We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Artus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Artus to your Saves list
Hotel Artus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piwna Street 36/39, Gdansk 80-831, Poland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Gdansk
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel was extremely good value for money. The room was a good size and nicely decorated. We were a bit apprehensive about the noise as several reviews mention the church bells. Yes, they were extremely loud and yes, they were a bit annoying at times. In general they didn't really bother us though, even with our windows open, most mornings I don't even recall them waking us.
The only slight criticism I have of the hotel is that the rooms were too warm (easily solved by opening the window) and the beds were uncomfortable (my husband disagrees though!). Other than that I can find no faults. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is kept spotless.

The main seller though has to be the location. It's situated on a brilliant street with amazing places to eat and drink and there's even a 24 hour shop opposite. The main tourist attractions are all literally a stones throw away. I was shocked at how close everything was! It's also only a 10 minute stroll to the train station and shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
12
38
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have just got back from our first visit to Gdansk. We had a great time.

The hotel is great, very clean, amazing location and very tasteful decorated. We decided not to get the breakfast included in the price but after looking around we did have breakfast in the restaurant. The prices were a little higher than other options but the breakfast was first rate.

We didn't get a photo of the bathroom but this was just as modern and clean as the rest of the room, with a very powerful hot shower.

Overall we had a great time and for the price there is nothing we would change.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

An example of the friendly and service minded hotel in reasonable prices and in the heart of the old town of Gdansk. Also Taxi Baltic recommended by the hotel is worth to mention: really friendly guys. Even a sauna downstairs of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just had a 3 night stay and from the exterior it just looks like the rest of the surrounding buildings but once you get inside your met with a nice quality feel and lovely reception staff. We had a room to the front of the hotel which was very nice with a good sized shower room. There is a mini bar and a free safe in each room and the mini bar is not that expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in.. There is no coffee or tea making facilities which is a real shame and no air con which could be a problem in summer, Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and we did experience a lot of noise into the early hours and then the church bells across the road start at 7am so leaving the windows open was not an option. Great location for all the bars and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant adjoined to it but it does not belong to the hotel and the food is very good and we would recommend it. A 24hr shop is just over the road. A trip to Sopot on the train is also recommended 7.80 Zl return is about £2. A mini bus for 6 people from the airport to the Hotel is about £20(22euros) and will be about £14(16 euros) for a normal taxi . Note..save a little cash till you check out because you will have to pay the city tax at 4ZL(£1) per day

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the Hotel should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

On arriving in Gdansk we made our way from the train station through the pretty streets to find our hotel - not far about a 10 minute walk.

We were extremely impressed with the location it is right opposite St Mary's Church, the main street is mere meters away (which is full of bars, cafes and lovely eateries etc) and it is also near the river front so the medival crane and the maritime museum where a very short distance away.

Our room was very clean and quite modern, the bathroom fine, just a shower but that was fine with us. There was a little noise at night from a nearby bar and also the chiming bells but nothing too bad (unless of course you are a light sleeper).

We were only room only but one morning we decided to try the buffet breakfast. It was ok - way overpriced for what it was 35 zloty per person, you can get far better elsewhere. I am glad we hadn't opted for the breakfast as it was definately not worth the price.

The staff were very helpful when needed. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just came back from a long weekend in Gdansk staying at the Hotel Artus in Gdansk Old Town. Had never been to Poland before so not sure what to expect but the Old Town (largely rebuilt after the war) was fabulous. Our stay was made more special by the lovely staff at our hotel. Always helpful and polite they gave us heaps of guidance about getting around and what to see. The hotel is lovely inside and our family room was exceptional. A separate lounge downstairs and two sleeping areas up a spiral staircase. All clean and very comfortable. I'd recommend a visit to Gdansk and especially a stay at Hotel Artus. Would love to see more sometime as we were over for a Karate Comp but will definitely come back.

Room Tip: They all sound good but the family suite on the top floor was perfect and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for four nights, The rooms we very clean and pleasant, however try to book a room to the rear as after an evening out you will be hearing Bells at 7 am but I suppose its a good wake up call in case the reception staff forget, the bar/restaurant, (not part of hotel), is very friendly place and the staff are great, if you like pasta I wouldn't recommend the penne with mussels.

Room Tip: Room to rear recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Artus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artus

Address: Piwna Street 36/39, Gdansk 80-831, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artus 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Artus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Artus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.