We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andor says: good food and presentation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restauracja Targ Rybny

Restauracja Targ Rybny
4 Tobiasza | am Fischmarkt, Gdansk 80-838, Poland
58 320 90 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 254 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Houston
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Andor says: good food and presentation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The first great aspect of this restaurant, is that is basically right besides the Hilton hotel. They took me with no reservations. The place is very nautical, charming with a main fire place display. I was looking forward to a great dinning and service experience but it all fell short. Nothing really to complain, just average food with great presentation and just fair service. Maybe I was what the waiter wanted in his zone :(
Anyhow, the place had several large groups coming while I was there (a mix of Polish and foreigners) so maybe the place is better and I just had an average experience. If I ever return, though, I will select other places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    142
    36
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Good choice of seafood and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

this restaurant is located at the riverbank and is reasonable choice for people staying at either Hilton, which is ~100 steps away or Radisson Blu.
We visited it Monday for dinner and most of the tables were reserved so booking is highly recommended.

Restaurant offers reasonable choice of fish and seafood, including local dishes (not by fish origin but by cooking method I assume as they have e.g. Zander clearly available in other countries).

Despite place being quite busy service was expedient and attentive, but not overbearing.

I ordered lobster soup and free squids stuffed with vegetables. Portion of squids was quite small so if you are hungry, check with the waiters if side dish needs to be ordered. In my case it was quite alright after the soup. Both dishes were quite good with squids especially tender and not at all rubbery.

All in all I would visit them again and can recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good fish offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you think that it's easy to eat a good fish meal at the coast in the Gdansk area you may be somewhat disappointed. However, "Fischmarkt/Targ rybny" offer was a real sunshine in this cuisine landscape.

We have ordered the following dishes:

- Excellent fish soups: Bouillabaise & Lobster-cream soup. Heavy and rich taste nicely warmed up our appetite.

- Main course: "Fried cod fillet served with mashed potatoes, cabbage and bacon" & "Cod fillets baked with vegetables and mozzarella cheese, served with spinach noodles" were quite weird settings, however, fresh fish and overall good flavor compensated an oddness.

- Desserts were so-so: "Hot chocolate cake with orange ice-cream" was too floury while "Apfel strudel with the ice creams" was quite ok.

Surprisingly, their wines are quite expensive - 50PLN/12EUR for 50ml caraffe of white house wine sounds like a rip off to me.

We really like a decor and overall atmosphere inside.

Anyway, truly recommend this restaurant - will return for sure!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you like fish and seafood that is the place to be. And make a reservation to not get disappointed. I had the best lobster soup in my life. At the last spoon I was already missing it. My husband had bouillabaise - it wast rich and delicious. As main I had Halibut steak - it was something amazing. I am getting hungry thinking about it. My husband had cod with cabbage. Was good too.

Restaurant is very popular, quite expensive, vibrant and nicely decorated. It is very clean and well design.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant in Gdansk old town harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Nice restaurant in the old town harbor. We went there one evening and ordered bouillabaisse - it was so good we had to come back! I definitely recommend the bouillabaisse, it's a bit messy to eat but so good.
Service was okay, maybe a bit slow towards the end but we had time so it didn't really matter too much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Targ Rybny also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Targ Rybny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restauracja Targ Rybny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.