We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unicus to your Saves list
Hotel Unicus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 246 Hotels in Krakow
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

I was in Krakow for my second time in 4 months and ended up at the Unicus by chance after my son spotted it,
The Unicus is in the best part of Krakow on a side road off the main square,
It is literally only 1 to 2 minutes walk from all the bars and restaurants,
The hotel is spectacular all brand new fixtures and fittings including beds, The bathrooms are so modern and very good quality,
The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble,
I had a twin room with a 3rd bed put in to make it a triple, although the bed was a put u up it was brand new,
I did find the mattress on the fold out bed a little hard but with in 1 hour of telling staff we had a normal mattress on the bed which was perfect,
The most impressive thing I found was My Mum and Sister were staying at the Sheraton and paid a lot more yet the Unicus was the better hotel, Breakfast included unlike the £30 per person at the sheraton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    85
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
115
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I booked two rooms at the hotel, staying for three nights to explore Krakow. The hotel staff were all very friendly and keen to help whenever they could. The hotel itself was very modern, clean and the rooms were excellent value. The location of the hotel could not have been better. It was only a two minute walk from the main square. In fact we tended to walk everywhere because the hotel seemed central to most things.
Included in the price was a buffet style breakfast and there was enough food there to satisfy my expanding waistline demands. The amount and quality of the food was excellent. If I had to find one small blemish is the hotel does not do a good cup of tea!
At the hotel you could pick up tickets for the main excursions such as Auschwitz and the Salt Mines. However all excursions had to be paid for in cash, the hotel cannot accept credit cards because they are only acting as an agent for the tour firm.
I went on two tours to Auschitz and the Salt Mines. These were not run by the Hotel and were OK. Neither tour really gave much free time (in fact only 15 minutes) and both attractions were really (I would say too busy) to enjoy them properly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Hotel modern and contemporary, well located just off the main square and only a 10 minute walk from the rail and bus stations. The air conditioning wasn’t working in the first room we were allocated, but we were moved to another without fuss. The room was well decorated, clean and new but quite small. Might get a bit claustrophobic for a longer stay. There was a ‘bar’ in the cellar basement, which was actually just a single row of tables and had no atmosphere (or customers) at all. Breakfast was served in a beautiful series of cellars with high ceilings. Excellent choice of cold meats, cheeses, salmon, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and so on. Hot food also available, though after the waitress told us this she never re-appeared to take an order!! Wi-Fi available.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a very new hotel which is right in the centre of Krakow (60 metres from the main square). The rooms are excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is superb, probably the best meal we had in the four days we were there was our dinner on one night. It exceeded the meal we had in a Michelin star restaurant in the city centre.
We can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This beautiful hotel was in a perfect location. Walking distance from train station and the main square in Krakow.
Very comfortable rooms with lovely toiletries. Beautiful breakfast in stunning cellar restuarant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the boro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

great location just off main square, freindly staff, very clean hotel. go on free walking tour 11am outside st marys on main square.also recommend small resteraunt just off the square on street named bracka i think. menu on boar ds outside freindly waiters good food and cheap

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

The hotel offers good value for the cost. It is in a great location - close to the main square and within comfortable walking distance to all sites. If you are a light sleeper, you may be bothered by a bit of street noise at night, but it did not bother me at all. While the hotel has the charm of an older building, it was renovated thoughtfully and has all the valued amenities - modern bathroom, nicey toiletries, powerful AC, fast (and free) internet, comfy beds with quality linens. The standout feature for me was the excellent breakfast featuring made-to-order omelets, crepes, french toast, coffee/capuccinos, smoothies, and a buffet offering a wide variety of items. The staff are friendly and helpful. Recommend the free walking tour at 11am and Jewish district tour at 3pm (meeting point is in front of St. Mary's). The trip to Auschwitz is worthwhile. Also, consider the College Maius tour.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Address: ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 246 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.