We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grandhotel Brno to your Saves list
Grandhotel Brno
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Ciarrigal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Central location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited Brno in July for a few days. The location is excellent, across the way from the train station and the bus station, a short walk from the sites and shops.
Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little dated but is clean.
Our room was at the back which is a quieter than the front due to the train, tram and bus station. The room was a good size and had air conditioning.
Breakfast was really good, a buffet including hot and colds, with yogurts, meats, fruit, choice of breads and pastries.
We didnt eat in the restaurant as we would have been on our own and there is such a wide choice of restaurants within walking distance.
Overall the hotel is well located and while the decor is a little dated, it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience, we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to wecoming you back to our Grandhotel Brno in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    133
    61
    14
    7
See reviews for
21
91
49
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Grand Hotel in Brno and it was wonderful! The staff were very courteous were very helpful. The restaurant service was exceptional as well. The breakfast buffet was incredible! The location of the hotel was so convenient to see the city of Brno. We parked our car and walked the whole time we were there. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Brno.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor facing the plaza - it was a little noisy during the day if the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for sharing your experience and your recommendation.
We are pleased to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit at the Grandhotel Brno!

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossi461
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

i stayed here in 2007, for a motogp weekend, it was a shockingly bad experience, the hotel was awful, and definately not a 5 star hotel as advertised, more like 2 star, no air conditioning in the height of summer, the level of prostituion going on in the hotel was immense, and to top it all off our hotel room was robbed of my jewellery including my wedding and engagement rings as well as cash. When informed the hotel simply didnt want to know and were totally indifferent to the robbery as if it was a regular occurence. I NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay at the Grandhotel Brno in 2007.

I would like to inform you, that there have been a lot of changes made since 2007, our hotel has been fully renovated, all our guest rooms as well as the public area including our Lobby bar and Garden Restaurant are equipped with air conditioning.
Please be assured, that safety is our priority, we hope to have the opportunity to show you usual high standards of our services.

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

no. not i did not enjoy. it's a 3 star hotel tops. i look at some of the reviews here and wander if these people have ever stayed at other 4 star hotels for reference.

what is it with the grey doors? the cheap hallways and the tacky dinning area?

on the plus side everybody spoke english something very rare in Czech Republic & very close to the train station, ah yes pretty close to the central area.

need to return I was not impressed by the rooms & bed size for the single rooms;

Room Tip: close to train station, that is a plus if you need a train the next day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your views are very valuable to us and we will consider them in the next investments to be made at the Grandhotel Brno. We very much look forward to welcoming you at the Grandhotel Brno again. We will be very pleased to offer you one of the following spacious and comfortable room categories: Standard Double Room, Superior Room, Deluxe Room or Junior Suite.

With best regards
Veronika Mikyskova
General Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gfsu
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our second time to the grand and it was again very good. this is by far the best place we have stayed in brno. The hotel is modern, clean and the service is very good. The staff speaks great English which is a plus and the location to the center of town is great. The only downside is the smoking smell when you enter which comes from the casino and bar nearby. This however is not noticeable in the room and is really the only minor distraction. the morning breakfast is simple but very good and the quality seem to be very consistent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guests!

Thank you very much for choosing our Grandhotel Brno for your stay in Brno and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your honesty and especially feedback, which is very important for us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to our Grandhotel Brno again.

Best regards

Veronika Mikyskova
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patra
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

That’s a great hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights and we loved it. The hotel is situated it the perimeter of Brno center, easy accessible by car, and 100m from the main train and bus stations. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge. Everything was clean and the room looked recently renovated. The staff, and especially the front desk, were very polity and helpful. The breakfast is served in the hotels’ restaurant, which is pretty nice, and you can get the entire classic American breakfast. As for parking, the hotel has several spots on the road at the front, but it comes at 20€ per day. There is also a public parking lot across the street with a rate of 30 ck per hour, and is free from 1800 to 0700. The only negative for the hotel is that the use of internet in the room is rather expensive, 250 ck per day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, General Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at our Grandhotel Brno.
Your point about the internet is very valid, we would like to inform you, that there is also complimentary wifi internet connection available in the lobby area and all our guests can use free internet in our business center.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next trip to Brno and we will make sure your favourite room will be available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
239 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and found it snooty, noticed the same poor attitude at reception when deposioting lugguage, charges for Wi Fi only place we stayed at in Czech Rep that did so, bad area at night,, best avoid road facing rooms although it is comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: avoid road facing rooms especially at weekends to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandhotel Brno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.