We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Ricc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Ricc to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Ricc
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Starobrnenska 10, Brno 60200, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Very Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel was built in the 15th century I believe, it has beautiful led light glass windows, absolutely amazing hotel. Located on the foot of the main cathedral in the heart of Brno. Great breakfast.

Only problem was finding the address.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
41
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. It had a nice old world charm about it, at the same time, it has all the modern amenities like air conditioning, air dryers and a comfy king sized bed. My room was very quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we've had travelling through 7 countries in Europe over 5 weeks. Very close to the main train station and ideally located for the main sites in Brno. It's quite pricey for Czech but it was worth it for me. The reception staff spoke variable English, so weren't able to provide much tourist information. The tourist info centre was very close by though. Highly recommended as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nicely decorated rooms and great location in the centre of the Old Town BUT I had one of the worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel due to noise, firstly, from guests in the lobby bar and then, incredibly, from the night staff downstairs, with loud conversation going on until the early hours. Everything seemed designed to make as much noise as possible i.e. stone floors in the reception area and heels clacking back and forth plus guests returning late have to ring a bell (woken up twice by that at 3/3.30am). We were on the first floor so it might be better if you're on a higher floor and I would definitely say bring earplugs. The second night was better (bought earplugs!) as we left the air conditioning running which did drown out some of the noise but again when I went to the bathroom during the night, I could hear a loud conversation going on downstairs at reception, not what you'd expect in a hotel of this standard and price. There was also quite a lot of noise from people on the street outside and we found, contrary to what other reviews have said, that the double windows didn't really block this out.

Otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was lovely, We've been to Brno several times and always wanted to try the Royal Ricc as it looked lovely but, quite honestly, are unlikely to go back after this experience. Having said that, I am a light sleeper!

Room Tip: Get room on higher floor and bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Hotel is a converted baroque house in a pedestrian area in the old town, very near the Cabbage Market. Some historical features have been retained such as the old stone staircase and others added such as murals and leaded windows. Rooms are decorated in the same style with reproduction furniture and painted ceilings. Our standard room, No 304, was at the rear of the hotel and was fairly small. However, it was quiet, comfortable and had a good bathroom. The buffet breakfast had a good range of choices and the staff were friendly and helpful. Parking outside the hotel is limited to an hour to load/unload but long-term parking is available nearby in an underground car park at 390Kc a day and the staff will take your car there and return it for you..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a car trip from Prague through Moravia to Budapest. The Royal Ricc is a smallish hotel in a very nice section of Brno. The hotel staff were all very nice and accomodating and spoke good English. The room was clean and well equipped, although the decor was a bit over the top for our taste. It reminded me of what I imagine a 19th century brothel looked like..but it did have a flat screen TV. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - eggs, meats, every cheese imaginable, cakes - all beautifully presented. My only complaint was the price...about $140 plus another $25 to park. That would be OK in Prague...but in Brno we would have expected something closer to $100 with parking possibly included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Very nice, lovely.Very nice hotel and room, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Hotel calls itself romantic and that is how it looks inside.. beautiful iron gate, many stained glass windows and paintings, nice furniture. Our room had one of those plus decorating celieng, it almost felt like we're in the castle. Room was big enough, very clean, beds-2 single joined with comfortable mattresses. The only problem we had was the air con. We couldn't make it work and there was no manual with it. Had to call the reception for help. Room was already very warm when we were in Brno at the end of March so air con was needed.
Breakfast was great. So much to choose from - warm and cold food. And stuff is very nice too, nothing is a problem and they're very laid back about your check out. Only problem which was already mentioned in other review and I have to agree with, is the smoky-smelly reception and sitting area downstairs. Unfortuanely the smoke band didn't get to Czech republic and people smoke everywhere appart from some non smoking restaurant.
Over all very nice hotel in very good location close to sight seeings, tram stop and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Ricc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Ricc

Address: Starobrnenska 10, Brno 60200, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#4 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Ricc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Ricc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ricc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Ricc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.