We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of gorgeous walks to be had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bialowieza Forest

Bialowieza Forest
Bialowieza, Poland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Bialowieza
Type: Forests
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lots of gorgeous walks to be had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the area in autumn so we were treated to some great autumn colours on the trees. Strolling in the managed part of the forest was fantastic, gorgeous trails for either walking or cycling. The area is pretty flat so it is very easy walking and cycling.

We were there in late October so most of the bird life was gone by the time we were there. We saw plenty of track of bisons but weren't lucky enough to see them in the wild.

It was the end of mushroom season and managed to get a good amount. Luckily, a Polish friend of ours was with us and she could point out the good ones. NOTE: make sure you know what you are doing when picking mushrooms. You can get very sick if you select the wrong ones. Locals also sell wild mushrooms, so that is also a good option.

We based ourselves in the town of Bialowieza and found that it was very central, plenty of food to pick from and lots of accommodation.

The National Park buildings are also worth a visit as is a guided walk in the national park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    6
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pristine landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I did “The Heart of the Forest” trip offered by PTTK back in July 2010. This was a once in a lifetime event for us. Our very early morning hike was a fourteen-mile stretch of the protected area within Białowieża National Forest in Eastern Poland. Our tour guide was excellent and was able to converse with us in English. The end of our hike was met by a lesser spotted eagle soaring above us - simply amazing! The biosphere was unlike any other I've seen and one is truly humbled by the age and history of the area. It's a very rare gem indeed. After coming back to the States, I purchased a copy of the book "Nature Guide to the Bialowieza Primeval Forest - Poland" (Crossbill Guides). This is a fantastic companion piece if visiting the region. This was one of the main highlights of our trip to Poland.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Excellent, beautiful, clean. Lots of ancient trees. Would like UNESCO to expand the protection area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Rent a bike, get a map and plan at least 5 hours of extraordinary scenery... fantastic!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knotting
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't bother..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Took a 3 hour guided trip. The guide was more interested in talking about the trees, rather than showing us the birds which was our primary aim or this trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bialowieza Forest also viewed

 
Bialowieza, Podlaskie Province
Bialowieza, Podlaskie Province
 

Been to Bialowieza Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bialowieza Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bialowieza Forest to your Saves list