We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Podewils Hotel

Save Saved
You added Podewils Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Podewils Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80755, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 73 hotels in Gdansk
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique and charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in november with our 8 months old baby. The hotel was unique, small, quiet and super charming. Wonderful staff, fresh flowers in the room. I think there are only about 12 rooms, so the staff knows who you are, in what room you're staying, they follow you to the dining room the first day etc... I think this is the perfect hotel for couples (maybe even older couples 50 +), we loved it, but it wasn't very child friendly (for example there was no baby crib, no water boiler in the room to make porridge for baby (we had to buy one)). The rooms were beautiful and the bathroom was huge with a nice bath tub, but cold.. No heating in the floor. The beds weren't what you'd expect for a 5* hotel, I've experienced better. The location is fine, it takes you 10 min to walk to town, or 30 sek by boat in the day time.

One great minus was the dinner in the restaurant. It was not very good.. Breakfast was great. Another minus was that the walls were very thin! We had some teenagers in the room next to us, and they kept us awake with laughter and singing..

Next time we visit Gdansk we will stay at a less charming hotel, but if we come back in 20 yrs:) This might sound as if we didn't like it, we did! but it wasn't the right hotel for our situation.

Room Tip: We payed extra to get sea view, but the windows were so small you'd have to pop your head out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    19
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
80
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in October last year for a (lovely!) birthday trip to Gdansk. The hotel is about a half an hour trip by taxi from the airport.

It's actually on the opposite side of the canal (?) from the main part of the city, but that means if you stay in one of the front bedrooms you have an AMAZING view of the crane/krantor, especially after dark when everything is lit up. The walk to the town is only 5/10 minutes.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming (even after we turned up very early after a morning flight) and happy to help with printing maps/giving directions/calling taxis etc. Both the interior (lots of deep colours and wood paneling) and exterior of the hotel are beautiful - the bedroom had plenty of room to leave suitcases unpacked and half open everywhere. The room and bathroom were both very clean and, most importantly for Poland in October, cosy! (Loved the fluffy white bathrobes!) Beds were very comfy as were the pillows. Fresh flowers... Fully stocked minibar... TV with built in DVD player... What else do you need?! (We liked the little hand-written note left every evening informing us of the weather for the next day!)

The restaurant offers a pretty impressive breakfast buffet, although fish and cheese are always a bit much for me so early in the morning! They also offer toast and cereal and lovely fried mushrooms. I think we ate in the restaurant only once in the evening (but only because the city has SO many restaurants to try) and the food and wine were both good as was the service.

The hotel also possesses a sauna which is a nice luxury for a small hotel.

All in all, one of the best hotels we've stayed in, and I would definitely pick it as my first choice hotel if (hopefully when) we return to Gdansk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

From our note written to the hotel after our stay: - "My wife and I would like to extend our special thanks to you and your staff for the wonderful stay in your hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and your staff went to a lot of extra effort on our behalf including a late breakfast upon arrival from Krakow, an early breakfast to enable us to leave for a tour the next day, and finally coffee in the lobby at 4:45 AM especially prepared upon our departure for the early train to Warsaw!!

We would like for you and your staff to know that thanks to your wonderful hospitality, our stay in your hotel and in Gdansk was very much the highlight of our tour of your country."

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a group of eight friends staying in this wonderful, historic hotel. The rooms were comfortable and charming and the service impeccable. The breakfast was sumptuous and also the four course luncheon we had at the River restaurant upon our arrival was so tasty and a wonderful start of a successful weekend in Gdansk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This felt like I was a very important person, of aristocratic background. A wonderful hotel with big rooms and historic furniture. The staff were friendly, the location excellent. I do not think I could get anything similar in many other cities in Europe for the price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There will be no surprise in my comment...

One of the best hotel I have ever stayed in, everything is far beyond your highest expectations, from service to furnishing, from the breakfast to the view...

So sad to leave this place !

Room Tip: The 102 has a great view on the crane, the furnishing is so romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever been in all my life. Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and charming. Rooms are cozy, quiet and well furnished. A short walk to the old town.
Breakfast is excellent, very beautifully arranged buffet.
The day we left, we announced that we had to leave early, before breakfast started.
The reception staff arranged coffee for us in the room before our departure.
You rather feel at home than in a hotel. Dont miss this excellent place when you travel to Gdansk!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Address: ul Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80755, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Family Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Podewils Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.