We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kossak

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kossak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kossak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Fantastic hotel, very friendly staff, only a short walk to main square & castle. Hotel was very comfortable & clean. Free wifi available. Dinner in restaurant was traditional polish cuisine, which was very good & good size portions. Would highly recommend hotel & will return

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear "LB10Edinburgh",
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your positive review.
I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Kraków and our location.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in Hotel Kossak.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    189
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
84
390
20
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

As a couple visiting the hotel, we really enjoyed the attention to detail in the organisation of our stay. The hotel itself has fantastic facilities. The breakfast, the view from the terrace and the top floor restaurant are great additions. The staff are very helpful. All in all an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear "Prav23",
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us in Hotel Kossak.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit while you were with us and that you liked our great central location. I am glad that you were happy with your food and service provided.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kossak during your next visit to Kraków.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived in Krakow around 10am and our room was ready which was great. Check in was quick and easy, we had previously arranged out transfers through the hotel and our taxi was there and waiting.
We were in room 203 and after dropping our luggage in the room we went to the roof top restaurant for something to eat, food was amazing with a great view. Also great value for money.
The hotel is really close to the main square, the bus station and the castle. Walking distance for almost everywhere in Krakow.
Perfect hotel for a short stay in a lovely city.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear "janey_dGlasgow",
First and foremost let me kindly thank you for your positive review.
I am delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Kraków and our location.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon in Hotel Kossak.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed in January - during the year's only cold snap (-13c). Arrived at 10am and room was ready for us, small but functional - very warm and with good bathroom. All very clean. Unfortunately we had no view from our room but as we were out all the time, and because it was winter so the nights were long, it didn't matter. TV had BBC world news and a French news channel broadcast in English so could keep up with world events. Breakfast was buffet style but with the facility to have a couple of things cooked to order e.g. omelette etc. I think the range of foods would suit people from any country i.e. smoked fish, cold meats, salads, bacon, sausage, eggs, cereals, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, range of breads & cakes. Reception staff were helpful at advising where to visit, where to eat and making bookings. They helped us with a couple of simple Polish phrases such as hello & thank you - which goes a long way to getting good service elsewhere I think - even though almost everyone spoke English.
View from upstairs restaurant is fantastic, and you can go there just for a drink not to eat. It's a fairly short walk to Wawel Castle or a slightly longer walk to the Market Square, and slightly further to the Jewish quarter (all in slightly different directions) so can spend 3 days doing just these areas if you're quite leisurely in your approach and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear "caligirlUk",
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Kossak for your stay in Kraków and for taking the time to share your opinion with other TripAdvisor users.
I was very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is a top priority in our Hotels. We put a lot of effort into providing our guests with the highest level of services in order to ensure the comfort of their stay.

I hope that you have taken full advantage of our hotel's great location despite the cold weather. If not, please visit us in the warmer months again.
Kind Regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have just arrived back from a visit to Krakow, staying at the Kossak hotel. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel & the friendliness of all the staff. Breakfast was self service with a vast array of choices. The rooms were bigger,warmer & more well equipped than we expected e.g dressing gowns, slippers, fridge & toiletries replenished daily. Although this is a non-smoking hotel in all public rooms,the hotel has a few smoking bedrooms as well as non-smoking- so, if like us, you are a smoker. don't be put off by the companies who advertise ALL bedrooms as non-smoking. The bar area is well stocked & was very welcoming after a busy day. We enjoyed various cocktails at £3each. A bottle of house wine £10. Would recommend changing your cash in the Kantor(2 doors away ,as the rate was better than in England(5.1). I rang the hotel before we set of & they told me the going rate. All in all a very pleasant hotel to stay in with the most helpful staff you will ever come across.

Room Tip: We paid an upgrade for a room with a view of the castle & river. £50 for 3 nights extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear "nannamamma2014",
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent visit with us in Hotel Kossak.
I am very happy to be reading your kind comments, especially about our rooms, service provided, breakfast in Perheron Restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit us in Kraków,
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Kossak and I just could not fault it. From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful. They even gave us our room 3 hours early. Even our driver from the airport which the hotel arranged for us was so helpful and friendly. We had a room for 3 and it was immaculate and the maid gave us clean towels each day. The buffet breakfast was amazing what a choice to suit all tastes. The lobby bar was so warm and cosy which was what we needed as it was
-14 degrees outside. Our room was also nice and warm. No need to use the heating. I would highly recommend this hotel with the lovely views of the castle. Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear "chj041831",
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your kind words after your recent stay at Hotel Kossak.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, rooms and beds. Moreover, I do appreciate your kind comment about our helpful associates.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kossak during your next visit to Kraków.
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for five days in January 2014. Great location by the river and within easy walking distance of all the city's tourist sites. Staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was great (and great value). The only reason I've deducted a star is because for most of the week the rooftop bar was closed for renovation, shame as when we did go up there, the view was superb. I understand that these things have to be done and I guess that January is traditionally a quiet month. Won't stop us returning as we loved the city, when we come back we'll look to book in here again which is a pretty good recommendation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear "robin_dj",
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel in details.
I am glad to read that you could indeed take advantage of our central location and explore our city easily. We would like to invite you next time a new decor in the Cafe Oranżeria Restaurant which is ready to invite new quests.

Thank you for your valuable and kind comments again!
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in our Hotel soon!
With kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kossak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kossak

Address: Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#13 Family Hotel in Krakow
#16 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kossak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kossak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kossak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.