We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Food and Warm Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restauracja Filharmonia

Restauracja Filharmonia
Olowianka 1, Gdansk, Poland
+48 58 323 83 58
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 224 Restaurants in Gdansk
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: European, Polish, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Food and Warm Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here on the Friday of my stay in Gdansk. The food was well presented, tasted great and was obviously made from fresh ingredients. The tomato soup with nitrogen foam was outstanding. The view is probably the best in the old town as the restaurant is on the opposite side from the crane and is great in the evening. The big red sign from the concert hall is not visible either, which is great.

The service we received was both warm and cheery, with reccomendations made for each course. From a UK point of view I would say the bill would have been double here for the same standard.

I would definitely make a reservation as it was very busy by the time we left on Friday evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“It seems that that Gdansk is not a village anymore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Gdansk was eally like good food desert. Fortunately such places like Filharmonia appearing recently. Although it is not perfect it has really nice location, great view and not bad food. In my opinion this place is really worth to reccomend. The food was really good although salmon was 2 minutes over done and cuttle fish 2 minutes not done. Service quite ok. but some training for waiters could help. The biggest disadvantge is smell of toilet chemicals directly at the entrance. I don understand such solutions: nice place, nice building, nice food and first impression is spoilt by scent of chemicals insted of food.
I would not say that it is expensive - it was even suprisingly reasonable acc. price.
If You are in Gdansk You have to try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is superb.. Prepared with great care and a little bit of innovation.
Location is very nice. Service appropriate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over rated, small portions, overpriced, waiter had bad B.O. problem; left feeling hungry; avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

As a group of four we visited this restaurant because of good reviews in the "in your pocket guide". We found the place hard to find due to very poor or non existant signage. We actually wish now that we hadn't found this place at all. Very small portions. Dishes were a mix of several clashing flavours that did not compliment one another. To make things worse our waiter had a bad B.O. problem, which we all found unpleasant whilst eating. Expensive and with 10% service charge added to everything as well. We found ourselves ordering more food elsewhere later. Avoid.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic gourmet meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This meal we will never, ever forget..... It was almost embarrasing when we got the check - it seemed as we were "ripping them off" . We had a three course meal recommended by the chef. Just amazing..... The interior was rustic and beautiful.... the service was excellent..... Just a LOVELY place, FAB meal, in fantastic surroundings......

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Filharmonia also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Filharmonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restauracja Filharmonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.