We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for exploring Krakow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Unicus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Unicus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for exploring Krakow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Unius for 4 nights, arriving by train from the main Airport and walking the short distance through the park, past the Barbican and down Florianka to the hotel (250m). Don't bother with Taxi's from the train station as its really easy to find and takes no time to get there. Once we got to the hotel we where greeted by a friendly reception staff who gave us us the impression they had been stood their all morning just waiting for me and my partner to arrive. After a couple of minutes checking in we where given 2 room keys, a map of the city, a guide book and a pile of tourist information leaflets. After this we where escorted to our room (108) which was on the first floor in the corner of the hotel over looking the intersecting streets (see piccy). Our escort then subsequently gave us a tour of our room, showing us the how the safe worked, that the room had a ironing board and iron, how the tv worked, etc... even how the clock radio worked with its ipod/iphone dock worked. Even better was just as I went to my wallet to tip the man for bringing our bags up and giving us the run down of our room he politely bid us a good stay and left. Therefore leading me to think this level of service was the "norm" and not something the staff did to pick up some extra income. The room was impressive, modern decor, lcd tv (only 2 english channels though!) on the wall, big comfy bed, kettle with all usual drinks and a well stocked mini-bar. What was even more impressive was the bathroom, black sparkly marble, spots lights in ceiling, shower enclosure with big glass screen, heated floor and modern basin and tap with huge mirror fully covering the wall. The only negative I had about the room was the lack of bath but its only a minor point for me but would a issue for people who like having long hot baths on there hols. Also to note about the hotel is the free wi-fi which I clocked it about 2MB/s, not very fast but more than usable for checking the weather/news etc plus the other half checking facebook.....

The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring the city as the cloth hall, St Mary's, the Barbican and the main square are all within a 5 min walk and Wawel Castle, the Vistula and the Jewish quarter no more than 20 mins away. Transport links are all close with Krakow's main train station, tram stops and bus stops all within a short walk (inc bus 304, the bus to the Wieliczka Salt Mine, 40mins away). Loads of bars and restaurants around including one in the hotel. Can't comment on the one in hotel this as we never went in for either breakfast or dinner but looked good from the outside.

The only other point to mention based on the previous reviews is the noise from the street. I would be lying if I said there wasn't any however the room was fully double glazed with heavy curtains covering the windows leaving only the most drunken howls left to be heard. Personally I didn't have a problem with the noise and I think the room we had is probably the most exposed to the street. In the grand scheme of things it a very minor annoyance which should not put anyone off using this hotel as a base for there holiday as the location, the rooms and the service more than cover it.

Overall top notch hotel which I'd happily stay in again and recommend to anyone wanting to visit Krakow.

Room Tip: I expect the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor and further away from Florianska street might be slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    70
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
108
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Unicus for 3 nights from 17th to 20th Feb, though the weather was cold and snowy, the hotel was very warm and cosy, if not a little too room, though it is possible to open the windows. Rooms are very tastefully decorated, beds are comfortable with quilts and squidgy pillows. Shower is excellent and powerful, our room did not have a bath which would have been nice after walking in the cold. The hotel is in an excellent location just off the main square with plenty of restaurants and bars close by. Would definitly go back to same hotel again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for warm words, despite freezing cold outside during your stay. All rooms in our Hotel are equipped in shower. I hope that during your next visit the temperature will be upper. If not - please test the sauna after walking in the frost. B-) We would be pleased to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Unicus for 3 nights. Checked in early at 11.30 and our rooms were ready. A very friendly welcome, and provided with visitor information. Small lobby area. Location is just off the main square, excellent for sight seeing and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Luxury bathroom suite, with robes and toiletries, and heated floor. We had a twin room which was good, a little stuffy at times. Clean bed linen every day. Only small problem was it was quite noisy if you had the window open at night. I would definately stay again. Cannot comment on the food as we were room only. Free wifi was fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for visiting Unicus and your nice comments. In the Restaurant the Chef puts all his efforts into satisfying our Guests. During your next visit please try his brilliant dishes. Cordially welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Unicus 15th to 18th February. The hotel is exceptional with helpful and friendly staff who responded to emails prior to our arrival (and even sent a car to pick us up from the airport) and gave us useful information on Krakow and arranged transport for us to Aushwitz and back to the airport.
The rooms are large and have fantastic bathrooms - underfloor heating was very welcome as it was very cold and snowy when we were there. Cleaned every day and given we were on the front of the building (which is close to the main drag) there was little noise in the room and the black-out curtains were brilliant.
Food was top notch and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a huge selection of cold and warm food plus menu to order (i.e. omelettes, smoothies etc) if required. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and it was really good quality. Only negative (but minor) was the lack of atmosphere as it was quiet.
Facilities - didn't have the time to use the sauna so cannot comment.
Would recommend to anyone staying in Krakow as you are very central but not right on top of the square - a two minute stroll away.
Overall a Top Hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, General Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for your visit. It is a pleasure to host you and to receive so glowing opinion. We hope that you spend wonderful time in Kraków and during your next visit you will test other facilities in the warmer season. Cordially welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We get to the Hotel and our Room for 3 with extra bed was ready. The hotel looks really nice, modern, clean and really well located. The Room is modern and the bathroom really nice, the shower was great after all day walking. Breakfast is awesome, you have a buffet and you can also order anything from the Menu which is included.
The personal is really Kind and professional and the cleanning was espectacular.

As a Plus the Sauna, the Great Location and the BReakfast.

100% Recommended.

Spanish Version:
Llegamos al hotel y nuestra habitacion con cama extra ya estaba lista. El hotel es muy bonito, moderno, limpio y con una ubicacion inmejorable. La habitacion es moderna y el baño es genial, la ducha era genial despues de todo el dia caminando arriba y abajo. El desayuno es increible, tienes un buffet y ademas puedes pedir cualquier cosa de la carta ya que esta incluido.
El personal del hotel es muy amable y profesional y la limpieza de las habitaciones espectacular.

Ademas tienes Sauna, una genial localizacion y un increible desayuno.

100% Recomendable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that during your stay you enjoyed all the facilities, especially the sauna. We hope that you had a great time in Krakow despite winter temperatures outside and we invite you to visit us again during the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is great value. Modern decoarted rooms, lots of high end touches. Free internet. The location is perfect and close to the main square and train station. The staff was wonderful and extremely friendly. I would stay here over and over again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your appreciation. This is the best award for us to hear that our Guests felt with us comfortable. And please feel invited as well for your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Great location, just 2 -3 minute walk from main square. Stayed Sunday - Thursday, no problems with noise referred to in previous reviews. Hotel very clean, large room but for a 4 star would have liked a bath - there was sufficient space for one. A little disappointed with breakfast, though I guess this was due to the fact that it is a small hotel and it was not practical to have a full spread of cooked foods sitting out every morning. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel Unicus, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel. Of course, taking a bath after busy day is more relaxing than taking a shower but for such occasions we propose to try out our sauna with aromatherapy. Having breakfast you can always warm up by ordering some hot dishes that can be prepared on request. Don’t hesitate to visit us again – we cordially welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicus

Address: ul. Florianska 35 Sw. Marka 20, Krakow 31-020, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Unicus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Unicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.