We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Cracow Aparthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Cracow Aparthotel to your Saves list
Golden Cracow Aparthotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mikolajska 17 - 19, Krakow 31-027 , Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 115 Krakow B&B and Inns
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are after a 5 star hotel go elsewhere!............. but if like my other half and I you only want somewhere clean and friendly to put your head down for the night in the old town look no further. The hotel is within150m of the main square with the Cracow school of music on other side of the street........great if you want serenaded off to sleep for an afternoon nap. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this accommodation for myself and my parents as part of a package with Escape2Poland (which by the way is well worth looking into and booking through). The hotel is basic but comfortable. The best thing about it, by far, is it's location. It is a stones throw from the main square, in the old town, which is lined with lovely restaurants, shops and tourist attractions eg, the cloth hall and church. Plus Wawel Castle isnt far away and also the jewish quarter. It is a very easily navigable town, and absolutely gorgeous. The staff at the Golden Aparthotel were also great. They went out of their way to ensure we had the best stay possible - very helpful, smiley girls. They even bought my dad a birthday cake on this birthday as a surprise and left a present of Polish beer and a tankard in his room. It made his day! The rooms themselves are fine - basic, clean and with ensuite bathrooms. Very powerful, hot showers.
If you're looking for a central base in the heart of Krakow's beautiful old town, somewhere to come back to after a day's sight seeing to rest your head, then I couldnt recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms were at the back of the hotel and we werent disturbed at all by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a 3 night stay. Party consisted of me, hubby, 2 kids and my parents. Receptionist lovely, showed us where breakfast room was which looked VERY dated and then we were shown to one of our rooms (we were early and the other room wasn't yet ready). We walked up the stairs to see a man half asleep on the landing and I could see my kids and parents looking instantly uncomfortable. When we got into the room it was an instant decision by all that we would not be staying. The 3 beds were tiny, no more than 2ft off the floor, the room smelt musty and damp and everything in it was old. This hotel was sold to me as a newly opened hotel. This was obviously not true, carpets were old and dusty and the furniture had seen better days. There was nowhere to hang our clothes apart from a rail with a curtain across it on the landing outside our room! I left the party inside to go out to call our agent and literally had to step over the sleeping man and his bag. Once the agent had called the hotel to explain that we weren't happy we were offered (by the lovely receptionist)to inspect the other room that was booked for us but we really didn't see the point. The hotel is in a fantastic position, just off the main square and the staff are lovely but I couldn't sleep there, I am no snob but this is not the type of accommodation I am used to, even if I was there on a boozy weekend with the girls and just needed somewhere to rest my head. My advice, do what we did, book into a Novotel out of the city, they are clean, same money and you know what you're going to get. Use the free hotel shuttle services into the city or get a taxi as they are so cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed for three nights at this great little hotel in the centre of Old Cracow, a fabulous position and a wonderful hotel. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and tea and coffee available all day. When you are in a city you don't need all the frills as you're out and about exploring, not sitting in you room all day, so why pay the extra?
I would certainly recommend this hotel to 'most' people and will book again for my return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a nice guest house in the heart of Krakow old town, Clean and tidy even if it is a bit tired looking, Breakfast is the usual continental style, and the rooms are fine but a bit tired looking , the location more than makes up for this as it is so close to everything there is to see and do in Krakow, Even getting there from the Airport could not be easy er as it is only a five minute stroll from the Train station and the Train runs every 30 minutes direct from the airport for 15 PLN (£3) . There are lots of bars and Restaurants on the doorstep and prices in Krakow are excellent a meal for Two with drinks are never more than £20 and usually less , So if you are looking for a good base at reasonable cost this is the perfect location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location a short walk to main square. Staff very pleasant and try to be helpful although language can be a problem (our fault I know!). Rooms very dated (no phone, hairdryer etc) but exceptionally clean. Towels and bedding changed every day. Breakfast basic, but situated near a number of great coffee shops were breakfast can be purchased for very little if you want something more substantial.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as these will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi, Md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It's an old-fashioned pension; has a few secured free parking spaces, friendly English-speaking staff. No in-room safe but a locked cabinet behind the desk; decent WiFi in the room. We had a long narrow spacious room with a good table for our computer. The street is busy but quiets down late at night. One wakes to chamber music and piano practicing from the music academy across the street - a nice touch. The plumbing needs adjustment - shower leaks on floor, faucets won't turn off easily. Breakfast is adequate, furnishings faded, beds look like sofa beds. Price was 68 USD including breakfast; made reservation thru Expedia, no problem.

Room Tip: Low price and good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Cracow Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Cracow Aparthotel

Address: Mikolajska 17 - 19, Krakow 31-027 , Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Cracow Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Golden Cracow is located in the very heart of Cracow and offers cosy accommodation in single, double and triple rooms.In cafeteria guests can receive free tea and coffee.For youngsters hotel prepared corner with copious amount of board games and coloring books. Thanks to this homely atmosphere everyone should feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Golden Cracow Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Cracow Aparthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.