We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish Museum and Synagogue Auschwitz

Jewish Museum and Synagogue Auschwitz
Plac Ksiedza Jana Skarbka 5, Oswiecim 32-600, Poland
+48 33 844 7002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Oswiecim
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chevra Lomdei Mishnayot: the only synagogue to survive the Holocaust in the vicinity of Auschwitz. Today part of the Auschwitz Jewish Center.
Evian
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

The whole of the Jewish area in Cracow is extremely interesting and should be visited, including the old Synagogue with it's ancient cemetary, as well as the new cemetary and the old Getto [no part of which really remains]. Recommended

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

When I was younget I watched the documentaries and movies, I never thought I would visit this place,.My husband's family are Germans some have been in this camp. Everyone should spend some time walking around the camp, going inside the dorms and seeing the rows and rows of faces of people who were tortured and died. Standing inside the chambersvwas surreal.We should never never forget.A frightening sad sad place but something I'm glad I did

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting Peice of History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I visited this museum prior to visiting Auschwitz during a business trip to Krakow. Not very expensive, but not a whole lot to look at. Still, a nice synagogue and museum to visit, especially if you are Jewish.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

A true account of the horrors people went through during the Second World War. The tour is presented in a very tasteful way honoring those that died.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Life is Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The deep, quiet energy of the place is palpable. People walk through with reverence, and you can feel the loss, the suffering, the surreal experience. We had a wonderful and informative tour guide. When the tour was over, and I walked over to the "Exit" sign... pulled open that gate, and just walked out - just walked out! I was reminded of my freedom, of the joy that is in my life. I pray I think of this moment, this day, when I question the quality of my life, or my value in it, or whatever it is I am suffering through. We are blessed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish Museum and Synagogue Auschwitz also viewed

 
Katowice, Silesia Province
 

Been to Jewish Museum and Synagogue Auschwitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish Museum and Synagogue Auschwitz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.