We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orlowo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orlowo Pier

Orlowo Pier
ul. Orlowska, Gdynia 81-980, Poland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Gdynia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pier in Gdynia Orłowie is about 180 m long and now is a pier promenade. The first pier was established here in 1924 and was 115 m Five years later it was rebuilt and extended to 430 m so that it could also serve as a haven for coastal shipping vessels. The construction materials used in the exploded at that time a wooden pier in Gdynia. After World War II the pier was destroyed in a storm, and reduced it to its present length, ie 180 meters from the pier on the right we see the most advanced part of Holmes
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Orlowo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This small pier, a very romantic place with an interesting view of the bay of Gdansk, cliff Orlowski. Near the Tricity Landscape Park, where you can walk and relax.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Place which offers a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This place is a must for those who tend to see more than main-track attractions. Situated in a calm and pleasant district of Gdynia, Orłowo Pier is less famous than its larger and more recognisable counterpart in Sopot. Due to that Gdynia pier is not as crowded as the other one, and the atmosphere here is more relaxing. Positive energy is enhanced by lovely, small scale surrounding - old villas, a park and of course a sandy beach.
The area is famous for its cultural background, too. Some of the buildings nearby place the secondary and high school of fine arts. In the summertime the beach area turns into a stage for Gdynia City Theatre opened form June to September.
However, those who look for more commercial attractions may feel disappointed of the poor souvenir and eat out offer. The only restaurant placed there offers delicious meals of local seafood but is usually crowded. Whether you want to dine in in a high season, I recommend to book a table. There are also two cafes and ice cream vendor.
The best way to reach Orłowo Pier is by car. There is a free, quite large parking lot at the front. Personally I enjoy going there by bike, and then cycle around along the bike tracks in the woods.
Those who are able to reserve more time for this area, I'd suggest a walk on the district alleys and streets to admire some of Orłowo's modernism style villas.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Gdynia Orlowe pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and i while staying in Gdansk had planned to take in a day trip by train to Gdynia and Sopot. We got return tickets for about 12 zl each which was good value.The journey took half a hour.The train station is very close to the center of the city or large town.After about ten minutes walk from the station we came across a very big indoor market which is worth a visit which sells everything but mostly fruit. We then found a info center which we found very helpful and gave us maps and underlined the tourists attractions.We made our way down to the Pier which had a tall ship and a Polish world war 11 destroyer docked and can cad be boarded for a few zl. There are no historical buildings in this port city which is very unusual for a Polish city .We spent about three hours in this city and the main attraction is Orlowo pier.We got the train back and got off at Sopot which is a far nicer city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Friday evening in the restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A group of my Rotary Club friends visited the restaurant to hear the band playing that evening who we were thinking of using for our Club Annual Ball. The group was excellent and we are going to book them to play at our ball. The Taverna has been refurbished and the outside area on the deck is now very attractive with lovely views across the bay and stunning sunsets in the evening. The menu has been totally up-dated and offers an excellent and varied choice of food all of which was beautifully cooked, served and presented. Really good value for money with an interesting selection of affordable wines.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“atractions around the pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The pier is realy nice itself. the view are great. in a clear day you can even see docs in Gdańsk.
My favourite besides the pier is a little shop on the ground floor of the Tawerna, where you can buy smoked fish. They have delicious rainbow trout. There is also a small cozy cafe which is also a museum just beside the Tawern with a nice view on the bay.
In the summer on a beach beside the pier there is a stage where each week there is a theatre performance and once a week , also in the evening there is a movie shown on the beach. A great experience to watch something like that and see the stars at night.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlowo Pier also viewed

 
Gdynia, Pomerania Province
Gdynia, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Orlowo Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlowo Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.