We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starobrno Brewery

Starobrno Brewery
Mendlovo namesti 158/20, Brno, Czech Republic, Brno, Czech Republic
+420 543 516 111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 651 Restaurants in Brno
Cuisines: European, Pub, Czech
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a really great meal of sirloin in a kind of pumpkin gravy with a massive potato dumpling and some really great malvaz polotavy beer for breakfast .the coffee was also pretty good.lots of tables in theshade to escape the summer sun. They have English menus and English speaking staff which helps as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great beer and worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This brews Starobrno beer (Old Brno). Limited food options but the staff was very patient with explaining to me the brewing and history even though I speak no Czech. Worth the trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRNO
Level Contributor
240 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun not only during the Beer Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I pass the Brewery almost everyday and I like the smell so typical for making beer. Though I drink beer only in summer and prefer nonalkoholic so called Free beer, I like the fact they are open for tourists. You can book your visit and have a look to the heart of the modern factory that developed from work of monks in convent. PIVO, the Czech word for beer, ment drink generally. It was recommended to drink as it was healthier than water in medieval town contaminated with pathogens. Nowadays water is of better quality but use this info and do not take any risk.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best czech beer and very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

As part of budgeteurotrip.com tour I visited the Starobrno brewery and I can say that it has the best czech beer (nepastorizovane and nefiltrovane) and very good restaurant. During the good season the outdoor terrace is full of people enjoying their own brewed beer. Only minus is that there is no free-smoke zone, as in the whole Czech rep. Such a shame that a no-smoker has to be bothered the whole time when eating and drinking. Gulas and (in winter) mashroom soup are just fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Starobrno Brewery – The best choice in Brno to drink and eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Can´t stop thinking about this great place to eat and drink beer. Was one of the best places I visited in Brno in my short stopover.

The beer is extremely cheap (doing Euro conversion), they brew it themselves. It’s a famous place as well where people meet up.
The food was really good; I ordered the “roast pork knee”, fantastic. Approximately 1 kilo!

The place has a good service, best prices, and a great Czech atmosphere. Guys, come and visit Brno, and for sure Starobrno Brewery worth it.

I certainly will come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starobrno Brewery also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to Starobrno Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starobrno Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.