We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel good interior design.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kossak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kossak to your Saves list
Hotel Kossak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland (Stare Miasto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel good interior design.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Took a taxi from the train station about €12 Taxi to the airport about €30 bus €4.
Very nice clean modern hotel with terrace restaurant on the roof.Supermarket is just around the corner.I liked it would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BeautyJ,


Thank you for your recent visit and for the glowing review!

I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit at such a high level. It sounds as if you had a truly magnificent stay and that your expectations were routinely exceeded. We work very hard to make certain that our guest's visits go perfectly. I'll make certain to share your feedback with all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    241
    36
    10
    12
See reviews for
106
472
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a weekend to attend a wedding held in the hotel. Building looked in need of a makeover when arrived but inside was very modern and nice. Room was very good, had a good view of the castle and river from it. The room was very clean including the bathroom and well serviced everyday. Hotel in a good location about 15 minutes walk to main square. The hotel has several restaurants and bars. The wedding receiption was held on the roof terace an excellent venue but required one long flight of stairs to be climbed as the lift did not go to the roof level. Food was very good in the hotel and reasonable. Staff very friendly and attentive but on two occasions was overcharged in bars and on checking out was also overcharged. The mistakes were sorted very quickly, but one needs to be carefull. On the return flight home several stories arose about overcharging in the hotel.Would return to hotel. Overall an excellent weekend.

Room Tip: Get a castle and river view, quite on this side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear julietooze123,


Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Kossak Hotel.

It is a pleasure to read your very detailed and candid review of your recent visit in Cracow. I was extremely pleased to read that you considered us to be an excellent destination choice for a stay! It is really nice to hear that you were happy with the rooms.

I fully appreciate your kind words regarding the hotel’s location, amenities and facilities and service you have received from our team members.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Kossak and once again thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Castle and a relatively short walk to the Old Town. This has the advantage that it is away from the crowds and tends to be quieter. The hotel has all the mod cons you would expect from a 4star hotel, including a very efficient wifi and an excellent restaurant. The rooms are OK in size and the bathrooms are very spacious.
Breakfast is excellent as there is a very wide choice of both continental or cooked items. The restaurant on the top floor has majestic views of the castle and the river and its food is excellent. The prices are a little bit higher than most good restaurants in Krakow but the views compensate for it. The waiters are truly excellent and they are very helpful with the food choices you might want to make, Some of the food includes Polish specialities

There are some issues with the hotel maintenance, despite the fact that the hotel is rather recent. Our room had a water stain by the window - this did not worry us however.
The main deficiency of the hotel is its reception staff. The reception is poorly manned for a hotel of its size. We waited for almost half an hour to be checked in; there were a couple of people in the queue before us and the receptionist felt obliged to answer all the incoming calls; this made the process very protracted. When we were served she did not make any suggestions about where the different facilities of the hotel were etc. All in all a very deficient service.
This is a good choice of hotel, away from the usual tourist traps but needs ti tarin its reception staff better.

Room Tip: Have a dinner at the rooftop restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Scotscouple99,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Hotel Kossak.
As we are located right in the heart of Old Town, we want our guests to experience all of the Krakow has to offer.
I am glad that we impressed you and you found our breakfast facilities as a perfect and our restaurant on the top floor as a great one. I truly apologize for the issues you experienced with our front staff manners. I am really sorry that you found them poorly manned. I assure that we strive to deliver 100% satisfaction therefore it is more that sad for me to hear such comments.
I look forward to welcoming you back should you choose to vacation in Krakow again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a stay with Hotel Kossak, but when we arrived (after a hot walk through the city) we were told that they were overbooked and that we had been moved to another hotel. They claimed to have tried to contact us, but had no contact information (strange, as we booked through hotels.com, which has all my contact info).

We were given another room at a nearby hotel and offered a taxi for the 100 meters there, but no futher compensation.

The replacement was adequate, but the situation seemed unprofessional on their part and stressful for us.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear jhannes,

Thank you for your review. I would like to sincerely apologise for your recent experience at Hotel Kossak . I completely agree that the treatment you received was unacceptable. It is most certainly not our policy to deliberately moved our guests to the other hotel. It is always our intention to deliver exceptional customer service which is reflected in the vast majority of comments made by our customers. I am really sorry that you found the alternative hotel not good enough.

Anyway, once again my sincere apologies.

Kind Regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently for six nights. This hotel has an excellent location, near the river and the castle and also within 10/15 mins walk of the Square.
The room we had was not large, but perfectly adequate with fantastic views of the castle/river. The bed was particularly large & comfortable!
The breakfast was fantastic with excellent quality and variety. It meant we didn't have to worry too much about food in the day. The staff were excellent booking trips for us to the Salt Mine and to Auschwitz. When it rained they were on hand to provide us with umbrellas.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DavidKaren23,

Thank you so much for the time and energy you spent to share this information about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy you stayed with us and were pleased with the accommodations and the service you received. We are reminded every day that our guests have numerous options in the Kossak Hotel area and we appreciate your recommendations.

The hotel does indeed benefit from a fantastic location as it is in walking distance to Main Square, Jewish District and also Wawel Royal Castle.

Please consider this a warm welcome to return again.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Let me start by saying I am always apprehensive when I arrive at a hotel as you don't always get what you expect or what you have paid for...In this instance it was a pleasant surprise, from the outside it looks a little shabby to say the least with a ramshackle fast food place near the entrance however; on entering the hotel thinks get a lot better, the staff are very friendly and informative, we got exactly what we expected (4 Star accommodation) what more could you ask...
(You must) visit the rooftop restaurant it is fantastic, the food is fantastic and very cheap in comparison with the UK, in fact this is the best place we ate on the 4 day weekend - by far..The rooftop restaurant has brilliant views over Krakow and you wont be disappointed with the city overall - that is unless you are very very picky..
Highly recommend Hotel Kossak which will be much cheaper than it's rivals if you book well in advance on the hotel comparison websites (will go again to Krakow and will definitely use their restaurant again....

Room Tip: Book a higher floor room overlooking the river (superior room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear adieoldham,

Thank you so much for your comments. I am personally grateful to be surrounded by such a great staff that takes pride in providing quality service to our guests. We understand you have many choices Cracow, but we hope that our warm inviting staff and atmosphere provides comfort in ones choice to stay with us. I can not thank you enough for your valuable tips for us.

We hope your future travels take you back to Cracow as we would love to opportunity to once again host you.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room was nice as was bath/shower room. Good location. Well placed for walking to central square. Nice views over the river and dining in the rooftop restaurant was excellent. very reasonably priced for what it was. Would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OstiHotele, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kossak, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MEM184,


Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're thrilled to hear what a great experience you had as that is exactly what we aim to be for all our guests. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the hotel’s amenities Our entire staff loves what we do, and we’re so happy that it shows.

We wish you a wonderful summer and would be honored to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Magdalena Sendorek
front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Sheraton Krakow Hotel
#23 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Stare Miasto
Hotel Senacki
Hotel Senacki
#10 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Miasto
Radisson Blu Hotel Krakow
Kleparz
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#17 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kossak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kossak

Address: Plac Kossaka 1, Krakow 30-106, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Krakow
#5 Family Hotel in Krakow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Krakow
#12 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kossak 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kossak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kossak Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kossak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.