We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny pinchers!! ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Unicus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Unicus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 235 hotels in Krakow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Penny pinchers!! ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is clean and nice. That's half the battle. It is centrally located which is nice. Problems, staff isn't very knowledgable about the surrounding area. Couldn't tell us any good restaurants or bars. Didn't know anything about a city tour. They don't have face cloths for the rooms, they don't have cream for your complimentary in room coffee, they have only one English television station. The soap and shampoo are a all in one mounted to the wall in the shower. Here's the kicker. I'm all for conservation and saving on electricity but the whole hotel go's completely dark at night including the lobby and reception desk. The clerks were actually working in the pitch dark at their computers. You actually have to walk through the dark before the sensors pick up movement and turn the lights on. It's uncomfortable and weird. They should at least have every third light on for some light.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and for sharing your honest feedback with other users of tripadvisor.com. It was our pleasure to host you in our property. We are very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay.
Our front desk staff is trained in the subject of local attractions and places worth recommending. We are sorry to hear that the information given was insufficient to you. Detailed information our guests can always find in the guide, which is placed in each hotel room. Our hotel has a certificate “Clean tourism” and we have implemented solutions that lead to energy savings. One of them is the installation of movement detectors that automatically turn on the light. Never before have we complaints about it, however, we will check whether the settings of the sensors are correct. In the hotel rooms we do not have face cloths, but on our guests request we always give additional towels of medium size. The coffee and tea maker doesn’t include cream, however with great pleasure we can deliver to the room fresh, cold or hot milk. The liquid soap you mentioned is made by Bogner, which is a global lifestyle brand. It produces high quality products. We have selected them very carefully and we hope that besides the fact that it was not in a small bottle, the quality of the cosmetic reflected your expectations.
Thank you also for pointing the elements that you liked. We do hope that despite the fact that you noticed some drawbacks, your memories after visiting Unicus Hotel will be positive. We warmly invite you to visit us again if you ever come back to Krakow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    67
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
102
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would recommend this hotel, ideally situated, helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. My husband heard some noise during the night, but I slept through any disturbance. The room was excellent, breakfast varied, lots of choice, good internet connection. We could have done with BBC world, on the TV, but this is not vital as there is so much to see and do in Krakow. If we return to Krakow we will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Unicus Hotel for your trip to Krakow. We do appreciate all your kind words about our rooms and services. Thank you for taking your time to reveal our assets to other users of tripadvisor.com. Since there is so much to see in Krakow, we hope that you will return here and visit us again. You are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is brand new botique hotel in the center of the old town of Krakow rooms are modern with all needed comfort even iphone stand. Prefer tween beds the doubles are small then normal.
Brekfast is rich and served in hotels restarunt.

Room Tip: Prefer twin rooms then doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and spending your time to give such positive opinion about our property on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that location as well as other amenities of the hotel reflected your expectations. Beds in our double rooms are standard size, however, we do understand that you may prefer twin room. Thank you once again for this feedback. We are looking forward to having an opportunity to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It was not our first choice for our hotel in Krakow, because the rooms appeared somewhat small. When we reconsidered how well located it was, and the great comments about the breakfast, we decided to cancel the other hotel and come here. Great decision. We had 3 rooms for 4 nights. Two were on the 4th floor, and one on the second. They were big enough, with comfortable bathrooms. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant, which is as attractive as the web site photographs show. You could have items from the general breakfast spread, and order any number of egg dishes from the card menu at the table, all included. The staff was friendly and very competent.
The front desk staff was also helpful and friendly. If you traveled with 50 or 100 zloty bills, it was often difficult at the hotel and generally in many locations, to get change in smaller bills and/or coins. We read comments about noise at night, but we experienced none during our stay. The hotel is about a 10 to 15 zloty fare from the train station.

Room Tip: Be aware that the ceiling of the top floor rooms are sloped, with reduced headroom by the outside wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for giving a trust to the opinions about Unicus Hotel on tripadvisor.com and for visiting us. We are really pleased that you didn’t regret your final decision to visit us and not the other hotel you initially have made a reservation in. We very much appreciate all your kind words about our staff, rooms and breakfast. Thank you for revealing all these assets to other travelers. Thank you also for giving a room tip to our potential guests. Just to clarify, we would like to add that the liquid soap you mentioned is made by Bogner, which is a global lifestyle brand. It produces high quality products, which are sold in perfumeries all over the world. We have selected them very carefully:). We hope that it wasn’t your last visit in Krakow and we will have pleasure to welcome you again. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A lovely stylish hotel in a very good location. Each staff member was extremely helpful and friendly. We had a quiet room on the top floor which was perfect. There is cable t.v. with no english-speaking channels. Excellent internet connection, the duvet on the bed was small & didn't really cover it properly. Buffet breakfast is a very good selection with Polish flair.

Room Tip: According to other reviews, there is a noisy nightclub nearby, based on this we asked for a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and taking time to give your comment after your stay. We are really happy that you spent pleasant time in our property. Thank you for assigning the highest rates to each and every element of our services. The greatest reward for us is knowing that you will come back to us. Just to rectify. There is an English channel in our hotel rooms. We are already looking forward to it! Thank you once again for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed two nights in a single and the room was great, much bigger than your traditional single and you can tell the hotel has been renovated. Great room, great bedding, and great bathroom! It was off one of the main streets from the square, less than 5 minutes to the main square. The windows dampen almost all the sound, slept great. The lobby is nothing to write home about, but who sits around in the lobby? There was a small fitness room, the fitness equipment was nothing, but there was a great sauna for 2 maybe 3 people, just ask the front desk to turn it on 30 minutes before you go. The breakfast was good, there was a small buffet, but you also got to choose items from a menu. Breakfast was nicely done! Bottom line, great location and modern, clean, room, and for me a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Unicus Hotel and taking your time to give your comment on tripadvisor.com. We are very happy that you enjoyed spending time in our property. Thank you for revealing all the assets of Unicus Hotel and sharing your reflections after your stay with other users of tripadvisor.com. We hope that we will have pleasure to welcome you if you ever decide to visit Cracow again. You are always very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a wonderful, small hotel in a very convenient location, near every possible amenity. The hotel has recently been renovated and is immaculate. The staff is very welcoming, hospitable and helpful in all circumstances. Lovely restaurant and bar are on the lower level. Krakow is a beautiful city and this is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing Unicus Hotel and taking your time to write this review. We are really pleased that you liked spending time in our property and all your reflections were so positive. Thank you for your recommendations. We hope that you will soon come back to Cracow and visit us again. We are already looking forward to having an opportunity to welcome you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Address: ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 235 hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.