We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time at Tournet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tournet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tournet to your Saves list
Tournet
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Miodowa 7, Krakow 31 055, Poland (Kazimierz)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 242 Hotels in Krakow
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Second time at Tournet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

For the second time in 4 years i stayed at Hotel Tournet. This time I took one of the bigger rooms instead of one the basic ones as it was only an extra 5 or so Euro per night. The size of the room was at least double that of the basic with two narrow single beds, a more spacious bathroom, and plenty of room for storage and moving about in.

Breakfast no longer is picked up in a brown paper bag at reception. They now have a proper breakfast room in the basement with a decent variety of meats, cheese, scrambled egg, cereal, bread, etc, but like all the hotels I stayed in in the region, including much more expensive ones, poor quality orange juice.

There is a lot of work going on at the Tournet as they are putting in a lift. The drilling began around 8am but I'm sure that is just temporary.

In the bathroom I found that the water blasted out of the sink tap and shower or did not come out at all. It took some time to get it to come out gradually. My bathroom sink was blocked up but was fixed promptly on request.

The staff are very friendly, helpful, and fluent in English.

The room also had a radiator that provided plenty of heat, a small table and chair, a small TV with BBC World, and there was plenty of cutlery (and I believe a kettle).

Needless to say the location is still great with plenty of shops, restaurants, and public transportation nearby.

Another reviewer mentioned poor Wifi strength in some rooms. I was on about the third floor yet at no time did I have any connecting problems.

One minor issue was that the automatic lights that were supposed to come on in the dark stairways didn't work very well. I made a point of carrying a small flashlight when I left the room at night.

For less than 30 Euro per night (in March) Hotel Tournet is a still a very good budget option. It'll be my choice next visit to Krakow.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
46
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

this hotel has probably the most friendly staff iv ever met, happy to talk and help with anything. The rooms are large and comfortable. No issues with the internet connection. You have the option to decline room cleaning service which is very positive for me , as i like to have my stuff everywhere in the room and not worry about the cleaner when im away.
Location is very central, close the main square and you can explore krakow with ease.
The breakfast was good, it even has a selection of cakes!

the only negative is the toilet as the way it is positioned makes it uncomfortable to use it.

Room Tip: all rooms have at least 3 beds inside them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Paid about £22 a night for a single which turned out to be a very large room with 3 beds in. Was at the front of the building which might not be so good in summer with the windows open but in November was quiet enough. Liked the fact that they only cleaned up the room if requested. Meant that in my 5 night stay had the place to myself without having to worry about it looked as I left it each morning. Felt like home! Breakfasts are very good. Fresh Polish bread, cucumber, tomatoes and boiled or scrambled eggs. For me, the perfect breakfast. Location means a 15 minute walk from old town square. Did not get a tram once as everything is in walking distance. Very pleasant and helpful reception desk. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b,ham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a excellent place to stay we had the pink room no 3 rooms are large and bed comfy pillows were not very good so asked for extras room cleaned on a ask for basis which we did not bother but did ask to have towels changed which was no problem. Shower and bath were fine but only enought hot water to half fill the bath . Room got a bit chilly of a night an tried to turn radiator on but did not seem to work but was no serious problem . Breakfast was good rolls of cheese and ham with cereals tea coffee and 3 hard boiled eggs Also scrambled and some kind of sausage which we did not try. Bread and toast as well . The only down side was no tea making facilities in the room . You had a kettle water an cups but no tea bags milk or suger . The temp outside was 22 degrees late October so buying milk was a waste of time as it would go off . A small fridge would be of use . We hired a car from the airport which we parked outside the tournet it was free from 8.00 pm till 10.00 am then 10.60 zloty for 3 hours and the longer you parked the more it cost as one hour was only 3 zloty . You have to pay virtually every were in krakow and you park on part road an part foot paths as well . Good area as well 15 min walk to main square but turn right out of door far better bars cafés and restersaunt s this way not impressed with main square to commercial . If you want to see the real krakow them go down the little side streets there are some great bars and places to eat brimming with atmosphere with good food and beer at stupid prices 10 zloty for a large beer and a 200 ml schweeps tonic water that's about £2.00

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a modest little hotel in the lively Kazimierz district of Krakow. More like a French "pension" than a conventional hotel. All that was missing was a nosey "consierge"!

Likes: Good-sized, simply furnished rooms (with widescreen TV) supplied with crockery, cutlery and kettle. Piping hot water in bathroom (at all hours). Very friendly, youthful staff (one of them even carried our suitcase up a flight of stairs for us). Two small restaurants attached - a Chinese/Vietnamese one ("Dong-A") and a Polish one ("Black Cauldron"). Generous portions, excellent prices and wide menu selections in both. Buffet breakfast included. Lovely courtyard at rear for smokers and for dining al-fresco. We were given our own front door key (real keys too, not nasty keycards!) so didn't have to wait for any night porters! Free Wi-Fi. City Tax was included in overall price so didn't have to break any notes.

Dislikes: No fridge in room or any tea/coffee (but staff did supply these upon request). Breakfast buffet was limited and serving area was really cramped. No English language channels on TV. No lift/elevator. Rooms were only serviced "upon request". Only one handtowel and two bathtowels provided for 7 night stay.

However, at £20 per person per night, it probably works out cheaper than some hostels!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A nice and tidy little hotel in a quiet street but close to everything, The room was clean and tidy ,the staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English .The restaurant served a very nice buffet breakfast with plenty of choice, The menu for evening meals was also very acceptable and prices were very reasonable, Free internet access was great . Set in the Jewish quarter there is so much to see in all directions from the old town to the ghetto and Schindler's factory all within 15 minutes walk, Local bars are great with a pint of Polish or Czech beer from as little as 4PLN (80p) The hotel can also arrange Airport transfers at 60PLN for the cab . For a city break to Krakow with no frills but very comfortable accommodation it would be hard to do better than Tournet. We were there for four nights from 25 to 29 September and paid £ 32 per night for both of us which we thought was great value.

Room Tip: No lift so lower floor may be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for four nights 16-20 September. Great location in Kazmieriz. Tram is within walking distance but you can't hear it. Loads of bars nearby. Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them. Always a smile at reception and from the breakfast lady. There is kettle, delph and cutlery in the room but you will need to bring t-bags and coffee (there is a shop close by). they will clean the room if you require but you need to ask them, which I prefer as hate the knock on the door in the morning. There is no lift but the stairs are wide and not steep, however I didn't have to climb too many as I requested a first floor room. I stayed in the red room which was good with a good size bathroom and very clean. there is no safe but they have one in the office and will mind your valuables for you. I would definitely stay here again. they can organise pick up from the airport and any day trips you require.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you feel you can't climb too many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tournet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tournet

Address: Miodowa 7, Krakow 31 055, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Lesser Poland Province > Krakow > Kazimierz , Stare Miasto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Krakow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tournet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tournet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tournet Hotel Krakow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tournet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.