We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Cru

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Cru to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Cru
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ul. Rycerska 11-12, Gdansk 80-882, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Gdansk
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Chamber, relatively small hotel. I like the design and style: room, restaurant, common areas, lobby. Great location - city center but quiet. Great breakfast.
Failed to have ventilation on, street noise coming via opened window awoked us then. Could be difficult to park the car in the neighborhood.
I strongly recommend this hotel despite small issues.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Kierownik at Hotel Grand Cru, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Piter,
It was a great pleasure for us to have an opportunity to host you.
We are really glad that the standard of given service reflected your expectations and that the room, breakfast as well as cuisine in the restaurant in your opinion are worth recommending. Such feedback is really precious for us. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts after your stay with other users of tripadvisor.com.
Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel whenever your travels bring you back to Gdansk. We warmly invite! Kind regards, Katarzyna Gruba Marketing Department Dobry Hotel Chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    50
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
63
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My partner and I spent four nights at the Hotel Grand Cru in early June. It's a totally serviceable hotel: clean and comfortable, with most of the main amenities we needed (although the a/c in our room didn't seem to work). While the location is convenient (within walking distance of the train station and just outside of the Old Town) and the hotel property is modern, stylish, and well-maintained, it's not in a particularly nice neighborhood. The area doesn't feel unsafe, but it's just pretty down on its heels: derelict buildings and pothole-ridden streets. Compared to the charming streets of Old Town Gdansk, the streets around the hotel feel a bit like a war zone. But the only real issue we had with the hotel was the fact that on two of the four nights we were there, they hosted large, raucous parties in the downstairs restaurant that went on until the wee hours of the morning. Even though we were a few floors above the merriment, we felt like we were living just above a dance club. The music was so loud that our walls were vibrating. We complained to the front desk the first night and again the next morning. Although they didn't seem to do anything to adjust the noise level, they did ultimately comp us one night's stay and offered us a free meal from the restaurant, which we appreciated. I would strongly suggest that, before you make your reservation, you inquire about any events happening on the property during your stay, since this can seriously impact the quality of your visit. And I'd strongly suggest to the hotel that, until they figure out a way to soundproof their restaurant so the noise doesn't impact their guests, they refrain from hosting large events. As my partner asked them when he went down to complain, "Are you a hotel or a dance club?" They really need to decide which business they're running and then make sure they're focusing on servicing those customers.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Rooms designed to pack in features, not to use or live in. The cabinet over coffee shelf is dangerous. It is easy to hit one's head.

The AC overhead vent drips on the floor and anyone standing at the mirror.

It is impossible to use the shower, which is half open, or the bathroom sink without getting water all over the floor.

The Exercise equipment are minimal and the controls on some do not work

The staff is very pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This modern hotel is off the boardwalk, and a short walk from the main streets of Gdansk. The hotel claims air conditioning, but it was really warm above the first floor. We were on the second floor and our air never once came on. We called for service twice, and both times were told that it was supposed to work and they did not know what it wasn't. According to our clock it was 26°C in our room. We requested and were provided a fan. That made sleeping much easier.
Also, the toilet and bed are separated by a frosted piece of glass.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel itself is somewhat hidden away in the back alleys of the main streets and the surrounding areas are not very pretty but it’s only a short walk until you hit the main streets in the old town of Gdansk. The hotels interior looks very good and the staff were polite and helpful. The restaurant was magnificent as well especially the breakfast. I have to point out a negative thing though which annoyed us quite a lot and that is all the noise that was made in the hallway by the cleaning personnel every morning starting around 08:00. I wish they could be more considerate towards guest trying to sleep in a bit during their vacation. There was also this quite annoying “elevator / lounge music” playing in the hallways just loud enough so it was noticeable in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Kierownik at Hotel Grand Cru, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and thanks for an amazing review.
We are delighted to hear so many nice words from you and feel great knowing that we managed to provide you with a memorable stay. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast - we always try to make it tasty and varied.

All suggestions from our guests are extremely precious for us.
We do hope that despite the incident with noise, in your memories will stay those positive memories. Next time we promise that we will provide 100% comfort.

We do hope that we will have pleasure to host you again in the future. We warmly invite! Kind regards, Katarzyna Gruba Marketing Department Dobry Hotel Chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A surprisingly sensational hotel in the old city of Gdansk. I have been to many parts of Europe and Gdansk continues to be one of the most beautiful cities I've seen. So much beauty and so much history in one place. The Grand Cru is a wonderful find as it's in the old city of Gdansk and just minutes to everywhere you'd want to be. It's a gorgeous 1,000 year old building with a very chic, modern feel inside. I loved seeing 8 foot deep brick walls that can withstand a nuclear bomb while getting exquisite, ultra modern amenities. Absolutely loved the room. The staff was extra polite and very helpful and made it a point to go out of their way to help us with anything we needed. Down below ground is a spectacular wine cellar that once again, combines the old-world aesthetics with new stylish and luminous feel for an artfully splendid ambiance. The breakfast buffet was also extraordinary with a great combination of world and Polish foods. I couldn't get enough. Overall, my experience at this hotel was superb and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Kierownik at Hotel Grand Cru, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you kindly for being our guest and sharing such a wonderful review. Comments like yours make us really proud and extremely happy, and I will for sure share it with the hotel staff to let them know how our Guests appreciate their efforts to provide best possible experience every day. I am very happy to find out, you were satisfied with your stay, our rooms, breakfast offer and location. It is fantastic to hear so many compliments.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at our hotel and in our city many times again in future.
Kind regards, Katarzyna Gruba Marketing Department Dobry Hotel Chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had not been to Gdansk before despite knowing of its history as a Hanseatic Port and role in the history of Pomerania - but had not expected the city to be quite so lovely. The Hotel Grand Cru was a perfect place to stay - a sympathetically restored former warehouse, stylish and lavishly equipped - but still friendly and great value.
I soon realised that the hotel is in a terrific location - a little way from the city centre in a quiet area and actually only a short walk from everything you want to see - very close to the river - and a great base from which to explore Gdansk - which is an easy & delightful city to walk around.
The room was very smart & comfortable - very fancy bathroom; breakfast was as fine a feast as you could ever dream of starting the day with and I found all the staff friendly & welcoming - which is a real bonus.
I couldn't fault the Hotel Grand Cru - it lives up to all the great reviews.

Room Tip: I had room 304 - facing the canal where there was dredging & construction work going on - not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DobryHotel, Kierownik at Hotel Grand Cru, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and opinion. It was a pleasure for us to have an opportunity to host you in our hotel. Thank you for your kind words concerning our breakfasts, restaurant and surroundings. We would also like to thank you for your kind words towards our personnel. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard of given service. We hope that you will visit us again. You are always very welcome!
Kind regards, Katarzyna Gruba Marketing Department Dobry Hotel Chain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Cru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Cru

Address: ul. Rycerska 11-12, Gdansk 80-882, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Cru 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Grand Cru Hotel, in the antique Old Town, on Rycerska Street, allows to live to the full the unique atmosphere of Gdansk. Only a few steps divide our hotel from Motlawa river and finest monuments of the city, such as St. Mary's Church, the Crane, Neptune’s Fountain, Artus Court or Uphagen House. An evening walk along the Long Bridge and the alleys over which rise the fascinating pearls of architecture, ended with a dinner and a glass of excellent wine in Grand Cru Restaurant, will be a great accomplishment of each day spent in the Tri-city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Cru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Cru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.