We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, expensive by Brno standards though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Mercato

Il Mercato
Zelny Trh 2, Brno 602 00 , Czech Republic
+420 542 212 156
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 651 Restaurants in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, expensive by Brno standards though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great food and a fantastic atmosphere in a restaurant that is part of the Grandezza Hotel.

The staff are attentive, and made an effort for this vegetarian. Prices are high though, when compared to other restaurants on Brno, hence not 5-stars.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Italian food in elegant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Located in a hotel on a quaint square near Brno's cathedral, Il Mercato is a very nice, if pricey, Italian restaurant. We went for a late lunch the Sunday before Christmas.

The restaurant clearly showcases their fresh proteins - quite literally - right before your eyes. There is the main menu you can peruse, but without getting too far along, they will bring out their fresh fish selections and finally the "turf".

There were some very appealling items on this list, the prices matched their quality, of course. We ordered fresh turbot prepared for two with tomatoes and other spring vegetables. The fish was carved fresh from the oven before our eyes - of course, after all the showmanship thus far...

They had some very good accompanying dishes as well and a good list of wines.

Certainly a potential budget breaker, but a very one at that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A complete English, Italian speaking staff. Great Quality of food specially the mozzarella and hot chocolate a definitely must try

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Brno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited in Feb. For Brno's standards there are only one or two places to compare with Il Mercato.
Perfect location in the heart of the city. Very nice atmosphere, cozy, non smoking. The waiters are properly trained, showing warm and welcoming attitude. Speaking English, and able to give proper advices over the food and the wine. Short menu but with a wide addition of daily offers - meat, fish, pasta. Specially delivered fresh meat and fish, and you are able to pick up from it .
Extensive wine list - Italian, French and selected Czech wines.
Prices are higher, but on the normal level for such type of restaurant.

In general they were able to meet and even exceed my expactations

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
449 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The restaurant is a part of the Grandezza hotel and as we stayed there we took a chance at this place and what a surprise it was. We ordered some Italian veal and it was amazing. I think it was some of the best meat I ever had tasted.
The atmosphere was great and there were loads of people even though we arrived pretty late in this truly wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mercato also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Il Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.