We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurace U Tlustych

Restaurace U Tlustych
Pekarska 88, Lednice, Czech Republic
+420 606 571 362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Lednice
Cuisines: Czech
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We visited U tlustych during Halloween, restaurant was almost fully booked, but we managed to get the table. I ordered goulash soup which was excellent, then pork cheeks - amazing and as a desert chocolate lava cake. Whole dinner was one special experience. They also have a shop with food and wine from their own production. Also worth visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Visited during our stay in this area. Food ordered: Domaci pastika, Veprova licka, Kachni prso s visnovou omackou. All was really nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Was there with three friends during October.

We came to this restaurant during sunny Saturday afternoon. I must say, that the reason why we chose this place was their presence in Zdenek Pohlreich's "Ano Sefe" (Czech Gordon Ramsey's Hells Kitchen). Place was full inside (prime time during busy weekend) so we took a place outside.

We ordered a 2 duck soups, 1 chicken soup and main 4 meals. Duck soup was completely oversalted, so we returned most of it to the kitchen - the waitress told us, that it is due to the fact it was double cooked (yes, if you cook a duck twice, it will definitely get more salty - we just laughed when she left). She came back after five minutes and told us, that they agreed that it is fine and problem is on our side (what a joke - but welcome in Czech hospitality). Let me just mention that we all tasted both chicken (which was fine) and duck which was really salty - but nothing serious - it was still consumable, but just too much salt.

After the soup they brought the main meal - two of us had some kind chicken Vienna steak with herbs butter (tasty), one the duck (tasty as well) and my friend took a pork cuttlet with salad. The cuttlet was again too much salty - but this time it was not even possible to chew it. Based on the previous experience with soup, we better tasted the meat around the table and agreed that it can serve as chemical weapon, rather than a food. We returned the meal back to the kitchen and the waitress came after 5 minutes to excuse and offered some other meal. We were already quite tired, so we refused, finished the rest and left. The price was quite high considered the area, and especially the quality of the food.

Except of the food, the restaurant has a nice interior and friendly service, so I will not give 2* for the food and will give 3*.

It is really hard to find a good place anywhere outside Prague or Brno - but next time in Lednice (the castle and park are SUPERB) I will better give a chance to something new.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one of the best restaurants ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After reading reviews on TA we went to dinner there while visiting Lednice (amazing castle).

Restaurant is located just at the main road on the left side coming from Mikulov. There is a garden where you can sit but not very pleasant because of the cars passing by. Inside OK but nothing special.

But the food will make up for all the other shortcomings. Desserts amazing - the way they taste and the way they look (bezowy docik, tiramisu, chocolate fondant - all recommended)!!! Main dishes wonderful - we tried chicken tagiatelle (juicy meat) and traditional duck - all perfect.

Off course they have wines - rudelowskie modre (or sth like that) - I am coming back today to get a couple of bottles to take home.

And they make their own sausages (many kinds) and hermelin (marinated cheese) that you can buy to take with you.

Service - the best in Czech (famous for rude waiters).

Being again in South Moravia I would adjust my trip so as to eat here or in cafe Fara in Klentnice - both excellent (but U Tlustych a little better even). Prices higher than in traditional Czech restaurants - but definitely worth it.

Recommended!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, above average (in the area) service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've spent last week in Lednice. Overall, we were surprise with the quality (low) of services in the restaurants. "U tlustych" was one of the exceptions. The service is on the level one would expect. Prices a bit higher for the region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurace U Tlustych also viewed

Lednice, South Moravian Region
Lednice, South Moravian Region
 
Valtice, South Moravian Region
Mikulov, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Restaurace U Tlustych? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurace U Tlustych, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.