We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spolek

Spolek
Orli 22, Brno, Czech Republic
+420774814230
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 638 Restaurants in Brno
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Italian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dessert
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“My favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been going to this place for years and I always enjoyed it. The restaurant is hidden from the busy city centre and has relaxing atmosphere. There is smoking and non-smoking floor, well divided. You can have a great coffee or special drinks and great food too (even the portions are not huge). Also you can borrow a book to read and play a game. The staff is very friendly. Take your kids, there are toys too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“As a cafe, great. Food? Not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We ordered two pasta dishes that tasted like something I could have made at home. Just pasta and chicken and sauce. It would have been so much better if they threw in a few vegetables, even just some tomato. I can see how this is a very cool atmosphere as a cafe, though, even though it was full if cigarette smoke. I would recommend going for a coffee or a beer, not food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of the best finds over my time in Brno. quite tricky to find but worth it. Food was delicious ( had pasta and soup), arrived quickly and was in generous portions. Wine was also great. Service is prompt and friendly, waiter spoke good english. Only big minus is that they don't accept cards. I'm definitely coming again and recommending to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Kabol, Afghanistan
1 review
“Best find in my three weeks in Brno and Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Upscale college dive. If you were a Czech college student and wanted to impress your girlfriend you would take her here. Just a little off the square, I've paid five times this much for far inferior food in this town. Cool art on the wall, lots of comfortable seating and good service which is really rare in this country. Menu is small, but I've worked in restaurants and that's how they can serve such great food so cheap. I'll be back tomorrow.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Place with amazing atmosphere, great place to have wine, coffee or soup and spend hours with friends. Friendly stuff and prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spolek also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Spolek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spolek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.