We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer by train - Average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vytopna restaurant caffe

Vytopna restaurant caffe
Starobrnenska 12, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
725406895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 653 Restaurants in Brno
Cuisines: Czech
Restaurant details
Harpenden, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beer by train - Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The main attraction of this restaurant is that the beer (or other drinks) are served by model trains. This is really novel, and they serve good Czech beer. I thought that the unfiltered Krusovice was good. I have been warned off the Starobrno.

Our group did not have any problems with the staff who were fine. My daughter and her partner are living in Brno and they have been to the restaurant a number of times.

The food was average. I would not say this would make me go the restaurant again. Getting beer by train might.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A quick beer with entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We only stopped for a quick Pivo during the late morning before catching a bus to the airport for our flight back to the UK.

Despite not being busy, once the saw us taking a few photos, they quite happily ran a few trains around for us even though they weren't delivering any drinks to anyone.

Very friendly and attentive staff.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“train station at your table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very nice idea with the trains, and we also enjoined our beers, which were GREEN because we visited it on green Thursday

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Train set waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I would never get tired of seeing a model train delivering me beer. That alone is worth a visit. Every table has a stop where the train will pause for a set period of time for unloading of drinks and reloading empties. This isn't really explained by the waiters, but it becomes pretty obvious as your bottle of Pepsi nearly disappears up the lines before you grab it!!
The food was quite good, we both enjoyed it. I would certainly give this place another visit. The menu may not be to everyone's taste, we both struggled a little to pick something which appealed, although we both enjoyed our meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great novelty. Worth dropping in for a beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

didn't eat there, just went for a couple of beers delivered by model trains. its awesome, the little train brings your beer around and if your an 8 year old in a 28 year olds body like me it will keep you entertained.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vytopna restaurant caffe also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Vytopna restaurant caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vytopna restaurant caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.