We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CITY BREAK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benefis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Benefis to your Saves list
Benefis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Barska 2, Krakow 30-307, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 248 Hotels in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CITY BREAK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Recently visited Krakow in Poland on a three night stay as a treat for my wifes 50th birthday. We stayed at the hotel Benefis which is situated across the river from the Wawel Castle but only takes 10 minutes to reach the main square.The hotel is small but very clean and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is also worth mentioning that if you like walking then you can walk for miles in either direction along both side of the river. It was very rewarding walking from the hotel along the river to visit the Schindler factory museum. After the visit we took a tour of the Jewish quarter and Ghetto in a large golf buggy and the driver was very helpful and informative with a wealth of knowledge about the city of Krakow but in particular the jewish area with plenty of camera stops relating to places where the film Schindler's List was filmed.
The stay would not have been complete if we had not taken the excursion to Auschwitz and Birkeneau which were the two main concentration camps where over a million jews perished. It was very sad and sombre during the whole of the three hour tour but we cannot emphasize how important we believe that everyone who visits Krakow should go to see these camps to understand what those poor people went through.
Overall Krakow is a beautiful city with plenty of good restaurants (Pod Walalem and Yummies just to mention a couple) that we ate in and the food and drink were of very good quality and value.
We definitely want to go back to see places that we did not have enough time to see on this occasion such as Wawel Castle itself and the salt mines of Zakopane.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44 which is on the top floor and looks across to Wawel Castle.Verl large and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    74
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
108
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights i May. Got great, clean, big rooms with good bed and a nice bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very good, and the service impeccable. Very friendly place to stay. And very clean. Free internet in the room is a very good service.
The hotel is only about 10-15 minutes walk from Old town, two minutes to the bus-stop and five to the Tramp. Definitly a place to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francphile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed at the Benefis for a couple of nights in May
Friendly, helpful girls on reception.
Great sized rooms, including the bathroom, which strangely lacked a bath, although the shower was fine. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.
Light sleepers might not like the bells that rang through the night,but this was a minor negative, there was no street noise.
Breakfast was ample, with Polish and international food to choose from, taken in a very pleasant room
We were lucky to have a recommendation for the Pod Baranem restaurant, close to the castle.
Excellent food and service – and so cheap, like almost everything in Krakow

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Returned 15th May from Krakow. Had the most amazing time as the people, place, hotel & food were great.Spent 8 nights at Benefis hotel. The reception girls were the best we have encountered & my husband & i travel extensively. They were so friendly, helpful & nothing we asked for was too much trouble. The hotel is slightly difficult to find at first but people go out of their way to help you. We felt very safe even though the walk from the centre took about 15 mins. Try & avoid the underpass at night. Our hotel room was on the 4th floor. Wouldnt recommend it as the skylight window keeps you awake from 5 am .They do not have a night blind shutter. They promised to rectify it. The view of the castle from that room isnt amazing. The trams can be got from behind the hotel & buses from the front which is so convenient. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely go back there. Must visit salt mines, Aushtwitz & Zakopane (take cable car to the top not funicular). Also the free walking tours at 11am of the city & 3pm of the Jewish quarter was worth it. Ask the reception for names of places to dine. They were all well recommended. Shop around for money changers as they vary so much.Dont believe the advertised rates.Some are the spread not the actual rate.The best ones were before you reached the centre.Its a wonderful place for young people. Full of life on friday & Saturday.Dont waste money on tours. Go on your own to salt mines & Aushtwitz if you have time & take tours from there but get bus times correct. Reception will give you all details.

Room Tip: Choose any room but the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here last year on a four day break. Loved the city and especially this small hotel which is in a safe residential area within easy walking distance of the main square. Our room was like a suite and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we always started with the lovely fresh fruit salad. In the evening this became the bar area and the young barman was very informative about the different vodkas on offer. It was a pity that more people did not seem to use this facility.
The reception staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful. If we were returning to Krakow we would definitely stay at the Benefis again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Arriving at the front door of the Benefis in early evening, I was not confident of what I was about to enter, as the first impression is not terribly positive and the neighborhood was dark with somewhat narrow streets.

BUT entering the property and all those concerns began to evaporate. We were greeted in impeccable English, and were switched from their random assignment of room 23 up to room 44, which like 43 noted by others previously, has a nice balcony and view of the castle!

The interior of the property is modern, very well-furnished, and superbly maintained. Our room was very spacious, had AC, which was not needed for our stay and even a skylight. The bathroom was beautifully equipped, even with a small plant near the sink. The shower with a rainfall handle spray was roomy with plenty of ready hot water and nice towels.

The basement breakfast room offers a wide choice of cold and hot options to jump start your day, and we particularly enjoyed the fried eggs and sausages along with the wide choice of breads.

The only small negative is that this property is a bit of a walk from the tourist center Old Town, but we needed that exercise after eating so much at the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for either room 43 or 44, more quiet and view of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Benefis for five days at the end of March. It is a wonderful hotel with an attentive staff, large rooms and an enormous breakfast selection. This is a new hotel where care has been taken to provide a restful accommodation after a day of exploring the city and its wonderful museums. Don't miss the Underground or Schindler's. The staff will provide all the help you need to make your visit memorable.

Quiet location half way between Wawel Castle and Old Town. Three minutes to a bus stop, five to a tram or a leisurely fifteen minutes to the Square in Old Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krakow hotels
Kazimierz
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#9 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Zamkowa 15 Apartments
#7 of 248 in Krakow
5.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Venetian House Aparthotel
#15 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kleparz
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#17 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Kazimierz
The Secret Garden Hostel
The Secret Garden Hostel
#42 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Kazimierz
Queen Boutique Hotel
Queen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 248 in Krakow
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benefis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benefis

Address: ul. Barska 2, Krakow 30-307, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
#41 Family Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benefis 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Benefis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benefis Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benefis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.