We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eating at Targ Rybny fishmarkt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restauracja Targ Rybny

Restauracja Targ Rybny
4 Tobiasza | am Fischmarkt, Gdansk 80-838, Poland
58 320 90 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 273 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chowder, Seafood, Noodle, European, Asian, Soups, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“eating at Targ Rybny fishmarkt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

delicious appetizer and main dishes based on fish with very high quality food. Lovely atmosphere, quiet and romantic environment, food service, friendly staff and especially good price!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    158
    45
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good seafood...but we waited too much time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked a big table for 13 Italian friends and we had a very good sea food (i suggest soup of the day and lobster soup) but we waited like 2 hours for our main dish (i had cod with vegetables). The restaurant looks nice, clean and waiters are very kind. The only thing i don't like is the toilet which is just very close to the kitchen. We spent 100Zl each for a soup, a main dish, water, one glass of wine each, and 1 espresso. Cheaper than in Italy but expensive to be in Gdansk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

One of a few places in Gdansk where they know how to prepare seafood. Menu in my opinion lacks local, Polish traditional recipies and is to too international. It is designed to cater to tastes of international, mostly Scandinavian crowd visiting the place but a local, Baltic touch could be more appreciated.
Apetizers as well as main dishes I tried were great staff. Be careful though as the place is expensive and portions skimpy. In the night of my visit it was very busy, reservation is recommended. Service is slow and the staff seems not particularly welcoming to guests.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, some hit and miss so choose carefully.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was here last night with rhe wife, atmosphere was great - relaxes and not to formal or stuffy. Had the seafood soup which was great, so good to see large pawns again after years in England. Oysters were good, crab cakes were amazing! Mains writing had the Talbot - really good but expensive, and the cod with noodles special. Cod was average, but very large portions, highlights was the noodle - wouldn't recommend it. Tart for dessert was ok, was probably too stuffed by then to enjoy it. Looked around at others eating and would warn that the seafood plate for 2 is mainly lightly fried fish, looked good but was huge. Prawn starter looked amazing. Would try the pike-perch next time and the lobster looked really good!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but soulless service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The food is good and the interior cosy. However, it falls short of its neighbor Fllini. The big disappointment is the waiters -both go about their business in a correct way, but seem thoroughly uninterested in he guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Targ Rybny also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Targ Rybny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restauracja Targ Rybny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.