We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Alicjia! This was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krakow Free Walking Tour

Krakow Free Walking Tour
In front of St. Mary's Church | Next to Main Market Square, Krakow 31-021, Poland
+48 513 875 814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 178 Tours & Activities in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: APR - OCT: in English: meeting point in front of St. Mary's Church (kosciol Mariacki): old town krakow FREE walking TOUR everyday at 10:00 am & 3:30 pm| jewish krakow FREE walking TOUR everyday 11:00 am & 2:30 pm | street art in krakow FREE walking TOUR every Sun at 10:30 am | foods of krakow FREE walking TOUR every Mon, Wed and Fri at 2:00 pm, every Sat at 10:30 am| krakow macabre FREE walking TOUR every Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri and Sat at 8:00 pm | short old town FREE walking TOUR, every Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu and Sat at 6:00 pm | photo tour FREE walking TOUR, every Fri and Sun at 6:00 pm FREE walking SPECIAL tour every Saturday at 1:30 pm. Paid tours: communist Krakow every Mon and Sat at 2:00 pm and every Wed and Fri at 10:00 am | main square underground every Wed, Fri and Sun at 7:00 pm | schindler's factory tour from Tue to Sun 1:45 pm and 5:15 pm(meeting point - reception at the schindler's factory!)
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Alicjia! This was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Having walked from the main Market Square to Kazimierz we were wandering aimlessly through the Jewish Quarter when we stumbled across a free walking tour, with Alicjia leading. What a stroke of luck! She confidently and knowledgeably explained each area we walked through. The tour took us through this and several other areas where we arrived at the Jewish Ghetto. Each marked with harrowing stories about persecution of Polish Jews and the remarkable courage of individuals who tried to save as many lives as they could. The Square has the most poignant memorial of chairs, empty and facing toward the homes of these individuals. Then on to Oscar Schindlers factory. All in all the tour provided a superb opportunity to learn more about the Holocaust and the role Poland played during the murder of innocent people. Alicjia was brilliant. Thank you so much for allowing us to walk with you.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,366
    214
    11
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our group of 4 took three of the Free Walking Tours: Old Town and Wawal HIll with Jacek; Kazimierz and Jewish Ghetto with Navia; and evening Macabre with Jacek. The first two each lasted about 3 hours, and were very worthwhile and informative. Both guides had a wealth of information, spoke clear and understandable English (Jacek has a voice suitable for the stage), invited and responded to numerous questions, and walked at a reasonable pace. About two-thirds of the way through the tour of the Jewish Quarter and Ghetto with Navia, I realized that I had probably learned more about the history of Judaism and the Jewish people, I asked Navia how she had such an expansive knowledge; it turned out that she has a university degree in religions! The Macabre tour in the evening runs only an hour and a half, and covers both factual historical information and what sounded like superstitions and local lore; an entertaining way to start your evening in Krakow. The guides work only for tips, which you can give (or not) at the end of the tours. We were more than happy to give handsome tips. We highly recommend the Free Walking Tours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The guide made the tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our guide, Thomasz, was an excellent guide and took us on a great tour of the Jewish Quarter in Krakow. He was very engaging and answered every question and was very clear in his English accent ( he could pass as a native English speaker!). He was very passionate about touring people and of his city. Definitely one of the best tour guides I've ever had. It is advertised as a free walking tour so don't go if you don't think you can walk around this beautiful city for 3 hours and even though it says its free, you would have to be very tight not to donate generously at the end of the tour to support these fine people and the excellent jobs their doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Thoroughly Worthwhile Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

At precisely 3.30pm outside St Mary's Church our 3-hour tour of Old Krakow set off under the guidance of Navia (hope that's how her name's spelt!). And what an excellent experience it was. Navia was very well informed and full of little humorous anecdotes to liven up and colour the history behind this beautiful city. The pace the walk took was perfect with lots of stops for questions and answers as well as for toilet breaks. The Guides for these tours rely entirely on tips so if you get one as good as Navia, be generous!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Met Jacek at St Mary's in the main square. He took us on a tour round the Jewish quarter finishing at Shindlers Factory. (Lasting approximately 3 hours). Would recommend watching Shindlers List before as had quite a few references to it. Jacek was a brilliant guide, very entertaining. Excellent value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Free Walking Tour also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Free Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krakow Free Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.