We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for dining in Olomouc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U AndEla

U AndEla
Hrncirska 10, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic
+420 585 228 755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 97 Restaurants in Olomouc
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good choice for dining in Olomouc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were introduced to this restaurant by friends who live in Olomouc. I don't think we would have found it without their help. Tucked away on a small side street, the restaurant has two seating areas. We chose to sit in the "winter garden" with large windows that overlook a major park. Unfortunately, the beer fest was going on the night we were there and the sound of the band playing in the park was loud. Wait staff was accommodating and quickly closed the windows. We enjoyed appetizers of asparagus au gratin and Olomouc "smelly" cheese wrapped in bacon. (Not a fan of the smelly cheese! It may be an acquired taste.) I had the penne with chicken and spinach in a light cream. Yummy! Not swimming in heavy cream sauce. My husband had pork loin and potato pancakes. Don't expect food to arrive in 5 minutes - it's cooked to order. Portions were generous and the prices most reasonable. Four of us dined and drank copious amounts of beer and the bill was less than $80. They weren't very busy for a Saturday night -- perhaps people avoided it because of the band in the park.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice location ...good meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Meals are quite good, not the best place in the city but decent.
Don't expect to eat immediately consider to take the need time (their needed time)...
Meat is good, cheese as well.
We can't say the same for wine but maybe it was our fault...
Shrimps were really good, and also the sauces.
In few word recommended, especially if you appreciate to eat on a marvelous terrace

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torridon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place to eat in Olomouc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed a pleasant meal here on a recent visit to Olomouc. The food we had was very good and the prices were reasonable. We visited on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was quiet. Despite that, the ambience was good. I would be happy to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

When comparing to other restaurants in Olomouc this one is above average - but the average in Olomouc is not very good. Steak was prepared very well but the potatoes - so salty. And one thing that surprise me was coffee - I've never drink so horrible coffee in restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurants for Olomouc standards.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Food better than average and good prices. Quite nice and charming in the inside.
Nice place to go with friends or couple.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U AndEla also viewed

Olomouc, Olomouc Region
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
 
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
Olomouc, Olomouc Region
 

Been to U AndEla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U AndEla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.