We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel near the old city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Gdansk Old Town

Save Saved
You added Mercure Gdansk Old Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Old Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 73 hotels in Gdansk
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel near the old city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Extremely well located in the city centre, also perfect for shopping. Clean and modern lovely hotel, best I have stayed in so far in Gdansk. Three minutes to walk to airport bus (210) stop. The buffet breakfast is fantastic, but pricey if not included in room rate. I definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    213
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
31
154
57
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel is well appointed, has a fantastic location ( 10 minutes walk to the old town) and has very professional, courteous and helpful staff.

Rooms are of a decent size; the bathroom was modern and had amenities including toiletries, fresh towels each day and was kept extremely clean.

We also enjoyed drinks in the hotel bar which has a warm and comfortable feel to it and again the staff here were very pleasant. The bar prices are also reasonable.

In particular, I would like to highlight the exceptional service I received from one of the trainees who was working on reception the day I arrived and took the time to check us in. She, like all the staff members, are an asset to the hotel, however considering her infancy in the role, I feel she deserves specific mention.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have just returned from my stay at the Mercure in Gdansk. I stayed here for a weekend break for three nights and was very impressed with the high standard of service that I recieved from the staff in the hotel. The staff were very professional and helpful. They catered to our every need; calling taxis, making restaurant reservations- they even printed out a map so we could find the restaurants.

The hotel has a very modern and chic bar on the ground floor of the hotel right next to the reception and the drinks are reasonably priced.

The rooms themselves are of an adequate size, spotlessly clean, and well facilitated. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Gdansk, due to the pleasant staff, central location (ideal for discovering the old town) and amenities the hotel provides. I would undoubtedly return here, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, which has been recently renovated. Rooms are ok size and decor is fresh and up-2-date. Central location,staff service very good. We used the conference facilities, which did not live up to expectations. It didn't seem like they are used to foreigners using these facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located just a short walk away from the old town and there is a shopping centre across the road. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was ok but probably not worth the money that they charge if not included. Room was of a decent size, very clean with modern decor and a very good shower in the bathroom. Wizz airport transfer drop off point is outside the hotel which was very useful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Mercure is a very good and comfortable hotel very close to the old town. Within a walking distance from all of the major sights in the city, this hotel proves a perfect base for a city break. The rooms are comfortable, clean and surprisingly stylish or a Mercure! My only criticism would be the breakfast which is charged at £10 per head and really not worth that money given food in the city is very cheap and available...
There is a large shopping centre oppositte the hotel which we did not visit however, it looked pretty decent. We visited last week during very snowy cold conditions and everything worked like clockwork in the hotel and city alike. Would highly recommend Gdansk and the Mercure for a cheap and interesting city break!

Room Tip: High rooms facing the old town are very peaceful and have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

When visiting Gdansk, Mercure is The Place to stay! The location is perfect, staff is very helpful, rooms are great... Everything works! The OLd Town is near, shopping couldn't be easier - nearest shopping center is located opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Gdansk Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Old Town

Address: Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Old Town 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Gdansk Old Town is the first choice of international travellers. The hotel pampers guests right in the centre of the city on the perimeter of the historic centre, just 500 m from the railway station and 15 km from Gdansk Airport. Guests enjoy charming views of the Old Town and the historic Gdansk shipyard. An ideal base for sightseeing, shopping and business, the hotel offers 281 comfortably furnished rooms including luxurious suites, privilege rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Gdansk Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.