We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bialowieski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Bialowieski to your Saves list
Hotel Bialowieski
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Waszkiewicza 218 B, Bialowieza 17-230, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bialowieza
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

There are few choices in this town, and none can be worse than this. We booked a luxury room for a hotel that supposedly has a garden and told us we could have a barbecue on their grounds. By Polish standards, rooms are rather expensive, but the money is certainly not spent on upkeep. The whole place is dodgy and mouldy, the beds are as comfortable as a layer of bricks and the curtains do nothing to keep the light out. The bathrooms are big but completely impractical, with no shelf whatsoever.

As to food - just smelling what comes from the restaurant stopped us from trying it out. There are far better options around.

The biggest problems though are the staff attitude and the way they charge for everything, as noted by others on the forum.

If someone happens to be at reception when you pass, even if you take the initiative to greet them, do not expect a response. They will, however, not fail to charge for whatever they can. Parking on the hotel grounds in this rather remote place incurs a fee of 25 zloty - about 6 Euros - per night. If you care to read the Polish information in the room, you will find that you cannot have any of your own food or drinks in the room, only those from reception. Did anyone miss the fact that the Berlin Wall came down 20 years ago?

When we tried to have our barbecue on the hotel grounds, as explicitly communicated with reception before, all of a sudden someone turned up to spoil the fun - first implying that we cannot do this, then, when confronted with the approval e-mail, insisting that we must pay a fee for this.

Avoid this place at all cost. It is a disgrace to the beautiful region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialowieski, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Bialowieski, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. After investigating the subject, we are afraid there was a misunderstanding during your communication with our reservations department. The grill area, where you tried to organize your barbecue, is used exclusively for organized groups and was about to be prepared for the evening. Guests of our hotel can have a barbecue in our gardens, for which they have to rent a barbecue from us, which costs additionally - the information is to be found in all of our materials and at the reception desk. We are sorry for your disappointment.
As for the parking charges - we are sorry that you find it improper, but please note that it is a standard procedure in Bialowieza. The cost is lower than in other hotel's in Bialowieza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
23
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Bialowieski in October 2011. The hotel is on the outskirts of Bialowieza, but location is quite nice. If you come with a car and want to use the hotel's parking you have to pay PLN 25 per day, what is an enormous amount for Polish standards. Rooms are not very modern although the hotel staff tries to keep them well maintained. We got a twin room but the staff quickly connected the beds so we could sleep together. There's a TV and a big wardrobe with safe in the room. Bathroom was OK. Our room also had a small balcony. Although it was still October, the temeperature was quite low and the radiator was getting warm very, very slowly. Breakfast were OK but nothing special. We had one dinner at the hotel's restaurant - just OK. In our opinion prices could be bit lower for the standard offered by the hotel.
Generally Bialowieza is a good starting point for excursions into the national park.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Hotel accommodation and staff were fine but the food-ugh! If the Poles really want tourism to take off they must do something about the 'food' they serve up. After already suffering miserable food in another Polish hotel we were heartened when we saw the menu: wrong. The chicken with sun dried tomatoes and spinach with lemon sauce seemed a safe bet-er no. The sauce must have had half a can of salt in it (yes the Poles love their salt), no namby-pamby health worries here. Unfortunately the spinach and anything resembling said tomatoes were conspicuously absent. And why does everything have to come with those revolting sour pickled cucumber? The smell of it is enough to turn your stomach; another couple and their children who were eating there at the time said their meal was awful too. The lack of decent food has put us off ever returning to Poland.

Room Tip: Just avoid the restaurant-and and its overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We did not stay at this hotel, so can't comment on the accommodations. But the restaurant was truly awful. We arrived at around 7 on a Saturday night and were instantly suspicious of the fact that there was only one other table occupied. The only reason we stayed was that a couple from San Diego had recommended the place; we can only assume that they had confused it with the much better Carska just down the road. We dined in a large room lit by flourescent lighting and with white bathroom-style tiles, augmented by loud Polish rock music. It had all the charm of a high school cafeteria, but with inferior food. The chicken salad was inedible and my bison dumplings managed to combine blandness with an unpleasant gaminess. Avoid this place at all costs. Instead, continue another half mile down the road to the very decent Carska, which is all old-world elegence, efficient service, and good food for only a little more than Bialowieski.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We spent two nights the the Hotel Bialowieski when we visited the National Park. The room was clean and adequately sized. The TV had CNN and BBC. We had Wi-Fi for our laptop computer. our room was on the first floor (2nd floor in the US) and had an elevator. Our room faced the west, and in the morning we were woken by the chickens and ducks from the nearby houses.

The breakfast buffet was typical Polish breakfast, pastries, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, coffee and juice. Dinner was Polish food (which I enjoy). We had lunch in the renovated train station "Towarowa" about 1 km away. Their food was pricey for Poland, but served in an elegant atmosphere.

The staff was extremely helpful. They spoke English and were able to help us with entrance to the park, hiring a guide and getting a horse drawn cart.

  • Liked — Comfort and on line booking
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

The hotel is well presented and in the centre of the national park so it is surrounded by beautiful scenery. We only stayed 2 nights but this was more than enough!! The menu was not the best. The food was pleasant enough but lacked any real colour or flavour. The menu was not that extensive either. There is also no where local to eat to the one hotel restaurant is the only choice you have.
The bedrooms were really nice and good value for money. The staff are friendly and speak good english.

Overall OK!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bialowieski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bialowieski

Address: ul. Waszkiewicza 218 B, Bialowieza 17-230, Poland
Location: Poland > Eastern Poland > Podlaskie Province > Bialowieza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bialowieza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bialowieski 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bialowieski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bialowieski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.