We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Krakow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krakow Bike Tour

Krakow Bike Tour
Grodzka 2 (courtyard), Krakow 31-006, Poland
+48510394657
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 202 Activities in Krakow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our tour in numbers is: over 100 beautiful scenic photo oportunities, 30 min refreshments brake in the middle to ask any stupid question you may think of and make new friends, 25 stops to cover the most important parts of the Old Town, Jewish Quarter and the II World War Ghetto area. Approx 12 km of easy relaxed pace cycling on bike paths, 4 hours of exciting sightseeing, 5 tons of laugh and fun, 2 wheels of a modern bike with a comfy saddle and No 1 fun activity in Krakow. Squeeze the juice out of your stay and add yourself to our daily coctail of guided entertainment! All ages are welcome as this tour is a piece of cake for anyone. If you cycle - we cycle – rain, sun, snow (rarely). For your comfort the maximum group size is 25 pax and we provide 'safe cyclist' insurance package. Reservations are recommended.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best way to see Krakow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Our family thoroughly enjoyed riding around the city, along the river and through the cobblestone streets of old Krakow. The tour guide Anka was very patient with our questions, knowledgeable and spoke good English. Definitely recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    45
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good way to see the city but bring a snack with you.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We did the bike tour as a family of 7 adults and two children (12 and 10). Another couple were on the tour with us. A slight hiccup before we started as the tour guide had lost his voice and our tour guide Greg was drafted in at last minute and delayed the start of the tour by 1 hour.

Greg was a Polish but english speaking guide and was very knowledgable about krakow. He was a little difficult to understand at times but we did get the gist of things.

The bikes- were comfortable and all given names which caused much hilarity when my dad rode "dirty boy" and my daughter was " glam girl". One bike had a malfunction which delayed us by~ 15 mins.

The tour took in all the major and less major sites and was accompanied by Greg's little anecdotes. We rode about 8 flat miles and felt v safe. We weren't given helmets but I did take some for the children. The route ( minus a bit when I forgot to switch my garmin on is seen below)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/239223425

Lunch- we stopped where some of schindlers list was filmed and assumed it was a lunch stop so delayed the tour by ordering food when we should have just had a drink. It was not a good restaurant. The tour should include a 20-30 min snack stop somewhere where people can get a sandwich. The children needed fed. Thankfully Greg was very good about it all as were the couple on the tour and we continued the tour finishing an hour late.

We took in all the major sites. The guide was lovely and the bikes were ok. Sometimes we did have difficulty understanding the guide especially the children. It was a great way to see the city. Thanks Greg!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Krakow Bike Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent tour. A good introduction to Krakow as you see far more in 4 hours than you would on foot; you can always go back to the places that you would like to spend more time at. The cycling is very easy so you can do even if you haven't cycled for a long time or have a hangover. Good value for money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We tried the 4 hour tour of Krakow by bike, which included a break for lunch. I hadn't been on a bicycle in 25 years, but it was fun - big comfy bikes, safe route, and fanstasic things to see. Our guide, Sylvia, was absolutely great - enthusiastic with excellent knowledge of history and the sites, and terrific recommendations for follow-on activities. Her timing was also excellent, we arrived at the University just in time to see the history hourly clock and watched other tour groups arrive minutes too late. The bike tour was a super way to visit areas outside the Old Town where our hotel was, all the way to the Schindler factory and museum. We would have missed so much if we had used a guide book.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for bike hire but a questionable tour guide!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Exploring Krakow by bicycle is a great idea and I would recommend to anyone. The city is very cycle friendly and we managed to see most of Krakow in the 4 hour tour. If I were to visit again though I would probably just hire the bikes and explore myself with the assistance of a Lonely Planet guide or something similar.

The tour guide we had, who's name now escapes me (Friday 5th October - AM tour) was clearly very enthusiastic and knowledgeable but unfortunately the delivery of his knowledge was let down by his English which was at times not great (but 100% better than my Polish so perhaps I shouldn’t complain!)

We did however encounter some other minor issues with the tour, for example; the guide led the whole group the wrong way down a 'one way' street and got a telling off from the police which led me to question his experience! He also struggled to keep the group together and often led off at a pace that most riders in the Tour de France would be happy with. The whole tour just felt slightly disorganised as if the guide didn't really have a clear plan or route set out which to me let down the experience. We did not (as other reviews have mentioned) stop for Lunch/bathroom breaks would would have been nice! In the guides defence though he did mention it was his wedding the next day so could probably be forgiven for not 100% having his mind on the job. Any other day, perhaps with a different guide may have resulted in a different experience.

Overall I would recommend the company and the hiring of the bikes, it just seems like the quality of the guided tours may be a bit hit and miss as to which guide you get!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krakow Bike Tour also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Krakow Bike Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krakow Bike Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.