We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise hotel on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zhong Hua Hotel

Save Saved
You added Zhong Hua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zhong Hua Hotel
al. Wojska Polskiego 1, Sopot 81-769, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Sopot
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Surprise hotel on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We turned up here looking for a one night stay during a very busy period and were amazed at this lovely hotel. Receptionist was so helpful, room well equiped with a great little deck leading on to beach! Excellent breakfast until 10.30. Loved it.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the morning/evening sun to suit your requirements - we preferred morning sun a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel adapted to chinese style. Design doesn't fit to baltic region. Hotel is also a little bit out-dated. On the other hand location is perfect. On the beach, in the park and by the "Molo" I have a very mixed feeligs. Next time i will choose another place and if I want to stay in chinese hotel i will travel to Pekin

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a family holiday at Sopot this Sept (2012), it was so beautiful. We're really glad we stayed at zhonghua hotel, made the holiday even better. The hotel was so beautifully and uniquely decorated, the design of the building, all the furniture and decoration were all in Chinese style. We had breakfast and dinners at the restaurant, the food were lovely. Best of all, the location is incredible being on the beach. 3 mins walk to the beautiful pier and 5 mins walk to the park. We loved sitting at the outdoor part of the restaurant (on the sand) and enjoy a glass of wine. The staff were helpful and friendly. I can't recommend this hotel enough, will visit again next April holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Near to beach. From sea max. 20 mt.
Apartement room nice but better is first 1 floor room. That 1. Floor rooms in beach.
Breakfeast is standart. Not special.
Haven't got mini Bar.
Tercih edilebileck bir otel. Dinlenmek istiyorsaniz secebilirsiniz. Odalar temiz. Plajin icindeki odalari tercih edin.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed there 4 nights. Hotel is situated very close to Sopot's main attractions - less than 5 minutes walk and you are there. Hotel itself looks ok from the outside, but the room interior is really poor. We had last room on the corridor, which gives great view for the beach. You could open the window door and just walk outside the beach - superb. Hotel has also fenced beach, which is really convenient during summer peak season. Breakfast is also ok, you can sit outside right on the beach.
And this is end of good story.

Hotel owners tried to make it "Chinese" - it is not believe me. Rooms require at least refurbishment, bathrooms as well apart from being tiny: both rooms and bathrooms.
Hotel restaurant is no highlights, with a bit pricey food - you can walk 5 minutes and get plenty of better and cheaper choice. There was a wireless internet, but it was barely working in our room. Parking may be a problem, so bear in mind to make a reservation for it as well!

I would recommend choosing other hotel, unless you are looking for suntan and do not care about the room too much.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this hotel through an online Travel Agent and specifically asked them to confirm that my booking had been received. This they did. However when I arrived at the hotel on the busiest weekend Saturday of the year (Assumption Day /Maria Himmelfahrt Holiday), reception was staffed only by a young lady who had only worked there for two weeks. She did not have my reservation. A room was found but had to be cleaned. So I had to wait an hour until 6 pm to access it. Frankly they need not have bothered as I had to clean it myself. There was thick dust everywhere - the bath had been patch -painted and it flaked off, the windoes were thick with grime and dead insects. There were curtains - ragged and dirty and only covering half the window - filthy nets failed to compensate and give privacy. At 4 am the sun streaming in was on the one hand wonderful on the other hand tiresome because of no curtains. the room number was 116 - never take that room! The manager does not work weekends - but i did manage to get a room change the next day. As otherwise I planned to check out even though on such a holiday it might be hard to find another room. In fact this hotel was not full but they could not use the rooms because they didi nnot have enough laundry. The original room had single sheets running sideways across a double bed. My new room - 305 - on the ground floor was better. But still pretty unclean - if you are sqeamish about old toe nail cuttings - don't stay here as they do not vacuum clean the carpets in the rooms from one guest to the next. Breakfast is odd. When you go into the room there is no one to greet you or explain the "system" - three members of staff stand by the kitchen door - the yunger girls chatting sociably but only with each other, the sour faced manageress(?) staring glumly and unsmilingly. I told them how impressive they looked but would they like to tell me about breakfast - is it self service etc? Well it is. Everything! BUT the buffet is pretty good - although it varies - on my last day there were no eggs and the hot box contained only Frankfurter style suasages - another day there is a rather good poached egg and cheese mix. I did not bother trying to find the manager figuring if he/she was remotely interested s/he would find me. I don't think they want people to stay here and do all they can to deter. The restaurant is popular and makes their money - I think the reason they don't put guests on the system is because they always have enough rooms but of course they don't bother cleaning them unless someone turns up so you have to wait for cleaning - and for linen to be delivered - it comes about 5 pm,.
If you are looking for a Fawlty Towers experience - sour and erratic staff, filthy filthy rooms, carpets from fifties and probably not cleaned since then - then this is your hotel. But don't believe the propaganda on the websites or the reviews which seem to be of a different hotel! For example rooms are said to have tea and coffee making faclities and hair dryers - they don't.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

This is the only 'chinese themed' hotel we have ever stayed at so really nothing to compare to as far as design or layout.

Booked through [-] Prices were on the expensive side, but the location was worth it.

Stayed in the Mandaryn Apartment, which is apparently the hotels most expensive room. It consisted of a good sized 'living' area with safe, fridge, leather couch, and several windows. Attached was a nice looking bathroom (the shower hose was leaking, but was replaced shortly after we reported it to the front desk) and a decent bedroom with a tv.

The view from this room is fantastic. Your are right on the beach and can see the sunrise perfectly right over the water. The hotel prides itself on being "the only hotel on the beach" and this is technically true, but the beach side of the property is fenced from the public sand somewhat ruining the view out from the main floor. The Mandaryn Apartment is on the second floor, and you do not notice the fence unless you are right at the window looking down, so its not too bad.

Due to the amount of travelling we planned, we were stuck using the hotels laundry service. There is no laundry onsite and it has to be sent out, which can get a bit pricey if you add up all the little items you may have gathered on the way.

The service at the hotel was ok, not overly friendly, but helpful with any questions. The restaurant was about a 2/5. Looks like it should be more upscale but its really nothing special and there are many places nearby to eat

Overall a nice experience, but seemed a bit overpriced.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Restaurant was blah..
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zhong Hua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Hua Hotel

Address: al. Wojska Polskiego 1, Sopot 81-769, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Sopot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Sopot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Zhong Hua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zhong Hua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.