We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Centre of Krakow

Historic Centre of Krakow
, Krakow, Poland (Kleparz)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$25*
and up
Private Tour: Krakow City Sightseeing by Electric...
Ranked #1 of 197 things to do in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The 13th century merchants' town is home to Europe's largest market square and offers numerous historical houses, palaces and churches with magnificent interiors, 14th century fortifications, ancient synagogues, Jagiellonian University and the Gothic cathedral where the kings of Poland were buried.
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
462 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“A great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

When we arrived in Krakow we did not exactly know what to expect. We had been therefore pleasantly surprised by this unexpected beautiful little town with the very well preserved historic center. It is not that difficult to walk around it and feel the city's atmosphere. Just do it and you will not regret it. Highlight, of the historic center, the central square. Enjoy!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,645
    685
    45
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washingtonville, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As I packed my bags (I came with one and was leaving with two full ones!) and readied for departure on Saturday, the thought crossed my mind that I very well might never be back to Krakow, certainly not for want of desire, but just because as life often has a way of working out, you never know where you're going to end up. And with that thought came a real sadness, because Krakow really was an absolutely charming city (and one defined almost entirely by its historic centre).

I arrived with zero prior conception of what to expect, zero. So when I made my first trek from Kazimierz (where my hostel was) up to the square, I was immediately quite taken. Mind you, the first real item of note was an enormous castle (Wawel), which being lit for nighttime was doubly impressive. The walk that followed up several mainly pedestrian streets only further supported a growing liking for the city. Over the course of my stay, I ended up making that walk countless times and by the time I was walking it for the final time on Saturday night, I realized that whether I return or not, the experience was one that I'll never forget. Can't recommend the city enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent 4 days in krakow , what a fab city . Lots of bars cafes and places to eat . The people are friendly and helpful . Bars get busy late at night but no trouble even though the alcohol is cheap. Walking around at night is safe and during the day it can get busy but never mind just pop into a cafe for a beer or coffee and people watch for an hour. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Well maintained medieval treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It's the largest town square in all of Europe we were told. It feels friendly and safe even in the evening and there's always something going on. Horse drawn carriages take small groups for a tour of the downtown areas while a flower and food market is occurring in the middle and shoppers are scurrying around. Restaurants abound and the shops offer reasonably priced goods. I want to return soon!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming! ...and I never use the word charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The whole center felt like a holiday village. Very festive and, yes, charming- even romantic. There is a great little set of shops behind the church with AWESOME food cooked on an open grill. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Centre of Krakow also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Historic Centre of Krakow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Centre of Krakow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.