We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... whre the time stopped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Slavia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Slavia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Slavia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Solnicni 15, Brno 66216, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 55 hotels in Brno
Kladno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“... whre the time stopped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Nice hotel in the town centre. Not so luxury, but you feel the history here. You have only few steps to many pubs, shops, ... You have many tram/bus lines around. It is just 15 minutes walking to the train and bus stations. The hotel is a large building, but I felt like at home - I mean the staff. The service is nice. Breakfast were not so big, but the food was fresh (frx. the eggs, sausages - are prepared just for you - not before).
We had also a meeting there: nice room, excellent service. One man just for us, coffee, drinks and snacks all the time.
Please, do not expect luxury design hotel, but when I have a chance, I vote for this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the room in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
4
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Very friendly and comfortable hotel. Comfortable beds, roomy bedrooms, friendly staff. Clean and efficient. Excellent location in the centre of town. Plenty of good restaurants/bars/shops around too. Value for money. The entertainment in the town square at Christmas was excellent. Brilliant music bands, dancing, Xmas shopping and wonderful Christmas tree in the Square.

Room Tip: We had a double room at the back of the hotel and it was quiet and very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very clean and specious rooms. It looks like nothing has been updated in a while, though. It was a little spooky because it was almost completely empty. Breakfast was mediocre. I found a price online for 81 euros, but didn't reserve. Instead, I had to pay 103 when we showed up, but it was too late to look for something else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domazlice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel has a fine location and spacious rooms. You can also enjoy good breakfast, but unfortunetely it is all. It is all about details. You will find there cheapest toillette paper, teared sheets, 30 years old reading lamps. For me stay was still OK, but for business clients or older travellers I can not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

This hotel seemed to have been constructed out of some kit from Moscow. Everything of any architectural interest was panelled over. The beds sagged. The carpets were stained.
At breakfast, the staff spent lots of time changing tablecloths and folding cloth napkins cunningly into swans. Sadly, the food was inedible and the coffee was burnt (this was the only terrible coffee we had in all of the Czech Republic).
On the positive side, if you want a taste of what travel was like when the country was under Soviet domination, this is your chance. However, it doesn't come cheap.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Wasn't everso impressed with this hotel, and it was the most expensive one we used for our week's travelling in and around CZ.

I booked through the hotel's own website and received a short email from the Reservations manager confirming our booking... yet there was no record of us for the receptionist to find on our arrival at the desk. I had taken a printout of the confirmation with me and on seeing this the receptionist managed to find us a room at the agreed rate, I wonder if she went and swore at the Reservations chappy after we'd gone upstairs.

The room was fairly large and spacious but it was very dated and velvety! The bathroom suite was brown and cream, the beds were ok though which is important.

Cleanliness... was fair. it wasn't dirty but it was worn out.

Breakfast was ok, not a large selection and the orange juice was weak orange squash... bit of a let down when some of the cheaper, lower rated hotels we'd used during the rest of the holiday had a much nicer, fresher looking selection and proper juices.

If you do decide to use this hotel, make sure you've got a good copy of your booking confirmation with you so you can get out of bother if your booking isn't recorded, like ours.

This hotel isn't all bad, its just that several of the cheaper hotels we used were so much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

the hotel*s location is excellent, but in the area, a main street is bloked, that could be a problem for the drivers.
At brekfast, the food is excellant, many salads and to the bar the beer , BUdweisser is cheap and very good.

  • Liked — the location and the food-salads
  • Disliked — old furniture
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Slavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slavia

Address: Solnicni 15, Brno 66216, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slavia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Slavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Slavia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.