We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd happy stay at hotel kossak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kossak

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kossak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kossak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 236 hotels in Krakow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“2nd happy stay at hotel kossak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

excellent value - great location - beautiful bedrooms - fancy (but affordable) food - brilliant bar - very clean - friendly and professional staff (especially monica). this is our second stay at the same time of year - early december - one of the best city hotels in our opinion - will hope to visit again next year - maybe for christmas! only one complaint ....... no snow this year! would be great if you could arrange it for our next visit!!!!

Room Tip: any castle view room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear “Bobsourboy”,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us and other TripAdvisor readers with your detailed feedback, I am glad that you had a positive experience after choosing Kossak Hotel for a 2nd stay in Kraków.
We helpfully organize for all guests almost anything to guarantee a memorable Krakow holiday. Monika and rest of the team will be certainly happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming You again at Kossak Hotel!
Best regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    189
    30
    9
    12
See reviews for
84
390
20
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic visit to Krakow 3-7th December staying at the "Kossak Hotel". We booked this hotel for its location, very close to Wawel Castle and a 10 minute walk into Cloth Hall and the Xmas markets. We were not disappointed, our room overlooked Wawel Castle and the river. We had a room on the first floor so could see all that was going on around us. The traffic noise wasn't a problem, the bed's were very large and comfortable, the bathrooms very modern and lots of toiletries every day. This is definitely a smart boutique hotel worth its 4 stars, the staff were very professional and informative. The last evening we decided to have dinner in the main restaurant "The Orangerie" and the view over the castle was amazing. What can I say about the food, this chef is worth his weight in gold, it was absolutely fabulous from start to finish, and during dinner there was a tremendous snow storm so we made the right decision to stay in the Hotel. We would stay here again most definitely, well done to all the staff at the Kossak Hotel and thank you for making our stay in Krakow memorable.

Room Tip: We were allocated room 108 on arrival and it had an amazing view of Wawel Castle and the river. At n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear "MSimpson43",
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel in details.
I am glad to read that you could indeed take advantage of our central location and explore our city easily. I am also reading with pleasure that Oranżeria Restaurant met your expectations and you could taste all sorts of dishes and enjoy "amazing view over the castle".

Thank you for your valuable and kind comments again!
We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in our Hotel soon!
With kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived from the airport mid morning well before check in time,we asked if we could have rooms on the front as it had views of the river and Wawel Castle.Yes no problem and yes you can go up to your rooms now.Well furnished modern room,very nice bathroom, robe and slippers provided.We were met by pleasant smiling staff who spoke excellent English as our Polish is non existent.We will go back not only is the hotel well situated for sight seeing but it was excellent value .We ate in the hotel but will review that separately.

Room Tip: a room on the front gives an excellent view of the river and castle and you get to see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear „Jill M”,
Thank you for your kind review by which you can help other travelers why to choose Kossak Hotel. We are really glad that we could make your Kraków holiday memorable and you were satisfied with the location, design, and rooms. Thank you for your feedback regarding to the hotel staff, I will forward your nice words to my colleagues.
Thank you for your opinion about Percheron Restaurant, - extremely pleased to read that the food tasted. Please come back soon to Kossak, we would like to invate you to Oranżeria restaurant to try delicious dishes and enjoy the beautiful view of Wawel Hill.

All the best,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Recommended by Escape To Poland when our chosen hotel was full. Good location with all parts of the city very walkable. Good breakfasts but can get busy later and seventh floor bar has great views. Did not eat here so cannot say more on the catering. Staff very friendly, nice little bookable gym (think more high-end domestic than commercial gym equipment) but adequate with a treadmill, bike and cross trainer; sauna also a nice touch. However, no water still so be sure to take some in with you.

We had room 413 which has no real view and backs on to a distribution depot. Ideal if you like being woken up at around 7:00am daily through truck engines etc. Pick a different room if you prefer a lie in.

Beds are twins rather than doubles, maid service was faultless. We had a great stay apart from Saturday night, the hotel backs on to a club where a band was playing very loud till well past two in the morning. Not a prayer of getting any sleep through that, unless you've consumed an entire bottle of vodka and may be not even then. Can't really criticise the hotel for this, they apologised but they can't really help where they are, had we known we would have booked elsewhere. As we had an early morning Sunday flight we just gave up in the end and stayed awake all night.

Do visit Auschwitz/Birkenau if you can, a very sobering experience but very busy.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Deat "Btbonline",
First and foremost let me thank you for your kind review. I am very delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in Kossak Hotel ****.
Thank you so much for your kind review, it really gives us energy and enthusiasm for the future.
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations in some areas, but we are excited to read that you enjoy your stay.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Hotel Kossak we will try will offer you a different type of the rooms, for example I can offer rooms that have a view to Kossak square.
Best wishes,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We are very glad to have stayed at this attractive, friendly hotel. It's convenient to sightsee from here - just a couple of blocks from the Cloth Hall. We had a castle view room, which was worth it. The restaurant upstairs has a fairytale view of Castle Hill, especially pretty at night, and the dessert and drinks we had were tasty. The staff was very welcoming. The only drawback of the room with the great view was that floorspace around the foot of the bed was a little limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear "Helen S",
Thank you for your review and feedback. I am glad that we managed to deliver an experience that met your expectations, and I am pleased you enjoyed easy access to Krakow due to our central location. Thank you for the feedback about our staff and bedroom quality, I will ensure that this is passed on to them. I am glad you had an enjoyable breakfast experience.

I hope to see you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Kossak Hotel is approx. 10 mins walk from the Old Town Square and is situated overlooking the river and Wawel Castle. The hotel staff are very caring and professional. The buffet breakfast is good and plentiful. The rooms are very comfortable and have everything you could possible need. Cleaning is done daily to a very high standard. Prices in both the lobby bar and rooftop bar/restaurant are surprisingly low bearing in mind you're drinking in a 4* hotel and if you put the drinks onto your room tab they take off 10%. Example: had 2 large vodka and cokes and 2 glasses of wine = £9. Overall this is the second time we've stayed at the Kossak and would never hesitate in recommending it to others, we had an amazing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear "Clare T",
I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to host you again in our hotel this is our greatest reward.
I am very pleased to hear such a nice comments about our staff. It is always very motivating for us.

I hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again to Kossak hotel in the near future.
Should you need any assistance, do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind Regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this pleasant hotel. We e mailed the hotel and they arranged our transfer from the airport. We also agreed to upgrade our room to a superior room overlooking the castle. This was well worth the 150 pln (approx £10 a night). The rooms were spacious enough for a short stay and very clean. The bed was huge, the bathroom was fine but the shower was not very powerful. Breakfast was adequate, I would recommend ordering from the menu as this is made to order. The staff were helpful and all spoke English. You can book trips with them and the bus picks you up opposite the hotel. The roof terrace must be lovely in the summer but not so great in November!

Room Tip: A high floor overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Supervisor at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear "Singstardiva",
Thank you very much for leaving such a great comment regarding your recent stay at Hotel Kossak.
The comfort of our guests is of utmost importance to us and I am so pleased that we achieved this. I am delighted that you were satisfied with your room, as well as the hotel's location.
We do hope that we can welcome you again in the near future maybe in the summer?
Kind regards,
Dorota Opoka
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kossak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kossak

Address: Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Krakow
#10 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#16 Business Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kossak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kossak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kossak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.