We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a budget stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Na Starem Brne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Na Starem Brne to your Saves list
Pension Na Starem Brne
Mendlovo nam. 1a, Brno 60300 , Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Brno B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“On a budget stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A great visit staff could not be more helpful let is borrow a guide book and supplied umbrella for a rainy day.Room basic and clean, attached shower room almot as large as bedroom. location central and easy to find if you use google street viiew first, 5 minute walk to exhibition center and under 10 to town center and castle Spilbeck.
Brekfats filling and very reasonable price and can not beat price on room in Brno during June.
Negatives really picky but no plug fo sink in bathroom and in summer next to a bar and church so a little noisey at night and at 6Am as bell rings for mass. Not an issue if you keep windows closed.
As for Brno if you stay in June/July a little tip, bring Mossie repelant and cream get bitten every time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Excellent staff, who went above and beyond their call of duty, delicious home made breakfast-made to order, free internet and on-site computer to use, short walk to the castle and city center. Easy tram ride from the train station...take tram 1 Bystrc and get off at Mendlovo namesti, walk towards the church, go behind it and you are there in less than 10 minutes. By your tram ticket from the 'Relay' stand in the train station for only 20 CZK's. You won't find a cleaner hotel in Brno and the location can't be beat. Don't pass up the chance to stay at this amazing facility.

Room Tip: Cozy facility with 7 rooms...I stayed in the single and it was roomy, bright, cozy and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very simple but comfortable pension (B&B) close to wonderful beer pubs just around the corner and center of Brno. Great wine cellar just next door.
Get the breakfast-home made!
Remember to visit the cathedral and the castle.

Room Tip: All are quite and simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The location is terrific being next to Mendlova Square and the Basilica of the Assumption of Our Lady. There is a major tram interchange only 100 metres away and it is only a short tram ride to the city centre. We walked it one day in about 15 minutes. Even better is that the Pension is right next to the Starobrno Brewery and its attached Pivovarska Restaurant. If you want huge meat lovers meals washed down with great beer then this is the place. It has a huge indoor eating area and large open air terrace that was packed every night. Euro Cup 2012 was being broadcast every night on the large screen TVs set up inside the restaurant. The staff at the Pension were very helpful, even teaching us a few basic Czech phrases! The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the shower was scaldingly hot. We paid 70 CZK each for a breakfast of muesli, yoghurt, bread and jams. There is a small area with a kettle and microwave. One small criticism was that, while we followed their directions, we had great difficulty in finding the Pension when we arrived. Five different locals had never heard of the place. It is to the right of the Basilica as you get off the tram.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Pension Na Starem Brne has a family feeling. It is located in an old monastery, beside a beautiful basilica. The hotel is a five minute walk from the downtown area. Also there is a tram hub very close to the pension, so access to transportation around the city is conveniently near the hotel.
For beer lovers, the Starobrno brewery is practically next door.
Except for one person, the staff doesn't speak English. However, the are very friendly and kind.
The pension offers basic accommodation. This is not for the traveller that likes to stay in luxurious hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had a very nice family stay at the Pension - it is just by the church in the middle of Brno, very close to the castle and mendlovo namesti. The room was clean and comfortable, very quiet. The sleep quality was very high, we had really got a good rest there. Also, there is a wonderful restaurant nearby - at the starobrno brewery. Not the standard hotel out there, but really a place to remember - try it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

This pension is old monastery. It's literary behind the church on Mendlovo namesti (Mendl square). It's not visible from the main road or from a tram stop so just keep walking around right wall of the church and then you'll see it. As you walk throught the door you see one long coridor with dim lights. We were staying in no 3 room. The decor is simple, we liked their lamp shades. Room is simple and big enought with 2 single beds joined, 1 table with 2 chairs and another small like console table. Bathroom was small with quite big shower corner. Place si quiet althoug there is a restaurant ( U kralovny Elisky) right opposite the room window. We both had very good sleep here. We could have basic breakfast for about £2.50 but we didn't chose so. Instead we walked to one of the bars in the old town. Walk from the pension takes about 15 minutes. It's steady liitle steeply walk and sometimes we optioned for tram ride. no 4,5 and 6 will take you up the hill in 4 minutes in 2 stops.
The town itself is very charming and photogenic. Don't miss the visit of Spilberk castle and Kapucinsky krypt. Eat in Pivovarksa restaurant and drink Starobrno beer (on Mendl square). The restaurant has got a big terrase and right next to it si Starobrno Brewery.
Eat in restaurand U kralovny Elisky and drink moravian wine in the company of moravian music.
And if you have time on you get outside the town and visit some of the many casteles or wineries.
Note that Tugendhat Villa is closed for reconstruction at the moment wich was unfrotunate for us.

Room Tip: next door to a great restaurant and big brewery
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#1 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#11 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cyro
Hotel Cyro
#14 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#5 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Na Starem Brne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Na Starem Brne

Address: Mendlovo nam. 1a, Brno 60300, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brno Old Town Pension (Pension na Starem Brne) is just a five-minute walk from BVV (The Brno Trade Fairs). You'll find a rest after a long exhibition day, demanding negotiations or any other important event that brings you into the Moravian metropolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Na Starem Brne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Na Starem Brne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.