We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain atmosphere in the middle of Kraków!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morskie Oko

Morskie Oko
Plac Szczepanski 8, Krakow 31-011, Poland
+48 (12) 431 24 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 930 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great mountain atmosphere in the middle of Kraków!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

An unexpected visit to Kraków meant that my wife and I were looking for somewhere to eat, especially me having just arrived in Poland.

Not only was our visit to Kraków unexpected, so to our visit to Morskie Oko, stumbling across it as we wandered through the Old Town in search of somewhere new.

The entrance is impressive as it stretches up across two floors. The whole entrance is decorated in a 'mountain' theme, so there's wood and fur throws everywhere. As we were led up to the upstairs dining area we walked past the new part of the restaurant, so new the wood is of a lighter colour and it gives off a 'just chopped' timber smell (which is not off-putting).

I had golonka (slow-cooked pork knuckle) and my wife had ribs. Both were absolutely delicious and the service was good too. Most of the staff are wear traditional dress which adds to the atmosphere.

The prices are reasonable too and we would definitely recommend and return to Morskie Oko.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    171
    44
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were advised to try Morskie Oko. We were not disappointed. We tried pierogies, steak, soup, sausage and local honey schnapps. It was awesome and perfectly priced. Locals and tourists were there. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious & lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Great service & fabulous food. Lovely atmosphere & music. The decor is very typically Polish, and the uniforms were great. We came as a large group and all had a lovely evening!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal in Krakow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This wonderful place right next to the Globtroter (where we always stay) has been refurnished with hand-carved wood throughout. The ambiance, entertainment, and food are down-home Polish.

The four of us each ordered something different so we could share. Tomato soup with noodles, potato pancakes, trout, pork cutlets, pierogis, tasty desserts, and lots of Okocim – everything we tried was excellent. And afterwards, exploring the restaurant is almost as enjoyable as the food.

We had a wonderful time here - a definite must for our next visit to Krakow.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect meal in Poland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Morskie oko restaurant is tucked way in a corner of the plac szczepanski it is a typical polish food but good the service from the staff. out standing location we just come across it by accident on are last night.wish we had found it earlier you need to go inside to see how nice the place is up stairs and down stairs thy had some live music on but not to loud.this place is down one of the side streets of the main square.if in Poland again it is a must for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morskie Oko also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Morskie Oko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morskie Oko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.