We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Gdansk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wolne Miasto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wolne Miasto to your Saves list
Hotel Wolne Miasto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Swietego Ducha 2, Gdansk 80-834, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Gdansk
Scottish Highlandds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Gdansk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A lovely hotel with spacious rooms, bathrooms with baths and very comfortable however if you're in the new extension on ul. Thacka, forget about sleep; that was our experience after two weekend nights in June 2013. With the windows closed the room was very warm and despite ear plugs, we heard all the activity in the street until after 04.00.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for writing a review about our property.
I am pleased to read that the room and bathroom were comfortable.
Our location gives you the opportunity to stay in the city center, close to all the attractions of Gdansk. On the other hand it is possible you will hear the noise coming from the city streets.
I do hope that despite this inconvenience you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    86
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
78
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ended up spending quite a lot of time in the hotel room as my partner caught the flu just before our arrival in Poland, and I can´t complain, it was comfy, clean and original. Good size cupboard, safe and functional bathroom. Bed felt comfortable, almost lusciously soft, but could be due to last trip being to asia. Got a good off-season deal, and am satisfied. Breakfast was ok, nearby several other options at similar prices if it doesnt suit you. Surprisingly close to everything.

Room Tip: Mansard room was great. Even though a on paper just a clean, decent hotel room, still had a great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Hotel Wolne Miasto Guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and sharing with us such a nice opinion about our hotel. I am glad that our hotel's location was convenient and the hotel services met your expectations.
Thank you for your praise of hotel room's cleanliness, the bathroom's functionality and the breakfast.
I'm glad you could take advantage of the off-season deal and stay in our hotel.
I hope that you will choose our property again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here second week of May. A very nice hotel split over two entrances. One to the old part, which houses he main bar and restaurant. The other around the corner where only breakfast is served. Also has a limited bar service. We stayed in the newer part, on the third floor. Very warm inside but very clean and quiet. Great thick doors and walls helped for a peaceful nights sleep. The breakfast for me was slightly restricted if you are Irish/British but nice. We had dinner on one of the evenings and it was faultless. You also get 10% off food and drink though I was charged full price for drinks on one occasion. Not a big issue though. Nice staff and good selection of cocktails.
One small issue was the shower in our room was located on the facing wall as you got into the shower not at either end, plus the curtain was v small. Needless to say we had a few puddles on the floor after a shower.
Nevertheless I won't mind going back. Location is right beside Piwna Street so the pubs are 5 mins walk away. You have Pueblo Mexican under the hotel and a lovely and clean Kebab take away nearby for the late nights. All in all I would recommend this place for a quick city break.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Our esteemed Guest,

i would like to thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at Wolne Miasto Hotel.
I am pleased to read that the room was clean and quiet and made possible your restful night's sleep.
I would like to inform you that we serve our breakfast in a buffet form and if there is something we can better we would do it for our Guests with pleasure. To improve the comfort of our Guest's stay we will take more care about the shower curtains.
Thank you very much for giving our hotel your the recommendation.
I would like to invite you to Wolne Miasto Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent hotel, centrally situated, everything you need, clean as a whistle.

We selected the hotel based on the following criteria, tripadvisor top places to stay in Gdansk, removing hotel chains (we can stay in one of these anywhere in the world ~ no thank you) and reasonably priced. we were delighted with this hotel and will use trip advisor again to help us pick a local hotel with personality again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Distinguished Guests,

thank you very much for such nice opinion about our property. I am pleased to read that you have chosen our hotel from the Tripadvisor's list as the top places to stay in Gdańsk and were happy to stay in hotel Wolne Miasto. Thank you for our hotel's description as the "local hotel with personality".
Please feel free to visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been overnight in this hotel in Gdansk, and was pretty satisfied with it. it is very close to pretty much everything you want to include in seeing in Gdansk (at the reception it's also available maps and info stuff you would need).
it's at about 10 min walking distance from the railway station, 5 minutes from the old town and the main walking street, very close also to the old market hall.
we had a room on the 3rd floor, and was very clean, neat and satisfying. all linen and bed sheets were clean, internet was working good. our tv was not working best, but it's something we could live without.
for those that want to go weekend to this hotel, you better don't because it has disco and the parlament club just underground, so all the noise you will hear.
IF you plan on partying at the parlament club -and there is no certain gig with ticket sale-, ask at the reception for the guest card, you can enjoy free entrance with that to the club and i think there were some other stuffs too on it, but can't remember.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Our esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you for giving us such a nice review. I am pleased that our unique location has allowed Gdansk sightseeing. I am also grateful for the praising the hotel room cleanliness and equipment.
I would like to invite you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Opted for this property for a 3 night stay to sample Gdansk from our 5 month base in Warsaw. Arrived about 7:30 pm to the hotel after an easy 10 minute walk using the online map for directions. The young man at the reception desk recognized us immediately and we were in our room in another couple of minutes. We were a bit worried about our room location, first floor front just opposite the elevator, but actually we have had no real noise problem. Well street repairs with a jackhammer were a bit loud at 7 am, but I was not at all bothered by any sleeping time street noises. Our room is perhaps on the small side, however it is beautifully decorated and has a very nicely modern bathroom, with personal soaps and shampoo. The desk can provide ice for chilling drinks in the room, and we also got extra pillows for my wife. Excellent staff!!! We had a light dinner last night in their restaurant and sampled their breakfast buffet this morning. The breakfast buffet is actually a good value, by Polish standards, for the range of choices at 30 PLN/person. Perhaps they should consider an option of just the coffee and cold table at 20 PLN?

As another suggestion, the TV channels do NOT NOW offer any English language choices. CNN and Eurosport at least should be available for English guests and UPC cable service offers an optional menu control to strip the dubbing off of American and other English language original programs. We use this at our Warsaw apartment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our dear Guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for sharing your nice opinion about the hotel. I am very pleased that your stay in Gdansk and in the hotel was pleasant and the hotel's staff was helpful. I'm glad the hotel's room met your expectations and also our kitchen got your approval.
Our cable TV offers some English channels now. I hope we can get a wider range of channels in the future.
Thank you veru much for your stay and please feel free to pay us the next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a one night business stop over and wanted to be very near the beautifil Old Town centre. This hotel is just within the old town area, but crucially has its own car park, The street entrance takes you within a couple of minutes right to the glorious great streets of Gdansk and are minutes from the cathedral, Town Hall and waterside. The rooms were very comfortable and the breaksfast super.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna N, General Manager at Hotel Wolne Miasto, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest of Hotel Wolne Miasto,

thank you very much for such a nice review of our hotel and Gdansk. I am pleased that our unique location has allowed you comfortable exploring our city. I am also grateful for the praise of our rooms and breakfast.
I would like to invite you to visit our city Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wolne Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolne Miasto

Address: ul. Swietego Ducha 2, Gdansk 80-834, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#9 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#13 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wolne Miasto 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star Hotel Wolne Miasto is charming located in the centre of Old Town Gdansk, just 600 metres from the Gdańsk Główny Railway Station. It offers stylish rooms with elegant bathroom and free Wi-Fi.All rooms at the Wolne Miasto are spacious and elegantly furnished. They feature free mineral water, a fully-equipped marble bathroom, a flat-screen TV and a private safe. Some rooms offer tea and coffee-making facilities.The hotel’s restaurant specialises in traditional Polish dishes. There is also the Lobby Bar serving a wide range of coffee and tea.Wolne Miasto Hotel’s attentive staff is at guests’ disposal 24 hours a day and will gladly offer tips on what to do and see in Gdansk. Massage services are available.Lech Walesa International Airport is located 15 km from the hotel. Major museums , restaurants and cafes can be found within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Wolne Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolne Miasto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wolne Miasto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.