We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro style restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restauracja Starka

Restauracja Starka
ul. Jozefa 14, Krakow 31-000, Poland
+48 12 430 65 38
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 889 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Polish restaurant and vodka bar
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bistro style restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Lovely atmosphere, quaint friendly and welcoming. i had the duck which was lovely. Also ate steak medium rare and was prob medium. Good value for money.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    266
    59
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We are a group of ladies from Scotland who regularly holiday together and this is the second time that we have visited Krakow, staying at the Regent Hotel. Having visited Krakow last year, one of the main reasons we decided to return, apart from Krakow being such a lovely city to visit, was because we enjoyed Starka restaurant so much. We were made so welcome and the food is truly delicious and very reasonably priced. There were so many dishes that we wanted to try on the menu that we didn't have enough evenings to fit them all in! Many thanks to Joanna, Gabriel and all the staff who made our stay so special. By the way - do try Gabriel's home made Vodkas. We loved the raspberry vodka so much that we ordered some bottles specially to bring back to Scotland. Do try Starka - we're sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Went to Starka based on Trip Advisor reviews and it lived up to them
Quaint interior, very good traditional food and excellent value for money.Highly recommend teh boneless pork knuckle.
Two starters, two mains, two Vodka shots, bottle of wine all for £40
Very friendly staff who speak great english.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Starka is a bit away from the usual tourist area/traps and it's really a good idea to go a bit further to get a much better experience than in the usual tourist traps. Starka isn't a big place, and looks a bit worn from the outside, but inside you find a really cosy spot with good food. The food gets my highest rating, but wine and service can't get the same rating. The service was friendly, but seemed quite confused at times, and didn't have any idea of wich wine to choose to the courses we selected. On top of that the wine was at least 5 degrees above it's serving temperature - maybe due to a hot evening and restaurant, but still not good enough (I went for a bit more expensive wine and it's a shame that they can't serve it at its right temperature). I'll recommend the food, but go for a beer, water or softdrink with your food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pleasant food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good value meal , nice bistro setting. Try the ginger vodka !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Starka also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Restauracja Starka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restauracja Starka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.