We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, very clean and comfortable room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unicus to your Saves list
Hotel Unicus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, very clean and comfortable room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a really nice experience at hotel Unicus. It is modernly and tastefully furbished, stylish bathroom, very clean (which for me is the most important). The staff was very polite and helpful. The breakfast is excellent, you have a large variety to choose from. The restaurant is also good. It is close to everything 3 minutes away from the main square and about 15 minutes walking to the castle. We had double bed room, which is not large, but it was quite enough for us. I am very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We would like to express how thankful we are that you have decided to choose Unicus Hotel for your stay in Krakow and you spent your time to give your comment on tripadvisor.com. It is great pleasure for us to read that you liked your room with its amenities and that the standard of given service reflected your expectations. Thank you for assigning the highest mark according to each and every element! We hope that you have already planned your next visit in Krakow and you will decide to visit us again. Feel always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    96
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
129
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Had a lovely stay for 3 nights here. The hotel was next to the old square and within walking distance of the castle and the Jewish quarter (slightly further away). Very clean and modern. Rooms are not very large but that did not bother us. Lovely bathrooms which is always a great thing! Good restaurant in the hotel too. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Unicus Hotel for your stay in Krakow and taking your time to write this review. Knowing that guests feel good with us is the greatest reward for us. Thank you for showing all our assets to the users of tripadvisor.com. We are very grateful for your recommendation. We hope that you will come back to Krakow real soon and decide on Unicus Hotel again. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is new and very modern. It is clean and the staff spoke good English and was very helpful. The breakfast,, which was included in the rate, was outstanding. Meats and cheeses, smoked salmon, all kinds of pastries, cold cereal, lots of fruits, eggs, sausage, bacon...you name it. Fresh and very nice. Our room was huge and the bed super comfortable. Plenty place in the bathroom for our stuff. It was quiet and yet only a block or so from the main market square.Very handy to everything. It is tucked away on a tiny side street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Unicus Hotel for your stay in Krakow and such kind words towards our property and the service we offer. Positive feedback from our guests of this kind is the goal which we aspire. We are really happy that you liked the breakfast. We do our best to prepare it in the way that each guest can find something tasty for him/herself. We are very grateful for revealing the assets such as helpful personnel, nice room and good location. We hope that in the near future you will come back to visit us again. You are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is clean and nice. That's half the battle. It is centrally located which is nice. Problems, staff isn't very knowledgable about the surrounding area. Couldn't tell us any good restaurants or bars. Didn't know anything about a city tour. They don't have face cloths for the rooms, they don't have cream for your complimentary in room coffee, they have only one English television station. The soap and shampoo are a all in one mounted to the wall in the shower. Here's the kicker. I'm all for conservation and saving on electricity but the whole hotel go's completely dark at night including the lobby and reception desk. The clerks were actually working in the pitch dark at their computers. You actually have to walk through the dark before the sensors pick up movement and turn the lights on. It's uncomfortable and weird. They should at least have every third light on for some light.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and for sharing your honest feedback with other users of tripadvisor.com. It was our pleasure to host you in our property. We are very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay.
Our front desk staff is trained in the subject of local attractions and places worth recommending. We are sorry to hear that the information given was insufficient to you. Detailed information our guests can always find in the guide, which is placed in each hotel room. Our hotel has a certificate “Clean tourism” and we have implemented solutions that lead to energy savings. One of them is the installation of movement detectors that automatically turn on the light. Never before have we complaints about it, however, we will check whether the settings of the sensors are correct. In the hotel rooms we do not have face cloths, but on our guests request we always give additional towels of medium size. The coffee and tea maker doesn’t include cream, however with great pleasure we can deliver to the room fresh, cold or hot milk. The liquid soap you mentioned is made by Bogner, which is a global lifestyle brand. It produces high quality products. We have selected them very carefully and we hope that besides the fact that it was not in a small bottle, the quality of the cosmetic reflected your expectations.
Thank you also for pointing the elements that you liked. We do hope that despite the fact that you noticed some drawbacks, your memories after visiting Unicus Hotel will be positive. We warmly invite you to visit us again if you ever come back to Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would recommend this hotel, ideally situated, helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. My husband heard some noise during the night, but I slept through any disturbance. The room was excellent, breakfast varied, lots of choice, good internet connection. We could have done with BBC world, on the TV, but this is not vital as there is so much to see and do in Krakow. If we return to Krakow we will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Unicus Hotel for your trip to Krakow. We do appreciate all your kind words about our rooms and services. Thank you for taking your time to reveal our assets to other users of tripadvisor.com. Since there is so much to see in Krakow, we hope that you will return here and visit us again. You are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is brand new botique hotel in the center of the old town of Krakow rooms are modern with all needed comfort even iphone stand. Prefer tween beds the doubles are small then normal.
Brekfast is rich and served in hotels restarunt.

Room Tip: Prefer twin rooms then doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and spending your time to give such positive opinion about our property on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that location as well as other amenities of the hotel reflected your expectations. Beds in our double rooms are standard size, however, we do understand that you may prefer twin room. Thank you once again for this feedback. We are looking forward to having an opportunity to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was not our first choice for our hotel in Krakow, because the rooms appeared somewhat small. When we reconsidered how well located it was, and the great comments about the breakfast, we decided to cancel the other hotel and come here. Great decision. We had 3 rooms for 4 nights. Two were on the 4th floor, and one on the second. They were big enough, with comfortable bathrooms. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, which is as attractive as the web site photographs show. You could have items from the general breakfast spread, and order any number of egg dishes from the card menu at the table, all included. The staff was friendly and very competent.
The front desk staff was also helpful and friendly. If you traveled with 50 or 100 zloty bills, it was often difficult at the hotel and generally in many locations, to get change in smaller bills and/or coins. We read comments about noise at night, but we experienced none during our stay. The hotel is about a 10 to 15 zloty fare from the train station.

Room Tip: Be aware that the ceiling of the top floor rooms are sloped, with reduced headroom by the outside wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for giving a trust to the opinions about Unicus Hotel on tripadvisor.com and for visiting us. We are really pleased that you didn’t regret your final decision to visit us and not the other hotel you initially have made a reservation in. We very much appreciate all your kind words about our staff, rooms and breakfast. Thank you for revealing all these assets to other travelers. Thank you also for giving a room tip to our potential guests. Just to clarify, we would like to add that the liquid soap you mentioned is made by Bogner, which is a global lifestyle brand. It produces high quality products, which are sold in perfumeries all over the world. We have selected them very carefully:). We hope that it wasn’t your last visit in Krakow and we will have pleasure to welcome you again. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Address: ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.