably should have asked but assumed it was not on yet for the season. The duvet was quite thick, there was no separate sheet with it. The mattress cover was plastic-backed so nights were a bit uncomfortable. The pillows were rather squishy. The curtains let in quite a lot of light. The double bed was right against the wall so one person had to climb across the other.

There was no toilet roll dispenser/holder on the wall, just a floor-standing one for spare rolls which we thought was odd. They always replaced the part-used toilet roll with a new one each day (who uses the others?!) You could hang up towels to indicate that you didn’t need them changing. We were disappointed that the heated towel rail did not work as we could not warm our towels or dry our clothes when we got caught in heavy rain. A big thank you to the reviewer who said there was no plug for the basin (true) - we took our own! They were also very generous with their coffee sachets! There was only one chair (that did not fit the desk properly) for a double room.

There were food smells from the restaurant kitchen below at times, though they weren’t too strong and we could open our window. The lights in the hallways were automatic but didn’t even stay on long enough for you to unlock the door!

There were no details in the room for their ‘Butterfly’ massage place so we enquired at reception and they gave us a booklet, there were many treatments available but we weren’t sure whether they did evening appointments and didn’t get round to asking so we didn’t bother. There was no menu in the room either, it would be handy to have one and would maybe encourage more people to dine in as the restaurant was always quiet (open until 11p.m. which we thought was very convenient). The restaurant food was good - see separate review. It is part of the hotel and the same waitresses could be found clearing tables at breakfast.

The breakfast room was rather cramped, it looked like it was originally a series of small rooms which have been opened up. You had to weave your way round chairs and people. The breakfast selection was quite good: apple drink and orange squash (shame it wasn’t proper juice), different breads, cheeses, ham, cold hard boiled egg, salad items, fruit salad, apples, cake, jam, hot scrambled eggs and hot sausage. Tables were cleared promptly.

Don’t let the negatives above put you off too much. The hotel was in a good position in the city close to the trams (the stop is called Batorego and displays tram timetables. The trams are very reliable and cheap (don’t get caught without a ticket as the inspectors are plain-clothed and accept no excuses), 2 minutes from a 24-hour grocery shop, with a nice restaurant, a fairly good breakfast and helpful reception staff. The wifi was very good. Would not want to go back to the same room (202) though, as it was too small, but would go to the hotel.

Be aware that on checkout the hotel will charge a small city tax of 1.60 zloty per person, per night, we thought this was included in the taxes already paid on the agency internet booking but it is extra. Luckily we just had enough zloty left for this, but then we couldn't go in the church and tower as we didn't want to change any more money and had time to spare before leaving for the airport!

We booked well in advance and paid around £205 for 2 people with breakfast for 4 nights or just £25.50 each per night through hotels.com. For this price though we had previously stayed in a Warsaw hotel with a much better breakfast and a larger room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 202 because it's small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely well managed hotel within 10 mins walking at tops. Bedrooms were good quality, cleaned very day with fresh towels. The breakfast had a great selection of meats and cheeses and some hot items. The staff were very friendly and helpful can not fault this place at all.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Z, Manager at Hotel Maksymilian, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us recently to welcome you as our guest at Hotel Maksymilian. We really appreciate your feedback. We were pleased about your positive comments. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Maksymilian during your next stay in Cracow.

Best regards
Maria Zaton
Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maksymilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maksymilian

Address: ul. Karmelicka 36, Krakow 31-128, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maksymilian 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Maksymilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maksymilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.