We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Unicus Krakow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unicus to your Saves list
Hotel Unicus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Unicus Krakow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is in a central location but that is a problem with noise outside the hotel and there is a "nightclub" directly acrosss the street. Breakfast is very expensive for polish prices and the hotel staff are not helpful with problems. The bar consists of about 4 tables in the basement. Avoid using the mini bar - see prices first!

Room Tip: All rooms face the street and nightclub so there is no option to choose quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting Unicus Hotel and for your opinion. It is a pity that you felt some inconvenience because of the coming noises from the outside. However, we do hope that it didn’t significantly affect on the comfort of your stay. If you ever decide to visit Cracow, we hope that we will have pleasure host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    103
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
52
135
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel Unicus was a total treat. Having never been to Poland before, I was concerned about my ability to choose a proper hotel in the correct area. I could not be more pleased with this hotel. The only downside of the hotel's location was its location near a gentleman's nightclub, but it did not feel unsafe or seedy. In fact, it was a great combination of being slightly off the main square, but within a 3 minute walk. Don't hesitate to travel opposite the square and see the wall of student paintings and city gate which is remarkably close to the hotel.The staff was incredibly friendly and readily spoke English. Our room had wonderful high ceilings and a clean, modern bathroom. It felt clean and luxurious. The breakfast provided by the hotel was more than enough to keep us full throughout the day. I wish I would have had an opportunity to eat in the restaurant for dinner because of the great ambiance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Unicus Hotel and for such great recommendation. We are delighted to receive such a positive feedback from our guests. Knowing that our service has good quality is really precious to us. We hope that we will have pleasure to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have just returned from spending 3 nights at Hotel Unicus.
I have thought long and hard as to whether I am being unfair with the contents of this review as I am aware that most reviewers find this Hotel outstanding. However, I also have to add that I have never reviewed anything on here at less than four stars so please bear these factors in mind.
My partner had already stayed at this Hotel a couple of years ago and it was sheer coincidence that my friend booked this hotel for us after reading reviews on TA. I was told to expect amazing breakfasts, shower gels and service. Maybe I was expecting too much but these are my feelings.
Upon arrival we were given our keys for our room. The room was of a generous square footage with a large window with a good view of the clock tower. I agree with a previous poster, you really could do with a chest of drawers to put clothes, underwear,socks etc in so I hope the Hotel thinks about this.
If I start with Breakfast - over the three days we were disappointed with certain aspects. I think they are short staffed at breakfast time. On each day there were different items missing from the table. I'm not talking about pointless items such as a teaspoon with a cup and saucer but essential breakfast items. On two of the days the hot food tray was empty, on another there wasn't hot milk available, no pastries on show, a lack of fruit juice and it just felt that the staff struggled to cope with the flow of guests. There was also a communication error regarding an omelette I enquired about. It is not obvious looking at the menu that they are an added cost. I did try breakfast
at different times each day as well to see if it was a one off.
Hotel room - beds were comfy, lovely sheets always clean. The window though was a pain to open as the blinds would not go fully up to allow you to open the window so we cold only have them open a little at a time. we thought there was a lack of amenities such as cream or milk or biscuits in the room to welcome us. I did write a note in Polish asking for some cream or milk which I left in the room afternthenfirstnevening but wasn't acted upon. Fair enough though, I could have asked at the hotel reception. Surely it isn't just the British who like to have a coffee or tea in their room?
They have removed the individual toiletries from the shower and now have the same system as most hotels with a fixed fitting to the wall. Shower was powerful and welcoming. Great air-con as well which was needed!
Hotel bar - soulless and lacking of character. Had a TV on in the corner when music would have been a much better option but we did have one drink in there.
Staff - although professional at all times and courteous, we did not feel that valued as guests. The only ever engagement with staff was 'what room number are you in'? And 'did you use the mini bar' when checking out. It would have been nice to have been asked whether we enjoyed our stay and other pleasantries.
Hotel Unicus is a clean, modern operation. Perhaps we just came at the wrong time and perhaps after the really good feedback from my partner I held high expectations.
Take this review at face value. I have mentioned positives and negatives. Listen to the outstanding 4 and 5 star reviews, just bear in mind that you aren't guaranteed 100% success.
Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting our hotel and for such a comprehensive opinion. We do appreciate all given comments and suggestions. However, there must have appeared a small misunderstanding during one of your breakfast since we do not take additional fee for any special breakfast dishes, such as omelette or specially prepared scrambled eggs. It is a great shame that those shortcomings you mentioned about cumulated at one visit. However, we do hope that only those positives, that you also mentioned about in your opinion, will fall in your memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If this hotel isn't rated at 6 stars it should be. It is within a short walking distant to the central square. Our room was large modern and very clean. The staff was very courteous and helpful.
If you go there and do not eat at least one meal at their wonderful restaurant you have missed the best part of this hotel.The food is so good you will want to go back again. Bring a camera because you will want to take pictures of this beautiful dining room. The great breakfast every morning was appreciated before we set out to explore this beautiful historic city. It doesn't get much better than this. We will be back

Room Tip: We loved our room on the 3rd floor over looking Florianska Street. We could open the window and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
It is very nice to read such a great opinion about our hotel. Thank you very much for choosing us and for your recommendation. We also appreciate your comment on cuisine in our restaurant and our breakfasts. Please, visit us again if you decide to come to Krakow in future. We hope that it will happen real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We can in on the overnight train at around 7 AM. We went to the hotel hoping our room was ready as we were in need of a shower after a night on the train. Naturally it was not ready at that time of the morning, but the staff at the front desk gave us a key to the exercise room that had a shower, towel, toilet and water cooler. We were so thankful to clean up and have them hold our luggage until the room was ready. We were able to get off to an early start sightseeing, rather than hanging around waiting for a room to be ready.
The staff was super nice, the breakfast excellent and the location perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for such positive opinion. It is great to know that our staff reflects the expectations of our guests. We hope that we will have pleasure to host you in future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have to agree with the previous reviews of the hotel Unicus. Bang in the middle of town yet with no noise audible in the rooms. Rooms were big with a great shower room. Personally, I could have done without underfloor heating in there but stepping back into a nicely air-con room was good. Great breakfast with extra hot dishes available to order. They also did a mean latte. The staff were all courteous and helpful. Couldn't fault it at all. Well, could do with some drawers for storage in the room instead of three console tables but that's just being picky. We had a great time and will be going back to Krakow and the Unicus again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for such great recommendation. We are delighted to receive such positive feedback from our guests. It is even more satisfying when we know that we will have an opportunity to host you again in future. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel was very nice, close to all amenities of krakow.The staff were very courteous and helpful.
The breakfast was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Luxury double rooms are very spacious and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you very much for staying in Unicus Hotel and for your opinion. We hope that some time in future we will have pleasure to host you again in our hotel. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Stare Miasto
Hotel Pod Roza
Hotel Pod Roza
#48 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Hotel Amadeus
#52 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Hotel Wentzl
#7 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Hotel Grodek
Hotel Grodek
#6 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
The Bonerowski Palace
#34 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Address: ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.