We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokers only!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Brno to your Saves list
Grandhotel Brno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smokers only!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Even tho we had reserved no smoking rooms this hotel is like a smoke stack. When you enter the lobby even tho no one was in it, it smelled highly of smoke. That was a bad omen. We were on the 4th floor and the 3rd and 4th floors were no smoking, but when you get off the elevator it is so smoky it seems like someone must be actively smoking there, then they have the nerve to have a sign saying they are going to charge you if you smoke in the room, REALLY, I can't imagine that would make a difference. This hotel really is for tour groups only. It is right across the street from the bus station with a sex shop and erotic bar next store, nice family environment. If I had not pre-paid I would have sought other options. It is close to old town and the restaurants. Having been in many other cities in the CZ already, I was surprised to see that on Saturday stores are only open until noon and closed on Sunday, so this is not really a great location if you are planning on doing shopping on the weekend. We however, were there to visit Austerlitz, so we were gone most of the day visiting the zamek there and the battlefields. They do have free Wi-fi in the lobby, but it is hard to sit there for long if you are a non-smoker.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker I would seek other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to share your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding the smoke smell.
All our guest rooms as well as the restaurant and our meeting rooms are non smoking. The only smoking area is the Lobby bar. Unfortunately some guests still do not respect this decision taken by our management in accordance with the majority of our valued guests.
All our guests are informed about this situation upon check-in, and that is also the reason, why it is mentioned on the registration card.

We hope that will get the opportunity to show you the usual high standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    167
    72
    18
    7
See reviews for
29
112
53
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 5 days on business.

I had read mixed reviews on trip advisor and did worry about what I was letting myself in for.

All I can say is that the hotel has been great. The hotel is incredibly clean, in fact I would say it is the cleanest I have ever been too. I even saw one lady polishing the lift doors! An amazing selection of food and drink at breakfast and the staff were very welcoming.

The rooms are a little dated but are very comfortable. However my one complaint is the size of the duvet. It was very small, almost like a child's duvet and I am well over 6ft! That aside, the room was a decent size.

The gym facilities are good, it has what you need.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Grandhotel Brno for your stay and positive comments you have made. We are always working hard to give our guest the maximum best services. It is always a moment of satisfaction to know, that you had a enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The foyer and bar have style but once in the lift to other floors its clean but old fashioned, lots of dark stained wood and deep red carpets.
However, the room was clean and the bathroom very smart. Just a bit more Bayswater Tourist than old grand hotel.
The staff were attentive and pleasant. The location was handy for the train station and generally central to places I wanted to be in Brno.
So ordinary, clean and functional as opposed to a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the front of the hotel which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our Grandhotel Brno for your stay in Brno and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your honesty and especially feedback.

We believe that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean, but there is nothing remained fron the historical hotel. Very ikd fashion. Bed is small, but comfortable. Minibar extremely expensive. Tap Is broken in the bathroom. There isn't any noise isolation, so you wake up every 15 minutesbehen the tram is coming. Breakfast looks good, taste is average.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations and are sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We appreciate your comments here and will be working diligently to make your stay much more enjoyable in the future.

With best regards

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The good: Great location, near the center, train station, and Student Agency stop.

The bad: The hallways are pickled with smoke. The rooms sport dated decor, but it probably reflects the design preferences of the hotel owner (Austria Hotels International). If there was a picture of Husak on the wall, I would have been certain that I was timewarped back to the 1970s.

People watching: It's sad that Brno is becoming a destination for sex tourism, but the outlandish prostitute working the fat German and Austrian "guests" in the bar was a bit disturbing. Imagine your grandmother, dressed like a pimp, and talking dirty in German. Definitely something you'd expect in a Tarantino film.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Visited brno for the WSBK event, we travelled from Bratislava by train and the Grand Hotel is only 150 meters away from the train station and the bus/tram station quiet a busy area but once in the Grand Hotel you would not know, the best thing about this hotel apart from location is the staff, very helpfull, very courteous and all speak english as not many of us speak czech. As mentioned by other reviewers the rooms at the rear of the property are very quiet and away from the tram noise at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was the best by far on our trip through Italy, Bratislava and finally the Czech Republic, we also had one evening meal which was also very nice. Brno was a pleasant suprize with its grand buildings/churches loads of cafes/resturants. We shall definatley return to the Grand Hotel Brno next year.

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for the positive comments you have made. We are always working hard to give our guests the maximum best services. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno, appreciating the hotel and its city centre location, as well as the helpful staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grandhotel Brno soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciarrigal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited Brno in July for a few days. The location is excellent, across the way from the train station and the bus station, a short walk from the sites and shops.
Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little dated but is clean.
Our room was at the back which is a quieter than the front due to the train, tram and bus station. The room was a good size and had air conditioning.
Breakfast was really good, a buffet including hot and colds, with yogurts, meats, fruit, choice of breads and pastries.
We didnt eat in the restaurant as we would have been on our own and there is such a wide choice of restaurants within walking distance.
Overall the hotel is well located and while the decor is a little dated, it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience, we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to wecoming you back to our Grandhotel Brno in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#1 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#5 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#4 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#11 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Brno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.