We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maximum Style, Moderate Substance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gessler we Francuskim

Gessler we Francuskim
ul. Pijarska 13, Krakow 31-015, Poland (Stare Miasto)
+48 12 627 37 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #312 of 886 Restaurants in Krakow
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Miasto
Description: We are one of the flagship restaurants in the portfolio of Adam Gessler - one of the most prominent Polish restaurateurs, owner of great Polish restaurants in Warsaw and London. We serve fine Polish cuisine, based on traditional recipes, prepared meticulously by our expert chefs, who also serve our guests directly. We have an uncompromising approach to quality of our food, which has been recognised by Guide Michelin by awarding our Warsaw establishment the Bib Gourmand status for two years running. Our restaurant is located 300m from the Main Square, and open for business between 12pm until the last guest leaves. We cater for large parties and private functions, and serve a very budget 'espresso lunch' on weekdays for 5 Eur (3 courses).
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Maximum Style, Moderate Substance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Traditional food with a creative twist. Mutton and beef tongue both excellent, decor minimal, staff attentive and tableside service offers wonderful theatrics - order the steak tartare for a masterclass in knife skills!

Only criticism would be that the prices don't quite match up with the quality - the food is great but it seems you pay for the style of the place than the food itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Espresso Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely service, lovely posh setting, food is served with style and was really tasty too ...all for 5 euros per person..best deal in Krakow

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting with fantastic food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Came here firstly for lunch based on our hosts' recommendation. We didn't have it but there is a great value 20zl express lunch menu that looking delicious and certainly very filling! It's beautifully decorated with a very glamorous ambience- there was a pianist both times we visited. Service was very proficient silver service.

We returned here for dinner one evening and again weren't disappointed. A lot of the food is prepared right next to your table from wooden trolleys with hobs (my duck stuffed with apples was carved right next to me with the apples cooked right next to me and served straight from the pan). A bit more expensive than other restaurants we visited but still good value for the quality of the food and the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Classy Dining for Pennies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Eating lunch at the Francuski (French) Hotel restaurant is a trip back in time. White linens, old china and antique silverware make a great first impression. Now just add the impeccably mannered waiters to the ritual of serving each part of the meal in style (the soup is served from the soup tureen, the main course arrives on the cart and is heated at the table) and you got one perfect meal. Oh, wait! There is food to talk about. The lunch menu is set and changes every day.
The soup is followed by the main course (meat with two side dishes) and a dessert made by the actual French pastry chef. The drink is fruit compote. We had lunch at the Francuski Hotel three times. It was delicious each time, and the price is hard to beat- 20 zlotych (less than 8 US dollars) per person. My husband and I are looking forward to going back to Cracow. Hopefully, the amazing lunch at the Francuski Hotel will be still there....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One word: fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed at the hotel upstairs and took a punt at the lunch at the restaurant, which is something I rarely do. After all hotel food is typically a synonym for culinary plague. I could not believe how tasty the food was, not to mention prices, which made me wonder whether this is in fact a charitable organisation rather than a business. A three-course lunch was spot on, at every step of the way. I returned for an a la carte dinner and that was even better. The service is indeed complex but very attentive and feeling comfortably old school. Easily one of the best places I've been to in Eastern Europe, it beggars belief that it is not more widely trumpeted on the internet, and instead visitors to Krakow settle for the over-priced and underwhelming tourist fares around the Old Town Square.

Five stars and a wholehearted recommendation, particularly to those who want to sample genuine, traditional, meticulously prepared Southern Polish food.

Thumbs up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gessler we Francuskim also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Gessler we Francuskim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gessler we Francuskim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.