We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Especially For The Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benefis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Benefis to your Saves list
Benefis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Barska 2, Krakow 30-307, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 247 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Especially For The Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Situated a little way from the very centre of Krakow, just over a bridge and right opposite the castle, this hotel was a clean, comfortable, quiet retreat, with spacious rooms. For the price we couldn't have asked for better. Still quite conveniently located, the main square was perhaps only a gentle 20 minute walk away, whilst a quick 5 minute stroll over the bridge took you to the car park near the Sheraton hotel, where many of the tour buses to places like Wieliczka and Auschwitz gather after collecting from the other hotels, before heading off to their respective destinations. A short walk in the opposite direction takes you across another bridge towards Kazimierz, the old Jewish quarter. In the basement of the hotel was a nice little breakfast room, where there was a decent, if not massive, choice for breakfast - enough for us anyway. Our room itself was comfortable and fairly sizeable, with a separate lounge area. Bathroom was very nice with a good shower. The whole place appeared quite new and in very good condition. Reception staff were very helpful with directions .etc. The only thing that some might consider a downside is a lack of an evening restaurant, nor did there appear to be one in the immediate vicinity, which was a quiet back street area. However, we normally like to eat out anyway, and found plenty of good restaurants within a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    71
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
105
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a find. A small 3* hotel which, like a tardis, seemed much bigger inside. We were in room 32 & our friends in 33, either side of the lift .What a big bedroom with a balcony and a view of a small part of the castle over the rooftops.Comfortable twin beds, a couch converting to another bed, a coffee table and chairs,TV and a dressing table.Complimentary bottled water was provided and replaced each day.Another room between the bedroom and bathroom contained a large wardrobe and ample drawers.There was a large modern bathroom with shower.
Reception staff were first class offering a street map and local guide book on arrival without having to be asked. They cheerfully booked restaurants and taxis for us.
What are the negatives? The room had no tea or coffee making facilities and no fridge.There was no adjustable air conditioning. We slept with the balcony door open each night during mid October. It's 10-15 minutes easy walk to the old town but we never paid more than £3 including tip for a taxi to or from the square or restaurants.
When we go back to Krakow we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed 14th October for trip to concentration camps and to see Krakow.
We were welcomed by friendly staff who spoke good english. They were all very helpful with what we needed to know about the city.The hotel from the outside looks like any other building, but go through the wooden front door and see for yourself how modern it is.
The rooms were large and very clean with huge bathrooms, indeed the whole hotel was very clean.
Nice small bar that opens in the evening. The continental breakfast was all fresh and a good choice. The hotel is approx 20 mins walk to the city accross the river, so nice and quiet.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sept 2012 4 nights here. A decent, simple, clean hotel. Sheets/towels changed daily. A good selection at breakfast although some of it not necessarily what we would eat in UK, but hey we were in Poland! Most people will find enough to eat here tho.
If you get a room from 3rd floor up you could get a view of the castle, if you re on the correct side. I just asked when I booked if we could have that view and we got it.
Rooms are a very good size, beds comfy. We didnt have a fridge or kettle in room, not that we needed it, but im sure if we asked they would have obliged as the reception staff always seemed helpful. If the TV is important to you then there are 2 English channels, Bloomberg and France 24 (yes France 24 in English!), and a couple of German stations.
Bathroom was also excellent. Great shower and of good size.
As many on here have already mentioned, the location is not perfect, but to be honest its not a bad walk over the river into the old town. The only bit I didnt like was the subway as the road near hotel is too busy to cross, unless you walk quite a way down Krasinskiego. Having said that we encountered no problems and seemed enough people using it.
So all in all I think this place deserves 4 stars for the value for money and the size of rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors may get view of Wawel castle if you re on the correct side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Travelled from UK on easyjet. Booked a standard studio room with travel republic. Had room 25 which was on the second floor facing the road. You basically get 2 rooms - 1 for the bedroom, 1 living room with chairs, table, settee, tv, tea and coffee facilities and fridge. Bathroom had a shower which was really lovely and powerful, also hairdryer in the bathroom. No air con. 3 large windows open out onto the road ( more like a little square). There is a small grocery shop next door. It was great to look out in the mornings and see people going about there business. We could see a small digital shop sign which switched on at 9.00am every morning and displayed the temperature which was really handy. Breakfast was great and a real experience of polish strange breakfast. Tip - if you like coffee in your room take some extra as you only get 2 sachets per day, when we asked for more I don't think they understood and directed us to the restaurant to buy a coffee. Complementary bottled water daily, beds made daily. There is a safe to use in the reception - just ask. Would not say it was especially quiet - used ear plugs though which were fine. You get some noise from the square and people next door and above you but no more than any other hotel room. Hotel is a good location but you will need to walk over the river (which is large) to start with which is 10 min walk. The trams were baffling to start with so walked into the old town which is the main tourist part which can be done if you don't mind a walk.
Will go again, had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This little hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but really quite good and what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Where this place shines however is the staff. All the staff that i dealt with were exceptional. All spoke very good English and one in particular went out of her way to make my stay in Krakow as wonderful as it turned out to be, even helping me repair my visa card which had had an unfortunate accident. Not all rooms have air conditioning, nor do they all have a fridge which was a bit weird but even then the receptionist sent a bucket of ice to my room to keep the beers cold, even offering to put some beers in her fridge for me. Bit of a walk to the old town square but i didn't find this a problem. No complaints with the breakfast either and was supplied a lunch pack to take with me because i left early on check out. Overall, a tidy, quaint little 3 star hotel with amazing 5 star staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I chose this hotel based on tripadvisor comments. The only negative seemed to be the walk from hotel to city centre, so I went for it knowing there was a bit of walking to be done.
Good location just across the river from the central area. Could be a bit of a challenge crossing the main road (particularly at rush hour), but just need to use the subway.
Reception - helpful & friendly. Rooms - high standard, large, clean + excellent shower. Breakfast - very adequate. Very happy with selection - enjoyed the walking (especially after meals in the center or Jewish quarter!). However, worth being aware of the walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benefis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benefis

Address: ul. Barska 2, Krakow 30-307, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#38 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benefis 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benefis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benefis Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benefis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.