We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Restaurants in Krakow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glonojad

Glonojad
Plac Matejki 2, Krakow, Poland (Kleparz)
+48 12 346 16 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 887 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kleparz
Description: Independent self-service vegetarian bar with old town location. Freshly prepared house-made vegetarian meals, sweets and smoothies. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Carefully selected music, free WI-FI and PC station, and summer garden.Our food: we prepare our meals and salads freshly, everyday; majority of our vegetables, fruits, and herbs come from small, family-owned and local farms in Lesser Poland; our pastries do not contain artificial substances that “refine” their flavor and look; in a cooking process, we only use free-range eggs, GMO free; soups, sauces and curries are not condensed with flour; our dishes do not contain monosodium glutamate (MSG)
Rehovot
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vegan Restaurants in Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

During our stay in Krakow we found some vegan restaurants. Actually they are vegetarian that some dishes on their menu are vegan
My wife and I we are vegan, we visited some of them and the one that suited us most regarding the food and atmosphere was the GLONOJAD.
Actually we visited GLONOJAD every day and sometime twice a day during our stay in Krakow
Their menu is mainly a vegetarian but some of the dishes are vegan and they are very good.
We had the:
Pierogies stuffed with green lentils
Samosas: Dumplings with black cumin, potatoes, green peas, carrots, masala, cumin, sauce (tomato, peppers, chilli, cilantro)
Vegetable stew, rice/buckwheat/baked potatoes, 2 salads of your choice
You can order only salads, or you can have salads served with rice or buckwheat
Excellent choice of teas, try the Earl Grey with honey, lemon and fresh ginger root
You can ask for a cappuccino on soya milk, not common in other cafes
A word of warning, the local people like their food sweet, so even the salads are a bit sweetened.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after finishing a tour with the company next door, attracted by the cheap prices displayed outside and assuming we'd be able to get a cheap beer. Which we could, but we ended up with the bargain three course lunch too, which was very good. Pleasant atmosphere, good prices and the friendliest staff we came across in four days in Krakow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle, Minnesota
1 review
“Delicious food, very reasonable pricing, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I happened upon this gem on my first evening in Krakow and dined there daily during my five night stay. And I'm not even a vegetarian! I found the café irresistible with a wide menu selection, fantastic food, relaxed atmosphere, and very reasonable pricing. The staff was friendly, attentive, and pleasant I took my time while eating on the sidewalk patio overlooking Plac Matejki by leisurely enjoying the great food, a satisfying second glass of wine, and an exquisite dessert. However, if you are in a hurry, the possibility of dining and dashing exists as the service is very prompt. I strongly recommend choosing the Glonojad as a dining option. A special thanks to staff Kasia and Gosia......JimMinnesota

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The atmosphere in Glonojad was perfect, very welcoming. The food was freshly prepared, delicious and very fairly priced. We ate here every day of our three day trip!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Have been in Krakow for two weeks now and have eaten here countless times. Lovely hearty food with amazing tea and juices. The service is great, especially if you try and speak Polish (they will teach you some words if you ask!) prices are more than reasonable for central Krakow and the atmosphere is lovely.
Highly recommend this place, whether you are a vegetarian or not you will not be disappointed :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glonojad also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Glonojad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glonojad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.