We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Gdansk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Gdansk to your Saves list
Hilton Gdansk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Targ Rybny 1, Gdansk 80-838, Poland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Gdansk
Aura, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spend 4 nights in Hilton and it was all worth it. Staff were great and so kind to us. Mercato -restaurant was an experience on itself and our superb waitress make the night to forget with his humor and recommends. If i have to say something negative to be fare, the swimming pool was quite small. But there were still room when we went to swim. We'll go back next summer in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    245
    48
    16
    5
See reviews for
116
306
44
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited hotel a couple of weeks ago booked two twin rooms, I am a gold Hilton hhonors member but did not get an upgrade which I was disappointed with we had a view to the side of the hotel. We could of been of upgraded after the first night as they had availability but this was never arranged. Breakfast was good and we booked a beauty treatment which was expensive but really nice. The pool is small and only has six beds but it was nice. We had late check out which was useful overall great hotel but you could try and upgrade gold member member better. Visited Fellini which was excellent food and Goldwasser was also great both close enough to walk to we also visited sopot for the day only cost about 15 for taxi the beach and pier is nice. Really enjoyed our girlie break cold but had lovely blue skies. All would of been excellent if we had the upgrade.

Room Tip: On check the person next to asked for a free upgrade the reception staff said no but could upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

we arrived late last week to the check in desk. lobby was small, and nothing to be amazed about. this could be the norm in poland. stood in front of check in official for a good 30 secs before the official acknowledged us. he asked us for our passports and tried to log into his computer but wouldnt work. tried 2 more computers and systems were down. never once apologised for this. Got 2 more staff members to try it, still wouldnt work. The lady official was now looking after us. You could see she was panicking etc. She tried to ask me details of my booking etc, and was going to do it manually somehow. I offered to give her some time and to go for a drink in the bar, which she accepted. After 20 mins there, I decided to check with her at the desk to see if they were working again, which they were. She never once came to me in the bar and said it was back up working. I could have stayed at the bar and would never have known the computers were fixed. Again no apologies for the check in problems.
I went to my room on the second floor. I was pretty disappointed as I ordered a patio view room. I thought this would have given us a patio, but instead it gives you a window looking out at the nearby alleyway.
I went down to reception to seek a better view at least as I had booked a patio view room, but was told that I had booked the cheaper room, and patio room view are the room with the poor views. He said I could upgrade to a deluxe at a cost of e30 per night. This is just a note for people, if booking a patio view room, please note this is a standard room with a view of an alleyway. He said to check back tommorrow with reception to see if there was any better rooms available, which i didnt do as the hotel should have come to us. I wasnt going to sound like I was pestering them.
Anyway aside from that, the rooms were extremley clean and spacious. the pillows were difficult to get used to. The cleaning of the rooms was top class.
The pool area is small but so clean and relaxing. excellent facility.Hotel location is brilliant right along the river and near to all the main streets etc.
The hotel did facilitate us with a late check out and minded our luggage at no extra charge. I would recommend this hotel, apart from our reception experience on arrival. Good price. Small hotel, but good value

Room Tip: patio view rooms are standard rooms with no views. you do not get a patio or a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grzegorz G, Manager at Hilton Gdansk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced whilst staying in our hotel.

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with check in at the front desk. We took the necessary steps to avoid it in future. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room, cleanliness and the pool area.

I appreciate your comments which help us to maintain good standard and look forward to see you in the future.


Grzegorz Główczewski
Front Of House Manager
Hilton Gdańsk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Really we booked this because of the high ranking of this hotel. I must say it was a little disappointing as the service was so bad the first day. The guy who checked us in wery rude and not welcoming. He charged us extra for breakfeast though Im sure I paid for two. We also got a bad room wich you could not open any window. Bad air inside. We asked to get upgraded but that was so expensive. (They, or he could have done that for free) However we paid the fee, cause we can not sleep in a room without air. The man in the reseption was nor Hilton-service minded!!! The next day the TV did not work, and a nice lady reseptionist changed room for us straight away. We even got a bigger room in the corner with nice wieu. Breakfeast was good. It is many nice hotels in Gdansk, so don't pick this just because of the rating. Almost every hotel is more central than this and to a very much lower price. Though this is ofcourse central, but not in the middle of everything..It's about 5-10 min walk...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grzegorz G, Manager at Hilton Gdansk, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us.

I am very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

We have already looked into the points you mentioned in your review (disappointing service, tv not working ). We took the necessary steps to avoid such situations inthe future. Additionally, I have taken your comments to our Front Desk Team to ensure guests expectations are excedeed.

Again my apologies and I look forward to see you again, so we can show you that we can do better.

Sincerely,

Grzegorz Główczewski
Fronf Of House Manager
Hilton Gdańsk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siddy_bolly
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel! Fab location, service and price for a Hilton.

This was my second visit to Gdansk. This time was for my very good friends' wedding, making it my first Polish wedding experience on Polish soil. How exciting! Equally, I've been forewarned of the famed 12-hour Polish wedding drinking and dancing merriment. How nerve-wrecking!

So I've decided to "splurge" and stay at the Hilton, which is a few doors away from the wedding venue. If all else fails, I can slip away quietly and roll back to bed before I make a fool of myself at a Polish wedding, so I thought.

I booked for a standard room to be shared with two other wedding guests. The housekeeping service was very good and quick. As I was the last person to check-in to the room, I had the "honour" of the fold-out bed. However, the front desk forgot to set it up. I've just arrived on one of those dreaded Easyjet 6am flights from Luton airport, so I was a bit worse for wear. I had 2 hours to have a disco nap and put on a face for the wedding dinner. So I needed that fold-out bed like pronto. Front desk handled my request well given my grumpy and disgruntled state. Housekeeping came to my rescue sooner than later, set up the fold-out bed, which was surprisingly more comfortable than I ever thought it would be. Peace was restored :)

All in all, I was very pleased I decided to stay at Hilton Gdansk. It was centrally located in the Old Town, right by the river, the service was good and our stay was all the more memorable by the wedding occasion. And oh, not only did I survive my first Polish wedding, I thoroughly enjoyed the dancing, the continuous servings of food and endless lashings of Polish vodka shots with elderly relatives!



Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for her 30th birthday. The hotel is in an excellent location by the river and a short walk to the centre of Gdansk.
The service in the hotel was excellent, before our stay I ordered cake & champagne as a surprise for my wife, this was really well organised by the staff and delivered to our room as requested. The hotel is very clean and modern. Our room was very comfortable and well cleaned daily.
I would certainly recommend the Hilton Gdansk and will stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is by many standards an excellent hotel, and we spent three nights here during low season. The hotel in itself is next to the old town of Gdansk, and is ideally located for sightseeing and getting around the city. We found the hotel very clean and with pretty decor both in the rooms, hallways, reception area and restaurant.

The rooms were clean, big and the bathroom excellent. The bed was very comfortable, maybe a little bit on the hard side. Excellent pillows and covers.

The only thing holding me back from giving it a full score is that they allow for smoking, and that smoke-free rooms are on the same floor as the smokers rooms. We found this annoying and irritating as we ordered a smoke-free room to get away from the smell of smoke. When walking in the hallways from our room to the elevator, the place reeked of smoke. No smell in our room, fortunately.

We didn't have the chance to try out the gym, the spa or the pool. The pool was empty for maintenance for our first two days, and in the process of being cleaned and warmed up the third day.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant on the day we were leaving. Breakfast is excellent with many choices, although pricy compared to the area. If you are up early, there are not many choices in the city elsewhere, so I would recommend eating at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you plan on staying in the room for some time, ask for a Hilton Deluxe guestroom with a view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 76 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Old Town
Mercure Gdansk Old Town
#15 of 76 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#1 of 76 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#20 of 76 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Cru
Hotel Grand Cru
#8 of 76 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Gdansk

Address: Targ Rybny 1, Gdansk 80-838, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#1 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Gdansk 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Gdansk introduces cutting-edge facilities in the city.This stunning new build hotel will offer the largest meetings, incentives, conferences and exhibitions facilities in the centre of Gdansk. Designed to compliment the historic architecture of Poland’s principal seaport, Hilton Gdansk occupies a prime city centre site on the bank of the River Motlawa. In the heart of Old Town, the hotel is close to many businesses and tourist sites including Mariacka Street, St. Mary’s Church and the European Solidarity Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hilton Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Gdansk Hotel Gdansk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Gdansk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.